You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comedy Open Mic Round #39 - Fun & Games In Customer Service

Hahaha, oh, you need to have a certain personality to be able to work in the customer service. I did it during my university but I didn't have patience for these people. I see that you make a laugh about it and this is the good approach!

Good luck with the contest Nicky!

Sort:  

I was just told yesterday you’re fluent in several languages, is that true?

Is that important? ;)

Just interesting.

Yes, I do. I speak Slovak, Czech (they are similar but not the same and younger generation don't understand both of them), English, Dutch and German and I understand Polish, Russian (I studied for a bit a few years ago), a lot of Croatian/Serbian/Slovenian and I can get around with Italian (I can order in restaurants or purchase tickets and other items).

I always enjoyed languages :)

I wish you could see the size of my eyes just now as I thought “WOW!” That’s more than I would have ever expected. Good for you @delishtreats, that’s something to be proud of, I wish I could say that... in just a few of those languages. 😉

Hahaha, you could have sent me that WOW photo :D I would definitely enjoy it :D If you're coming from a small European country you need to start learning languages pretty soon if you would like to ever move somewhere or find a good job :) It's nothing like Los Angeles ;)

That's an impressive collection of languages but I think in mainland Europe you are surrounded by countries that all speak different languages but English is what everyone speaks as a 2nd language.

I studied French for 7 years but that was over 14 years ago since I last really studied it at school! Every now and again it's nice to flex but I think my language has gone to like a 7 year old haha.

I stick to sciences, can get my head around that a bit more :)

Not really, it depends where you are.. if you look at Switzerland they have 4 languages and they tend to speak at least 2 of them. English would be the 3rd or maybe even the 4th language. My colleague is Polish and his child speaks Polish at home, German and French at school, so no English at all because they believe it would be too much at this age.

In Slovakia English becomes the 2nd language for the last years.. but when I was a child (right after the revolution) it was still German and Russian that we learned at school. So many of my friends (in their 30's) don't speak/barely speak English.

I agree with you that it is believed that English is the 2nd language in most of countries here but it is not necessarily the case..

EDIT: But people in the capital cities usually do speak English as the multinational companies are there..

Oh, I don't speak French so you can't practice with me :) BUT as long as you can get around in France with what you can say it's ok :)

And this is what I'm not that good at ;) And I like the diversity and that everyone is good at something else :) SO if I have a scientific question, you'll have me knocking on your door Nicky :D

Haha yea you got to laugh whenever you can I think. Life does get taken too seriously sometimes and maybe my slight craziness and eccentricity helps get through the day! Glad you enjoyed me finding the funny side in an otherwise unfunny job 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81