First Appearance Friday ~ CARNAGE

in #comics5 years ago

9BF3E36C-B955-4408-BE67-425CA25C7A25.jpeg

While Away at SteemFest, it’s been a bit difficult to find the time to post. I also feel like I’m leaving my nerd crew behind this week, so this is for you folks. It’s been a few weeks since my last First Appearance Friday so why not bang one out right now while I sloppily sit in bed...waiting to muster up the energy to participate in today’s events.

Just a quick background on what a First Appearance is for all of my new friends who aren’t comic savvy and don’t know the terminology and lingo. A First Appearance is basically what it sounds like. It’s the very first time that a specific character appears in a comic. There’s a lot of hoopla and arguing in the community about specifics regarding cameo appearances, 1st’s, 1st full Appearances and all that...but that’s an article and battle for another day. So who do I want to discuss today???

Carnage!!!

B07F0B5E-343F-4660-BAEF-D32530ABFE33.jpeg

Carnage first burst onto the scene in April of 1992 in Amazing Spider-Man #361. This tasty book is considered his 1st Full Appearance. It was written by David Michelinie and the art was provided by Mark Bagley.

FC66DFA9-2111-4103-B8D0-DBFF588864B6.jpeg

Carnage also has a cameo appearance in Amazing Spider-Man #360 but it’s been “accepted” in the community that #361 is THE book to have...although any self respecting collector has both along with Amazing Spider-Man #344 which features the 1st Appearance of Cletus Kasady which is the psycho who becomes Carnage.

Quick tidbit...Carnage was created by not only David Michelinie and Mark Bagley, but also Erik Larsen. Erik was the regular penciler on the title when #344 came out so he drew Cletus. Mark took over drawing duties several issues later and penciled the rest. So all had a hand in creating the iconic psycho.

Back on track...Here’s basically how it went down. Kasady was in jail and his bunk mate is Eddie Brock...who is Venom. Safe to say that these two do not like each other much, and Eddie is just biding time until the Symbiote (that’s a whole other write up) finds him and reconnects. When it does...this happens.

41EFCA2F-1BA4-4ACB-9D70-342112C39656.jpeg

DDA77D2B-367B-40AF-B940-91C75CAC247B.jpeg

27B2DACF-CA99-41AB-A090-06C5395E91ED.jpeg

Which basically leads to this at the end of ASM #360. The panels below are why it’s condidered a cameo appearance and not a First Full Appearance.

2775B005-3D1D-4FCA-A6F4-7BE880E84358.jpeg

Let’s take a look inside one of my copies of this book. I have a bunch of these badboys. I stash these away whenever I can get my hands on them. Although this came out during a time when print runs were astronomical, it’s still a blue chip key and will always have value while being sought after by collectors around the globe. Simply put, Carnage isn’t going anywhere.

D95ADE33-CEEF-4FF2-87F1-3B8044542832.jpeg

C8B13F17-EAEB-47A2-AC28-EAC06F588712.jpeg

1532ACBB-4A1B-47B2-B610-A003D6A5DC27.jpeg

6336DD9D-37ED-4057-94F0-7FFCFF20BF14.jpeg

CF2DA4CA-3421-4768-BADD-4AA147E3404F.jpeg

BF2ED58F-137D-4B37-9956-43C55376417C.jpeg

997EF223-7054-41E0-AE4B-D487E3A3B271.jpeg

This is the back cover and there’s an interesting tidbit about this. Take a look on the bottom in the red box that says NEW FROM TSR. Notice the tiny little tear on the bottom? That was a printing/manufacturing defect that occurred on an extremely large portion of the print run. Between my shop and myself we currently have around 15 of these. I’ve also sold probably around 20 over the past few years. Every single copy has had this defect...except one...and I stupidly sold it a few years back.

2C2C1FA9-C05F-4BD9-ABFC-95FE056AEC81.jpeg

072DDF9D-2A53-41F7-AEE3-C8220C7D94EB.jpeg

The grading companies are obviously aware of this defect and since it happened during the printing process, they don’t seem to deduct anything if it possesses it. Basically meaning it’s entirely possible to still obtain a high grade such as a 9.8 while still having this particular mass produced flaw. Case in point...I snagged these pics from a seller on eBay. You’ll see that the owner still obtained a 9.8 from CGC even with the flaw.

2B338587-61A7-48A0-8E56-92F882C9C803.jpeg

584EE555-7B0F-468D-AF72-B2CA9261A71C.jpeg

What stinks is the one I had that was flawless, also came back a 9.8 and we ended up selling it for $250 which was about $75 more than what other 9.8’s that had the flaw were going for. I wish I would have held onto that slab as 9.8 copies with the flaw are currently fetching between $375-$425. You can get a bit higher with the right buyer without the flaw.

92E59424-988A-4879-A0FA-90EFBFA98C79.jpeg

Raw copies of the book in a roughly very fine + to near mint shape are going to bring in between $75-$125 depending on the exact condition. There is also a second printing of this book which features a silver background. It’s pretty tough to find overall as back in the day, 2nd prints were basically considered dogshit and nobody cared. Things are a bit different nowadays as there is a large market for multiple printings of key books or any book for that matter. Especially if they feature a different killer cover which they sometimes do. Second printing fetches slightly less than the first printing on average although in time I could totally see high grade copies catching up and keeping pace with the firsts.

65AA0192-305B-47E1-B7D3-C35659670607.jpeg

Basically, if you are a collector and are looking for a relatively cheap key to put aside...this is definitely a good choice. Especially if you can snag it for the right price. As I mentioned before...Carnage isn’t going anywhere. Symbiotes are popular as hell and have a loyal rabid fan base. Carnage is also one of those characters that looks badass. His toys and statues always command a premium and get gobbled up in record time. He’s highly marketable and I’d expect that to only grow with time. Look at Venom as a prime example. Just going to show off a few cool pieces for all to see.

05B7E5FF-1A6C-446F-B334-53BE46A71EC3.jp2

E4CD759C-AF8B-42F1-BFA9-59F9454D625C.jpeg

87D83715-58B5-416C-8A83-6C0DD4183D93.jpeg

30F9AEB3-8B53-47F7-A2F2-A363CB9BDEDC.jpeg

3FA3A356-6652-4DE5-9F79-1B0AB1EAAD2F.jpeg

F042DFB2-B3E4-4BF2-8AC4-8F381D1D122B.jpeg

Hell, they even made a shitty video game based on the Maximum Carnage crossover event that kinda sucked. Both the crossover and the game. It was available on the SNES and Sega Genesis.

D72839BB-ED3E-44E6-B43B-D28F11A588FA.jpeg

D3E29AAA-EF2A-47E1-BC90-8DF82340454C.jpeg

Deluxe copies of the game also came with a special limited edition promo comic book. Tons of these got destroyed over time and are extremely difficult to come across. When they do pop up they command at least $100 clams. Some even more. This weird book is pretty much all over the place as they rarely show up and conditions vary. So it’s kinda hard to nail down an average.

45DB9721-B679-4744-A64D-A09FB221F15F.jpeg

F843AB4F-1F3F-4AFE-8267-170FADEDB5CE.jpeg

2E38B18B-26B2-4B6F-B964-68AAEA177EDE.jpeg

SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!

Oh and if you haven’t seen the movie Venom yet....wait until the end. You’ll see why this pic below makes sense.

74D3F397-3DDA-421E-A30F-0510F5F5F5BD.jpeg

Thanks for sticking through my drivel folks. See ya next time!!!

Sort:  

a2ed3e7c688dad7be7f57587718023b359299416efc50839c3952c077912ca59.gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

F865ED64-AA3E-426A-ABC3-75F8B344A676.gif

I appreciate your refreshing splash!

Hi blewitt,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To those at @curie who always do a kickass job at hunting for meaty pieces to throw some love at...thanks a ton!

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)

I will definitely take a peek and see what it’s all about. Thx!

great article! Fortunately my parents held on to my Spideys #361-363 for me. Maximum Carnage wow...I haven't thought about the game for ages. What a classic label. Looking very forward to the upcoming issue with Cates too dealing with this character. Thanks for putting this together

Ah! You are talking about Web of Carnage. Yeah. Cates has been on fire and I’d definitely recommend jumping in on that!! Good call!

Fantastic that you still have your copies of 361-363!!! Did you check to see if yours has the dreaded defect??? Lol

oh yeah, sadly it does have the defect. I probably read it too much as a teenager too. I still regret having gave away my AS #300 too as a kid to a friend - dumb, dumb, dumb...

On that Web of Carnage, I see there is a Bill Sienkiewicz variant cover online for $12; kind of pricey, but that cover is pretty cool. Might have to take the plunge and get it added to my Carnage collection going forward.

Love Sienkiewicz. He did an Elektra cover a few years back that I am absolutely in love with.

Elektra_1_Sienkiewicz_Variant.jpg

Oh no!!! You gave away your ASM #300???ARGH!!! Lol. Yeah that is a biggie. That is a book that will rise forever. Slow and steady. Sorry it's not with you any longer.

Thank you for such comprehensive journey into Spiderman's world. It is unbelievable how back into past t he story goes and how many fans and collectors exists. Sometimes I hear people say I have had it too but if I would know that it will be so valuable then I would have kept it locked in best condition. That makes me laugh. You never know what will be popular 10-20 years in the future but once there are fans and collective the stuff they lick, they will be rewarded later. I really enjoy your post and learnt quite a lot about the history of Marvel Carnage and Spider man comic :)

Exactly. That’s why I always say a lot of the stuff that’s worth some coin is the stuff that nobody knew would be worth some cash.

I appreciate it. I’ll be doing a Venom one soon. Stay tuned and thanks for the kind words!

I'm not familiar with how deep Spiderman's universe is but when I saw Carnage's badass design, that tickled my interest. I'm into anime and manga so I could somehow relate to how passionate you are about collecting comics and admiring character forms.

I knew about Carnage first when the hype about Venom movie popped up and some friends just used the character as a conversation opener.

That’s fantastic! I’ve never really been into Anime but we sell a ton of it at my shop. I recognize and appreciate what it brings to our little corner of the world.

Did you see the Venom film yet??

Not yet, I still have to make room for it after I got my schedule worked out. I have my internship at the hospital and schedules need to be flexible. :/ Even if I had the free time, I mostly use it to sleep and prepare for the daily grind next shift, watching the film would be on my to do list XD

To be honest...wait for it to come out on Blu-ray and dvd. Not amazing . Not terrible either but if you already out of time...then just wait. You aren't missing anything super fantastic.

I'm not a connoisseur of the subject in comics, but it's interesting the market that has emerged in the last few decades to get exclusivity in numbers that undoubtedly went down in history.

Unfortunately in my country there is no commercialization of comics, first we do not manufacture them and if there is a market is buyers who get them outside the country.

it is easier to find Magic enthusiasts the card game. that if there is a medium market and over the years those cards will become the same as the comics. only that the tradition of comics used for example is insurmountable in time and quantity maybe can compete with the Asian market.

It's a pity that you sold that copy, I know that you would treasure it a lot.

Thank you for sharing this publication.

Greetings.

Thanks for taking a look at this! Appreciate it!

Yeah in most countries, the comic "world" is but a fraction of what it is here in the states.

You are right. I have noticed that about Magic the Gathering as well. Seems to be a very popular thing worldwide. I know people in other countries that play a ton. Actually the always fantastic @slobberchops is a big fan of that game!

blush, thanks for the comment mate! @dismayedworld loved the comics in the SF3 goodie bags, supplied by you I believe! She has nicked my SF3 scarf too, but I have a spare.

Glad she enjoyed the book brother!!! Yup yup! That was me. Guilty!

She sounds like a smart gal! lol

Fucking Love Carnage.... Him and Venom were the two best Spiderman Villains Hands down!

Now now...let's not get carried away...let's not forget about:

big wheel.jpg

or

kang.jpg

lol

Oh no!! I'm sorry to hear that you sold that one copy without the printing error for less than it was worth it but at least you got something.. and yes, it is a badass character and I'm sure that collectors love it.

Before I went to Belgium years ago I knew nothing about comics. We didn't have them in Slovakia, except of Donald Duck series if you consider them comics too, maybe not.. I was so surprised to see all those comics there. And they were so expensive. I wondered who would buy these things. You read it so quickly so it's actually waste of your money. I didn't realized back then that there are collectors and that you can make a lot of money like this. Later I heard that there are many collectors in Belgium but I've never met one (now, besides you :))

I can see on that photo with your comic book that you love it. It's such an intimate kiss :D

And I wonder.. how can you put such a post together during the Steemfest? I thought that you guys were having fun ;)

Thank you for sharing! Enjoy the Steemfest and Krakow and have a lot of fun! :)

Yeah Carnage is just one of those characters that has a huge mass appeal. There are many different genres of comics. Superhero, crime, western, scifi, cartoon, and on and on so yeah...Donald Duck is totally a comic. There are actually new ones coming out now!

I always make out with my prized books. lol

I don't sleep well so even though I was getting back at 5 am for the most part, I sat and would stare at the wall to decompress...I just put that time to some writing instead of creeping my wall and ceiling out. Thanks so much. Steemfest was an absolute trip and I made so many friends!! Can't wait until next year!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01