Climbing to the top of the tower of a Cathedral

in #cityscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

The beautiful structures that you see from last century Cathedrals, which you can find in various cities around the world are very impressive. Besides their impressive architecture is that they usually in a central part of a city and provide an impressive view of the surrounding landscape. This was no exception in Manizales at the Cathedral Basilica of Our Lady of Rosary, which provided a 360 degree view of the center of the city.

Well, my plan was to get there in the afternoon and get to the tallest tower to enjoy an impressive view of the sunset. Sounds good, right? The plan was coming together but there is one little hiccup I did not anticipate. You have to go on a tour itself to get access to this part of the Cathedral, which was fine and I was more than happy to join not only for the access but to learn more about the history. However, the guide would not stop talking and repeating herself about the smallest details that was making me a tad irritated, as the sunset was occurring whilst she continued to stop walking up the stairs.


I asked her a few times that I just want to get to the top for sunset and if I can keep going past to the top, as I wasn't overly interested in hearing the same small historical fact over and over. She declined, which I understand, as she is in charge of everyone's safety whilst she is conducting this tour. However, once the top was reached the sunset was over, which I was a little disappointed but made the best of the high advantage point and snapped a heap of photos. So, at the end of the day, was definitely still worth the tour, the view and even some of the historical information was indeed interesting.


IMG_2046.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

I understand your frustration, though. It looks like the sky would have exhibited a beautiful sunset; the top of the cathedral is quite elevated.

OmG, that's soOo Beautiful amazing view of the tower

It is quite the beautiful center piece of the city

Don't think you need to be disappointed at all! Keep it positive! The image with the lights being turned on in the city is actually beautiful to see.

You have more from the 360 view?

Yeah, too true. At the time before we reached the top I was getting a bit anxious to just to get there but overall great experience and I am heaps happy with the photos I took. I do have a few more photos but not a complete 360 shot. There were a lot of people and there was not much space at the top of the tower

just be happy with the result, makes life a lot easier :D
Curious how the other pictures look like. The environment looks interesting with the lights getting on.

How big was the platform at the top, because with a lot of people it can't be that small I think?

Excellent plan that had good results, the photo was fascinating. I congratulate you

Thank you very much!!! I am glad you liked the photo

What a beautiful perspective, super photographer as always

You are too kind, as always!

Amazing View !

Be happy this photograph is really enjoyable
that you wanted to shot ,at the end of the day
its giving very beautiful color,good job.

Stunning Photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68