You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Colourchallenge Tuesday Orange - Oriole

in #colourchallenge6 years ago (edited)

You must be from the east, we get Bullock's Orioles in the west. Your Baltimore Oriole, and our Bullock's Oriole were considered two species, then lumped together as Northern Oriole, but again now are considered two separate species. We listers obviously prefer them as separate species.

Oriole_6722.JPG
Bullock's Oriole, note the lack of the black hood and the wider white wing bar. To me they just look plenty different to be separate species despite the hybrid overlap zone.

Sort:  

About as east as they get.

Cape Cod, in Massachusetts.

I figured. Good place to bird. I grew up in New England and am going to Mt. Washington in the AM tomorrow to try for Bicknell's Thrush, a lifer for me if I get it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85