You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Changing a gut violin string

in #classical-music6 years ago

When I used to play tennis tournaments, my sponsors put cat gut strings (a very expensive and ultra-short life cycle string for sports) in the rackets they supplied me with.

Those strings really made a difference! Compared to synthetic strings like, nylon, graphite, hybrids, etc., cat gut strings had more "feel".

This translated into the capability to have greater control over the tennis balls.

RE: Your Post

I couldn't help thinking about the "Hannibal" series' episode where a professional string maker made his products out of human intestines...

Thanks for the informative post.

Namaste, Jaichai

Sort:  

I had forgotten that they used gut strings on tennis rackets as well! Yes, there is something about the response that is different, that is difficult or impossible to replicate with other materials. However, the downside is the lack of durability!

Hmmmm... maybe, I'll try human gut next time... could be a new market!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12