Hot Comic Tips ~ It’s a Secret...Sssshhhhh

in #comics5 years ago

image

During the past year or so, Marvel has been randomly inserting “Secret Variants” into the normal orders for random select books. They are a surprise and have a slight variation compared to the regular cover. I believe the ratios are roughly 1 in 7 or something along the lines of that.

A couple previous ones they did were for Avengers #682 & Venom #7. On the Avengers, the variant is the newer Hawkeye while the regular is the classic look. On the Venom they added the ol’ tongue action to the variant. Each one of these came out months ago and still bring in around $20 bucks a pop. You can peep those below.

image

image

image

image

Most retailers are unsuspecting so as long as they ordered a decent amount of copies, there should be a few of those per store available...many at cover price. You’d be surprised at just how many retailers don’t pay attention to these sorts of things.

Well there is another Marvel “Secret Variant” being released tomorrow 3/6/19 at comic shops across the land. Problem with this one is, it may be difficult to come by as it’s on a book that I just couldn’t imagine any retailer went in big on. I’m talking about Ziggy Pig & Silly Seal Comics #1. Yeah...that book...

Here is the regular cover.

image

Well Marvel has sent out randomly inserted copies of the variant with this issue that releases this week. My shop got none. I only ordered 2 copies of this cover and both were the regular. I’d imagine that shops who ordered 5-10 would have a chance of having 1 or 2 mixed in.

The variation to look out for tomorrow on your travels to comic shops is the one below. It shows the 💩 emoji with Creek on the map that they are reading...meaning Shit’s Creek. Kinda funny but I still have no clue how this will perform long term. It’s not on a traditional superhero book so I’m just not sure.

image

Currently on the bay, it seems copies are bringing in $20-$40 clams. Not too shabby for a $3.99 purchase. As I always suggest. Go find a copy or two. Flip em. Buy Steem and Power Up!!! Grow your account with Free Money!!!

image

image

I could see this book plummeting as nobody will care. Ooooorrrrrrrrr I could see it holding or rising as it’s a strange book that cannot have a large print run. Also, if the book is actually good and fun? The sky’s the limit. Or people won’t remember this in a few weeks...

Who knows?!?

Either way, go here and check to see where your closest comic book shop is located. Then get yer ass over there and see if you can find one!

https://www.comicshoplocator.com

Get lucky and score one? Show me a pic of you holding a copy in my comments section for 2 FREE shares of @steembasicincome!!!

Flip it and Power those funds up and show me for 3 more FREE shares!!!

Great way to help grow your account here folks!!! Every bit helps and the profits of this one book could bring you 50-100 Steem for free plus my shares of SBI. Go get em.

Pics of this week’s Secret Variants courtesy of Brian Springman of the Google + group, FACTS.

Blewitt

Sort:  

You mean like this?

20190308_113616.jpg

AABFA034-C6C0-478F-B068-CD776B986B0C.png. Holy shit!!!!! We got a winner!!!!! Was it just on the rack? Are you flipping it or keeping it!!!! Awesome. You are the first in all of my Hot Tips!

Yep, there was about 4 or 5 Ziggy's on the shelf and I was surprised to find the variation there. I plan to flip it and invest the funds here. It's on feeBay at the moment but I don't know how hungry the Australian market is either.

Indeed, it has been purchased. Now to convert those $$$$ to Steem!!!

And of course I now realise you weren't stalking my eBay listing and saw that it sold this morning, and were just referring to the SBI. Now I just have to get my fiat converted to Steem and power it up!!

I looked at those covers for ages without seeing the variation. Comes from having to scroll, I suppose. Interesting stuff, as ever.

Yeah this one was a silly one that was hard to decipher if you aren't sure what to look for!

I never got into comics really...I read Asterix books as a kid though, they're sort of comics I guess? Anyway, I always felt I missed out on an aspect of being a kid...And here's you living it as an adult...And making a living no less. #herostatus 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol...let's use the term "making a living" lightly here...lol

Yeah I do enjoy that my world revolves around this stuff daily. That is one cool aspect.

Lol...What? You mean you're not a gazillionnaire?

Posted using Partiko Android

Also...it's never too late to jump on in!!!

Yeah true but I have enough hobbies as it is. I also prefer ones that take me outside although I could simply take a comic book outside right? 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

I get ya. Too many hobbies consumes not only money, but more importantly time.

Ah yes, time and money...Something I always seem short of. :)

I had to read this many times to see the variation (the map,) I didn't know they print like this.

yeah they do these types of things once in a while...probably to entice reorders in the hopes to get the variant.

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Would have loved to get the Venom 7 but will wait for the market to cool on it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah we had 2 initially I believe. Both vanished quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98