Plea: Prayer Request, Donations, Upvotes, Whichever Works - For A friend of a friend

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

Good morning to all Steemians from the far East of the World:

Today, this post is not for me. After I heard a story from my cell member who came last night after M.I.A many months just to catch up, fellowship and prayer request, we realise that she has been away for a good reason.

Present to you, the fearless lovely ladies of modern age.

On the left is my friend, Linda (who came and shared the story yesterday) and the right side of the photo is her friend Debbie, who is her high school friend who later became best buddies later in the decades of years.

(The picture is taken during Debbie's in remission days)

Both of these women went through hell in their lives with broken marriages.

But Debbie has an even bigger battle to fight on.

in 2015, Debbie had breast cancer and we were praying for her. She went through chemotherapy and the doctors removed 3 lymph nodes from her.


This was from Linda from our WhatsApp chat group which I managed to find when we were praying for her for her surgery and she was with her.

We all rejoiced for Debbie as she battled through and we were looking forward that everything was over and Debbie could have a new life again.

And she did. She was in remission.

 


Until end of last year she had a relapse almost after 2 years and now, from last night's sharing, Debbie's breast cancer has come to stage 3.

Another thing we heard about her divorce was her husband committed adultery and wanted a divorce when she first had breast cancer; moreover he wanted to battle for the custody of their only son, throughout 2 years and the court in the end granted joint custody for the boy.

During this entire endurance of her first breast cancer fighting and divorce, her husband while wanted a divorce, wanted full custody of their son, also refused to give any alimony.

And through that 2 years, Debbie was paying all her medical fees and court cases through her insurance and savings.

2 years later, depleted from all resources, she tries to fight for alimony for the sake of her son who is now 13 and staying with her to take care of her. Yet her ex husband refused to do so.

Despite from all the challenges in her life, she remains a cheerful heart and a tenacity to fight on because of her son.

Her strength came from the LORD that kept her going, and she never questioned why she was placed in such a spot in life, she just embraced the challenge, and kept going on with her faith in Christ carrying her through daily.

Last night when we had a home fellowship session about Crazy Love , we were asked this question,

"Have you ever doubted God, or asked Him why you have to go through hardship?"

 
And that's where Linda shared her buddy's story. And that really broke my heart.

How many times when we go through life and hardship and the first thing we do is to complain?

I personally agree that I have been going through some real challenges in life where I know that I too have fallen short of complaining once a while.

But for Debbie, it was no questioning, no complaining...

Every day is a bonus for her to fight on and be with her son.

 
Therefore, this post is not for me. As I am writing this on and praying for her in my heart, I am pleading all friends in the Steemit world to extend kindness to this cancer fighter.

All the SBD earnings I receive from this post after 7 days will be converted into cash for Debbie. I will pass it to Linda when I convert it.

 
I hope some SBD converted will be able to help her tackle her medical fees as she now undergoes chemotherapy every Monday morning

I will make a post when that happens.

 
So if you can, help within your means in prayers, upvotes and resteems . If you want to donate to Debbie to help her please put a Cancer Fighter: For Debbie's Cause in the memo.

All the donations will be accumulated and converted into MYR for Debbie.

 

I hope in 7 days, there is something for Debbie, how little or how much of it, will help her even the tiniest fraction, to go through this ordeal and fight on.

I will try to keep you all updated weekly when I follow up with Linda on the latest news. Right now, Debbie's immune system is a little weak although she is doing outpatient so I can't really go and visit her. She stays in Bukit Utama.

As I end this post, I was prompted to find a scripture that depicts her journey

“Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.”
1 Tim. 6:12

Indeed Debbie's unwavering faith and tenacity has shown many of us that bad things can although happen to good people, but when we stand firm and fight on, our lives are the very testimony that humanity and God's love will overcome any darkness in this world. Her very life itself is a great testimony to encourage us never to give up. There are just too many people who cannot take on small issues of life and wanted to commit suicide. Life does not need to end in such a dramatic way. It can be a great life (despite of hardship) where we leave that very legacy of strength to our future generations to see.

And I personally feel, her life will be a great testimony for her son. And I personally pray that despite how broken this family has become, this young boy, Lucas, will thrive in life in future with love and forgiveness.

#Upfundme request?

If I can target $250 USD within a week this can actually be converted into a 4 figure amount in MYR. I am hoping that SBD will continue to remain strong enough for me to get something for her.


Updated on 8 April 10pm Malaysia Time (Target to reach is based on coinmarketcap)

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You All in Advance and Thank You for Your Time


Sort:  

Hello stemmian, for support from the upfundme community account you will need to make a couple of changes to your post, the upfundme tag must be used first and you must have a set goal in steem or sbd that is updated regularly.

please read the upfundme rules here.

250 dollars in a week is a very big ask but if you capture the attention of some big steemit communities it might be possible.

hi @madstacks , I am sorry that I didn't realise I have to use upfundme as the first tag, I think I can't edit the post, so I won't be able to get upfund me's help I suppose?

I'll give it a try and see if I can change it.

Yes, it is a huge task, I might have to break it down to 100 USD looking at the current SBD rate, but could still be viable maybe.

Thanks for the reminder

I tried editing, unfortunately the first tag stays where it is.

Here is my 5 cents.

Thank you very much @woody26

The least I could do...

Still, it is priceless.
We are compiling a hand written message special card for Debbie, would you like to join the fun too?
Care Challenge: Let's Make a Positive Movement with An Event!

let me try this

@tipU upvote this post with 0.1 SBD

Thank you so much @superoo7 . Truly appreciate your help!

Upvote, resteem and prayer sent to keep fighting for good and do not give up hope too.

Thank you so much @esdee ! Your upvotes, resteem and prayers are well appreciated!
We are compiling a hand written message special card for Debbie, would you like to join the fun too?
Care Challenge: Let's Make a Positive Movement with An Event!

A vote, a resteem and a prayer for your friend.

Thank you so much @legendchew ! Your upvotes, resteem and prayers are well appreciated!
We are compiling a hand written message special card for Debbie, would you like to join the fun too?
Care Challenge: Let's Make a Positive Movement with An Event!

So I saw this from your other account and I had to upvote both! I am no whale as I am just a tiny little Sugar Red fish but I wanted to say hi and give my tiny support

Thank you so much @maverickinvictus ! Any kind of upvote is most welcome. Every tiny upvote from every person is precious.

Truly grateful that you upvoted both the posts

So sorry to hear about the ordeal that Debbie has to go through. But rest in the Lord knowing that...

ALL things work together for good to those who love God. To those who are called according to His purpose --- Romans 8:28

Upvoted and resteem. Will keep her in prayers

It is all right @karinzdailygrind . I know you are really packed up with your schedules.
Thank you so much for stopping by

Stay strong and positive, ladies.

Thanks for the support and love!

Thank you for spreading the news @elizacheng ! Truly appreciate your love!

Thank you so much @prch ! Your support is greatly valued and appreciated!

dont mention it. have resteemed your post to different groups.

We are compiling a hand written message special card for Debbie, would you like to join the fun too?
Care Challenge: Let's Make a Positive Movement with An Event!
That post's SBD will add into Debbie's fund raising total.

My pleasure, hope that everyone can help Debbie stay positive and strong, emotionally and physically.

I came to this post via @elizacheng, please pass on my best wishes to Debbie

Thank you so much @elizacheng for so much love you have given!

Thank you so much @livinguktaiwan for stopping by. Every help is appreciated. This post will be sent to her later after 1 week, but I have told Linda that you have sent your best wishes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66416.78
ETH 3082.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68