You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Child Bride Immigration, Approved by the U.S. Government

in #children5 years ago (edited)

My first thought was remembering when I worked briefly many years ago at an ICU ward. It had nothing to do with immigration though. There was a 13 year old girl (who looked about 8) who was in a coma from giving birth. She was a Mexican national married to a wealthy older Mexican man. While I have to acknowledge he was paying for her to get medical care in the U.S., I have to wonder that it never occurred to him that her body was to small to be having children.

She was one of the sadder stories that led me to leave that job quickly.

Sort:  

Yeah, in South America it's still apparently OK to wed a 12 year old. I guess in some places even younger. Women and children still aren't treat properly with moral comprehension in many parts of the world yet. Still living in backwards attachment to traditions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83