Three things I want my daughter to know (3/4)

in #christian-trail6 years ago

This is the third post in a series on parenting. It is not an attempt to give advice or solutions. Rather it is an attempt to highlight the importance of good parenting. And to highlight the things I think is important or at least some of them. Hopefully, it will inspire you to contribute to the conversation.

The series:

  1. Nothing more important
  2. Three things I want my children to know
  3. Three things I want my daughter to know
  4. Three things I want my son to know

The previous post focused on both my children. This one is about my daughter and will focus on things I think important to her gender.

1. Beauty

I think my daughter is the most beautiful girl in the whole wide world. In the history of the world in fact. While I will admit to a small bias in this regard, it would not be wise to disagree with me. :-)

However, as much as I admire her beauty, I make an effort to compliment her on other things as well. At least as often as I compliment her beauty. I praise her for her wisdom, for her skill, for her intelligence. This is not difficult since she is amazing but this world is set up to make her believe that her appearance is everything. It is not. She is much, much more and I need to show it to her.

Proverbs 31 describes an amazing woman in great detail with only one mention of beauty. And that is only to say that it is fleeting.

In the previous blog in this series, Three things I want my children to know, I emphasize the importance of affirmation. Let's be wise in what we affirm!

2. Not less than a man

There is nothing a woman cannot do. She can do everything a man can do and she mostly does it better. There is a saying, applicable to the workplace, that goes something like this.

For a woman to be considered half as good as a man, she has to do things twice as well.
Luckily this is not difficult!

I have hope that my daughter will live in a world that does not discriminate against her gender. And I aim to prepare her well for it. The woman in Proverbs 31 did many things. She traded. She created. She conducted business. But she had to do all of this in her husband's name as she was not allowed to do these things as a woman. May my daughter live in a world freer than that. And do as well as that lady did!

3. Independence

Family is important. The greatest joy and privilege of my life is my children. It is the reason for this series of blogs. My prayer is that my daughter will marry a good man and that they will experience the same and greater joy.

I want her to want to get married. I do not want her to need to get married in order to have someone to take care of her. I want her to want to stay married to that guy for a lifetime. I do not want her to need to stay married because there is no other way to take care of her and her children.

The independence I wish for her is not saying 'I do not need anyone.' It is saying, 'I need you for the right reasons.'

Thus her education and her qualifications are important. Once she has these things she is free to choose how she uses them.

What do you think? Please contribute to the conversation!

@reonlouw

Sort:  

Very well said sir as parent we need to guide and help our children to build there self confidence by believing them that therw beautiful in there own way :)
Upvoted from kryptonia @cristinealimasac

love the 3facts you mentioned..... she should have self believe , she should depend on her self.... and the beauty is also a masterpiece for a woman..... in love with your posts thought you post something related to this yesterday .... from kryptonia@everdope

Thank you @awosode. It is part of a series on the topic.

Three things mentioned in your article are enough to be good for your daughter.
"The independence I wish for her is not saying 'I do not need anyone.' It is saying, 'I need you for the right reasons.' "
I love your teachings.

I think your parenting style is very cool. There is a balance. Not too strict not to lenient. Upvoted!

Enjoy life and be yourself and I'm from Kryptonia @ianstevenson

This post has addressed some facts which are not hard to believe. But most men find it difficult to believe. So these learnings areextremely important for those. Kryptonia @kcherukuri

You got a 3.41% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @reonlouw!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Wonderful post @reonlouw. Your daughter is very lucky to have you as a father.

wow, what your doing for your girl to praise her beauty is amazing and this boosts her self-esteem so in her teens' Men won't just lie to her with silly praises since her dad told her everything.

such statements excite me to give birth to a beautiful princess but am not yet ready

I'm with you on this - except for the beauty part. I think the concept is over-rated and avoid the topic when I can. You know I deal with fat people and - fat ain't pretty - it's life-threatening! I have this argument more than weekly in the BBW groups. It's exhausting!

I'm coming to you from @kryptonia with the same user name.

I messed this point up @fitinfun as I actually agree with you and want my daughter not to rate herself on her appearance. But I included a rant on how beautiful I think she is and that sidetracked the point that came across.
I can imagine the issues with which your BBW groups struggle. Your task is huge. (No pun intended.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64