Single Issue Review - Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #1

in #comicbooks5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190209_090147202~2.jpg

Oh man, when I saw the cover of this one I was excited to read it. I'm not terribly well versed in Peter David's work, but I know he's a well respected writer. And Mark Bagley has never been my favorite artist, but he's definitely more than capable. With these two comic book powerhouse talents at the helm, how could you go wrong? Well, they found a way.

I had literally never heard of The Scarlet Spider, so I went into this with zero foreknowledge, and in theory zero expectations. From the cover he looks like he's in the same territory as Spiderman, and the recap page confirms this.

IMG_20190209_090226034~2.jpg

Now I know it's insanely difficult to condense what sounds like years worth of history into a couple paragraphs, but if you can't do it well, then don't bother. I don't know where the story is headed in future issues, but from just reading issue 1, I only really needed to know about a third of what was presented here. He's a clone of Spiderman, he used to be known as the Jackal, and those two factions are warring in his head Tyler Durden style. That would have been enough. But this ham-fisted attempt to catch me up on everything that happened in this dude's life fell flat.

So, not a good start. Then we get into the actual story. From the first couple pages, 2 things are clear: they're setting him up as an anti-hero, and they're desperately trying to find him a catch phrase. He stops a mugger, which features this exchange:

IMG_20190209_090552199~2.jpg

After the action is over, he basically extorts the victim, by saying she owes him a hundred bucks for saving her. She only has 50, and promises to pay him the rest later, which unfortunately leads to these words being committed to the printed page:

IMG_20190209_090627714~2.jpg

See what they did there? I can only imagine the rest of the series features Ben Reilly explaining that things won't go well for people, whether he's saving them or assaulting them. It's bad enough to have yet another anti-hero in the comics world (I was tired of it in the 90's when Lobo was everywhere), but the greater crime is that it's executed so poorly. If you're going to try to pull off the likable sociopath trope, the protagonist has to actually be likable. I found nothing in here that made me even remotely care what happens to this character or in this story. I will not be pursuing this one further.

The one thing here that's not terrible is the art. It is definitely not Bagley's finest work, but Bagley on a bad day is still better than many. However, in this case, that's just not enough to make up for the terrible, terrible writing.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Great review. One of the things I really like about your reviews is that you don't just breakdown the story, but you get into the art and the writing, and the histories of the artists and writers.

Thanks, I appreciate the support.

Hi methus,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I’ve been a big fan of Spider-Man since the early 90’s when Todd McFarlane took over the title...

All these new spider-folk however.... don’t like it. It’s like when Superman died (yes he did, and I still have that issue wrapped in the black plastic) and all these super-folk clones appeared.

🤦🏽‍♂️

It’s just sloppy flogging of a dead horse.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, it's like they're out of ideas, so they change an old idea slightly and repackage it. It's a money grab.

Congratulations @methus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @methus
oh yes, it is a real condemnation for us that we saw what was first to deal with these new editions and these new heroes. If you think about it, it's the same for cartoons, movies, music. It seems to me that everything today is a bad copy of what was in the past. Maybe it's because we are "old men" related to our memories? What do you think about it? Congratulations for your review and Thanks for sharing with us!

Yeah, I think you're on to something there. I watched the Grammys recently and it was the same thing. Old and familiar but repackaged slightly. Not sure when I turned into my parents, but it appears to have happened.

Reading from the "recap page", I think he does have a good storyline, its just sad though that he didn't execute it beautifully, to get one intrigued and immersed into all of it. He definitely would have done a better job with it.

Great review!

Thanks. No one is solid all the time, but in this case, I think the writer really missed the mark. I may have to look up some of his old Incredible Hulk stuff to see why he's so well respected.

I have noticed on many reviews that they try to find something positive even if it's very difficult or if there is anything at all. You on the other hand say things the way they are - pure, clear and straight. This is what I like about your review.

You have said: I will not be pursuing this one further.. does that mean that it was so bad that you didn't finish reading it? I might have misunderstood as well..

I agree with you that the recap is just too long and too detailed. I like shorter version that are clear and to the point.

Thank you for your great review! I think you helped many people to decide if they should read it or not :)

Have a good week!

I'm trying to just react to what I'm experiencing and put those feeling down. I did finish the book, but I meant that I am not interested in reading future issues. Thanks for clarifying.

Maybe they will connect the character to some drug cartel. Narcos have become for some the quintessential likable criminal, despicable as they are.
This is a twisted world, no question about it.
All that talent and resources can surely be put to a better use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97