Collectible Bike of the Week #1 Honda V65 Magna

in #collectible5 years ago

Honda had the Magna model in it’s fleet for two years when it brought out the V65. Say whatever you want, this was special. A water cooled V-4 shaft driven motorcycle that put over 100 HP to the ground. The first three years the V-65 was listed as the fastest production motorcycle on earth with top speed listed at 173 MPH (278 KmPH). The Magna was bad fast by any definition.

1100 Magna (1)x.jpg
Source

The V4 had come from Honda Racing Division and was found to be so smooth and reliable that it would stay in the marque for 30 years. The bike boasted a 6 speed transmission that turned the whole industry upside down. Honda scored another ‘first’ in the business that gave it a huge sales advantage.

The Magna oozed cool. It was the first ever ‘power cruiser’ with a stepped seat and ‘relaxed’ seating position, feet forward of the hips. It took the Japanese manufacturers at least 3 years to catch up with the Magna, and Harley Davidson didn’t even try.

1100 Magna 2.jpg
Source

If you are interested in adding this bike to your stable you should be able to find a really good, low mileage original for around $2500. Yes, there were lots of them made and sold, but it is the first of a category and is bound to increase in value over time.

All words in this post are mine. All photos properly attributed

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Sort:  

Wow, that is very interesting! I guess I always knew that Honda was kind of the front runner when it came to mass production of bikes, but I had never realized that they were also the first for many other things. I think it would be cool to ride a bike some day, the closest I have ever been was a moped :) I would probably be too afraid of dying though. I will most likely be a cager for life.

I've owned one of the Honda v4 bikes. An ST1100 that I put 130,000 miles on :) I bought it with 50k miles. The only problem I had was the fuel pump went out and the alternator needed to be replaced.

About every 5 years Honda just turns the engineers loose on a new model. They always have new stuff that will show up on bikes for years to come.

Riding isn't for everybody. It just isn't. Better to not ride than be uncomfortable, for a fact.

Great advice! There are times I think it would be fun, but I kind of have a love-hate relationship with motorcyclists. I see a lot of them driving recklessly and know that if something were to happen it would be my fault because of the big propaganda push lately. I know not all of you are like that but sometimes the few ruin it for the many...

Posted using Partiko Android

@bigtom13 You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

I remember back when I was about 23 I think, so around 1983 I think it was if my memory serves me which with dates it normally doesnt LOL but i digress A friend of my Brothers bought one of the first of these in NZ and he let me take t for a ride, Loved it and for while ther eit was on my list to get if I ever got a Powerful road bike, but I never got into road bikes so never got one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97