T8 CNC Kit Review

in #cnc6 years ago (edited)

T8 CNC mill review
The T8 CNC is a desktop CNC kit built with aluminum extrusions, open source Arduino hardware, and GRBL software. If you were looking to learn CNC, perhaps this little $200 CNC mill could be a good start?

T8 CNC specs


Firstly, we need to address the obvious. This CNC mill is tiny. The cutting area is roughly the size of an A6 piece of paper. 130mm x 10mm x 4mm.

It does, however, come with a decent 24v motor as the router, getting up 7000rpm (not necessarily PWM, as we will discuss later).

This is why a lot of stores and reviews described it as for PCB milling. It is small but beefy.

T8 CNC Cutting Area
T8 CNC Cutting Area

There are a lot of these machines out there and they all seem to have variations. Mine came with no instructions or software but did come with 4 v-cut end mill bits.

The T8 runs using an Arduino Uno clone and a CNC shield. Pretty standard stuff.

What can the T8 CNC do? What is it good for?


If it is so small and has a motor rather than a commercial router, what is it useful for?

First I would say due to it being a kit, the fact it is based on open hardware and software, and because it is so small, it would be good for learning, especially in a small classroom or makerspace. Everything learned on this machine is applicable to larger CNC operations.

We already mentioned that people see this as a PCB mill, but it can also handily cut and engrave plastics and wood, maybe even soft metals, though I did not try.

Building the T8 CNC Kit

As mentioned earlier, as for instructions you are pretty much on your own.

I did the crazy thing of just working off product images, and it worked out mostly. On the Gearbest product page, there are some videos and links, plus there is an Instructable here that seems to be a slightly different machine to mine.

There is some soldering, the steppers arrive with snipped wires rather than connectors. My crimping tool came in handy.

You can get it working relatively well enough after building but set a good weekend aside, don't expect to build and run this guy over a lunch break.

Other than documentation - Any problems?


Unfortunately, the CNC shield is not set up for the pins of the latest GRBL firmware. After a little hacking and snooping I found I could connect the motor signal pin to the Uno and get it working.

alt

While in theory, the machine is capable of speed control, the kit as arrived uses a relay to turn the motor off and on, so that's all you get as far as control is concerned without mods.

T8 CNC Motor relay

Modifications and Upgrades


Gearbest sent me this machine knowing I was into CNC (see future articles about my Sienci and X-Carve). While I was tempted to try some PCB milling, and still might, what I am more intruiged about is the upgradability of this guy.

It is built with standard extrusions, lead screws and smooth rods ... so I bought some new larger replacements. When the weather is better I will be taking all this to the Fuse33 maker space and upgrading. Look out for an update.

Bottom Line


If you are prepared to do a bit of research and effort, this is a fine little machine, and not only that, a good foundation for a much better machine. Think of it as buying a bill of materials for a CNC, rather than something that will give you support and hand holding.

Take a look at Gearbest for more information and videos.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://makerhacks.com/t8-cnc-kit-review/

Sort:  

I was looking at this machine but added few hundred more and got 3040 from ebay. Used only once, still 3d printer and my laser cutter do most of the jobs. Want to use it for aluminium if I need to add stronger parts for my future creations.

I have the T8, Sienci, and X-Carve. Originally I got it for alu too - battlebots!

My K40 laser and 2020 laser are sitting idle because the garage is too cold so I use the one at the heated makerspace ;)

My 3050 laser cutter is also used very rarely now because I live in a block of apartments and the fumes would probably bother my neighbours :) I limit cutting acrylics and stick to paper or cardboard, sometimes wood. I wish I could own a garage or bigger workshop so I can make bigger things with all those tools. I need to make sound proof cabinet for my cnc to use it more often in my conditions :)

Very cool projects!

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

I've seen more than a bit about the T8 before. It's an interesting little machine. I actually highly prefer its design over some of the overpriced ones that take a hand router and attach it to a head. That design really irks me.

Yeah - My other two use off the shelf routers :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90