Coffee from around the world - Indian Monsoon Malabar

in #coffee6 years ago

IMG_1124.JPG

Continuing my series on the varied coffee varieties you can experience from around the world, this week we have Indian Monsooned Malabar - this is an acquired taste but also a popular coffee - I sell lots of this both as green coffee and roasted. To learn a bit more about it we need to look at the green Coffee beans

IMG_1125.JPG

"But those beans are not green" I hear you cry - and you are quite right, if we look at some of my previous posts

https://steemit.com/coffee/@c0ff33a/coffee-from-around-the-world-cuban-serrano-levado-arabica-coffee

https://steemit.com/coffee/@c0ff33a/coffee-from-around-the-world-peruvian-arabica-from-finca-el-huayacan-y-la-lucuma-grown-by-luciano-perez-perez

Then the green coffee beans pictured are actually green. So what is different with these? The hint is in the name - Monsoon - these beans are stored in a damp environment so they swell and soak up new and interesting flavours - over time during this process they go from green to this more tan colour.

monsoon1.png

monsoon2.png

So from one of my coffee brokers we can learn the full story of this coffee - it gives a unique flavour to the coffee that does not suit every pallet.

IMG_1127.JPG

And now we have the roasted beans, they don't actually look too different now from other roasted coffee beans - although I can see a big difference when I release the roast for cooling. Normally the roasted coffee is very even colour - all the beans the same tone - with Monsoon Malabar it has subtle differences - it is not so easy to tell in the picture above but when 5kg is in a cooling tray it is quite obvious - some beans are light and some darker. I put this down to the moisture they have soaked up - some have more so take longer to roast and end up lighter - others a little more so they roast quicker and end up darker.

So let's pop some ground up into the Aeropress and give them a try.

IMG_1129.JPG

This is a few days old roast, so the grounds are still bubbling as the coffee is giving off gasses released by roasting.

IMG_1130.JPG

Using the inverted brewing method for Aeropress - I can allow the coffee to infuse with the water for longer.

IMG_1133.JPG

A quick tip for the aero press - if you add the filter paper to the cap, pour a little hot water in after to help hold it into the cap (for the inverse brewing method) and also to freshen and blanche the filter paper.

IMG_1135.JPG

And it's another fine brew, I prefer to drink my brewed speciality coffees black like this to enjoy all the flavours - it also helps me ensure each roast tastes as similar as it can to the previous roast of the same coffee - consistency is very important in coffee and when you roast you have to do the same roast style to the coffee variety you are brewing every time you roast.

IMG_1140.JPG

And it tastes wonderful, as I would expect. Enjoying the cup next to @bridget.art fine work Hidewaway.

If you enjoyed my post don’t forget to leave an Upvote, feel free to comment on what you liked or where I can do better even. Follow @c0ff33a for regular and varied posts, photography, my weekly VLOG, posts on coffee roasting and brewing - just follow and see.

JoinSteamfollower and get upvotes in return for upvotes
https://steemfollower.com/?r=158
It’s free, simple, easy to find new content to upvote and get your own content seen by more users and possibly upvoted.

My Dash Wallet
dash:Xqjemfc9gEmrnXQ7KPdADmNpdpncMHB47C
My Bitcoin Wallet
bitcoin:1G7psTXjKV3URkF7sLprgQrcv9Ar9HoPap

Feel free to help me fill them if you have any spare crypto currency you would like to share ;-)

For more upvotes and content sharing join the GuideSteemit team https://steemit.com/steemit/@guidesteemit/guidesteemit-voting-bot-for-1-month-join-our-channel-you-will-get-more-information

Follow me on Twitter (https://twitter.com/c0ff33a)

All photos are my own, taken with my iPhone. All my steemit posted pictures can be freely used by other Steemit users in their own blog posts - all I ask is that you follow me and credit @c0ff33a linking to my post you took it from.

!steemitworldmap 53.766547 lat -1.801500 long Bradford, West Yorkshire, United Kingdom. d3scr

Sort:  

I am so late to the party -always!!

I am not a coffee snob, well, I am, but not the different kinds! I love Indian coffee and Columbian equally.

I will try anything at least once, twice if I am not sure. Thank you for the wonderful information you serve us with each post!

Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment, it's always worth trying something different - I have not ever found a coffee I didn't like - of course it makes a difference how fresh from roasting it is, how darkly it was roasted and how you brew it.

I always like a bit of coffee with my milk LOL! I never knew there was so much to the whole coffee experience. Thanks for educating us!

My little world of coffee can be quite fascinating at times, there are literally hundreds of different coffee varieties available from around the world.

I adores it 😍😍 i drink it evrymorningh.

Me too, I can't get enough coffee!

yeah coffe it's the love haha i drink it in morning and tea in evning also i adores it as coffe 😍😍

I'm not a coffee drinker but you make me want a cup every time. :D

I like coffee but it doesn't like me

Thanks for taking a look, some of the coffee sacks can be a work of art in their own right - they make some quite stunning ones - I think next week will be a Costa Rican sack that is quite stunning.

coffee!!! the better

Indeed - we all love coffee :-)

wooow .. i love it <3

Health and Wellness

You found one of my photos - that's about 12 years old! Which just shows how long I have had the cups - which have my own brand coffee name one (we had a 0 budget on logo design - can you tell!)


This is the name of your Society

Me too tried Indian coffee. Found it best !! Feeling aroma from here my friend !!😋
👌 I love coffee !!!

You are very right my friend, I have many Indian coffee's in my stock, this one sells very well. But I have others, they are amazing coffees to taste - but don't have the reputation and so are harder to sell - sometimes people will just buy based on what they are told. I have an Indian Mysore right now that is outstanding - wonderful flavour with a buttery aftertaste - sweet and smooth. But it is a slow seller - mysore does not have a recognisable name so people are missing out. More for me to enjoy I suppose 😉

Exactly my friend ! Brand name and reference are the key factors in consumption of coffee ! We can find lots of local coffee better than the branded but they are not the market leader.

Great info my friend up and resteem

Thank you, always in with a comment before everyone else - I don't know how you do it - share the secret I am so far behind with comments on my favourite posters right now!

Cool post! Could you explain what kind of tastes it has that are different from other types of coffee?

Very good question, Monsoon Malabar is indeed very different in taste to other coffees. The way they process it develops a hint of spice, the smoke of a wood fire, a little tobacco and even a kind of earthy taste (I know few people eat mud, but in my mind the taste is akin to eating a raw mushroom unwashed - sometimes a little of the earth it grew in stays with it) it's an acquired taste - if I gave 5 different people a cup of Monsoon Malabar to try 3 would not like it - but the two people that do love it for life and this is why I sell so much - it has a niche and unique following - much like Steemit!

Cool! Thanks for the in depth description it sounds really interesting. I probably would be one of the two that would like it as I appreciate complex and different flavours. Being able to describe them is the challenge, but it seems you have done your homework.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97