Sort:  

These naked gut strings sound completely different to anything covered in metal that are used in the "modern" Classical instruments. Even those that are gut-core, with metal windings.

Dominant strings are considered the central reference point for Violin strings. With other modern (metal) brands compared against them in terms of colour (sound quality), brightness and response. They are usually the most common strings, as they are easy to obtain and not expensive. When I used to play on a modern violin, I would use Olive (gut-core, metal wound) or Pirastro Gold or Tonica strings. I didn't like the Dominants personally, as I found that on my instrument and my style of playing, they were overly bright, metal sounding and a touch harsh. However, there are many world-class soloists that do use them, it really is a matter of taste, and how they match to the instrument and the player.

Thank you very much for taking the time for sharing your experience and answering so specifically, I'm sure many other violinist and similar players will find your tips very helpful for finding the right setup for their instruments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64117.78
ETH 3112.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23