God Spoke to Me

in #christianity6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180131_085038_475.jpg
These girls are my why. Photo credit: Derek Turner (aka hubby)

“This is too hard.”

This destructive thought has been swirling in my mind the past two weeks. And I’m sad to say I’ve been giving in to it. You can probably imagine how having this negative thought has been detrimental to my day-to-day life.

But let’s rewind a little bit for context.

Derek and I have some epic goals for 2018. Part of those goals include content creation which I LOVE. Whether writing or video production, I love it all. I have so many post ideas fleshed out and ready to post but I’m struggling to find the time. Not new, right?

Now that I am on maternity leave, we are trying to make the most of this time to jumpstart progress towards those goals. But it hasn’t been easy with adding a newborn to our family dynamic and me dealing with postpartum hormones and healing. That’s resulted in inconsistency which drives me crazy! I’m someone who executes on a plan. And I execute with excellence. So not moving at the pace I want has been very frustrating and part of my downward spiral.

After weeks of feeling frustrated and defeated, yesterday I hit a low point. Toddler tantrums at bath time combined with toilet training regression, fighting off mastitis with a fussy infant brought me down. I spent most of the day angry and impatient. Not a good look. My babies are my priority, so I was ready to give up on everything outside of mothering my kiddos because the pressure was too much.

I had to regroup.

I ignored my planner and intentionally took a mental break yesterday. I cuddled my babies, enjoyed some alone time, cleaned house, talked to Derek and laughed. By late evening I was back to myself and ready to tackle life. I acknowledged where I could be more efficient and created a schedule based on that insight. Accomplishing our goals are necessary to move our family to the next level. Derek and I are working hard, together, for our girls. I can never lose sight of the why.

So, when did God speak to me?

This morning. During my morning devotions, the author, John C. Maxwell (author of Developing the Leader Within You 2.0), wrote “Anything you desire in life, everything you would like to strive for, is uphill, meaning the pursuit of it is challenging, grueling, exhausting, strenuous, and difficult…. Any uphill climb must be deliberate, consistent, and willful. It is very intentional.” God did not say life would be easy, but He did (and does) promise to walk alongside us and even carry us when necessary. That was the word I needed to hear today.

The road to starting a business is never easy and paved with setbacks but it’s worth it for us to try as we work towards financial freedom. My posts may still be inconsistent and I'll probably have more frustrating days but I'm going to keep pressing forward.

  • Kareen
Sort:  

keep pressing forward.

You nailed it!

Don't be too hard on yourself, and/or demanding during this season of life. Trust that everything ordained by God, is Divinely Orchestrated and Divinely Timed.

Yielding to family-time invigorated you because you aligned your spirit with God's, by focusing on His priority for you right now, aka family.

Lastly, it's wonderful that you guys are trying to grow a business; but, don't push things/yourself. Let the Holy Spirit lead your spirit. Then, you won't burn out; and/or find yourself with frustrating setbacks that come when we force God's Hand.

Best regards!

Peace.

Thank you so much for kind support and encouragement. I also thank you for the reminder to let the Spirit lead and not to force God's hand.

  • Kareen

let the Spirit lead

Yes, it's not always easy; but, definitely best!

Speaking of Godspeaks, I tried desperately to resist asking this question...too personal I said (lol)...but He wouldn't let me....So, here goes:

Are you and hubby considering making you a full-time Mom? If so, as difficult an adjustment that might be, God will provide.

Btw, here's a tip! for such a thought-provoking post. God really does speak; so much so that I wrote a daily devotional entitled "God Speaks: Are You Listening?" I always feel it's in 'edit' mode; and, haven't promoted it properly.

Best regards!

Peace.

Thank you for the tip and more encouragement! We are now following your account and will definitely look for your devotional. The question is definitely not too personal :) As we work towards financial freedom, I would love to be a stay-at-home/work-from-home mom.

As we work towards financial freedom, I would love to be a stay-at-home/work-from-home mom.

Hallelujah! In the age of YouTube, and technology overall, many stay-at-home moms have made more revenue promoting their channel than they ever could working a 9-5, which primarily amounts to paying the daycare worker for most.

Prayers that when the time comes to make that 'bold/blessed' move, you (plural) will do so with faith and remembrance...God Provides.

Best regards; and thanks for the follow!

Peace.

Hi @teamturnerlive! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @spiritualmatters!

@spiritualmatters wrote lately about: Busy Great Workaround When Sp Too Low For Slider; Too High For Across-The-Board Up Vote. Feel free to follow @spiritualmatters if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP to @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

children are gifts from god and i love children they are innocent and angels so its our responsibility to take good care of them in return god rewarded us with more happiness ..... i love childrens and i like them .. god only reward children to those people who are near to him... i hate those people who says that our children is burden on us and they dont take care the gift which god gifted them and then god take his gift from them ... i like you that you take good care of your children may god blessed you with more happiness thanks stay blessed........

Thank for your comment and support! Children are most definitely the most precious gift that God can bless us with :)

yeah exactly pleasure is always mine

I enjoy reading your post. Keep pursueing your goal! May the Lord be with you all the way of your works.

Thank you for your encouragement!

@teamturnerlive, I am rooting for your family:

  • pursue your dreams
  • press through the challenges
  • allow God to lead

Thank you always for your encouragement!

Motherhood is tough, it’s the greatest job but we have tough days. Just know you are a great mama and are doing a great job! Your babies are loved and that’s all that matters. The rest will fall into place.

Thank you so much for the encouragement fellow mama! And yes, love is all that matters to them so my priority is surrounding them with lots of it!

Release the Kraken! You got a 26.23% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @teamturnerlive!

You got a 3.80% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @teamturnerlive!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61138.54
ETH 2920.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54