Sort:  

i think my favorite part about cons is finding new artists -- just walking around artist's alley without knowing what to expect. i've been to a few small ones that way (ones which I didn't feel like going to initially because why would anyone?) and found some gems which I wouldn't have bumped into otherwise. but then deadpool... it's definitely a coin toss. except deadpool will continue to be in the box office for a few more weeks at least haha

I’m with you. ”Artist Alley” is always my favorite. I think sometimes you’re better off making discoveries at the smaller cons, as table rent prices at the bigger ones are not insignificant and keep some small press away!
I’m also disappointed that in recent years, while I see a lot of great art, I rarely see finished small press comics for sale. Admittedly they are more work and likely less sales than the art prints game nowadays.

I know what you mean about the lack of press comics. I think because of what you mentioned (the cost to produce vs. art prints) and the fact that a lot of content is read online nowadays, perhaps a lot of artists are not too eager to invest more $$ on putting out some physical comics for sale. Although there might be a million reasons on top of that. For example, I was at the Los Angeles Comic Con last year, both as a seller and as a tourist (it was my first time there), and I decided that if I were to sell there again this year, I would have at least one issue of my comic out for sell there. I was motivated by a friend of mine who did something similar with his comic at a different con. Anyway, after doing a bunch of research it came down to a compromise of cost vs. quality: big printers both overseas and in the US providing the better quality of paper/print and cost per unit require bulk orders of over 1 grand plus to make it worth their while; but then there are smaller printers that do more of a print-on-demand kind of thing, which is convenient for small batches, but you end up paying more per unit and the quality of paper/print isn't as good as offset printing. Maybe a lot of artists are put down by that choice and would rather wait until they have more content or a kickstarter going or something. Who knows really, but I do just love seeing indie comics at cons -- some are just so good.

Everything you point out is spot on. And digital comics & webcomic platforms are absolutely fantastic for enabling even more diversity and a lower barrier to entry for artists. But I think they have “thinned the herd” in Artist Alley setups and I’m just slightly nostalgic for the past!

I'm so used to exhibiting at shows that frankly I can't relax just going to one for "fun". WW still has semi decent sized artist alley's, but you're paying for a ticket that includes the cost of a buncha stuff you don't wanna see (celebrities..celebrity cars). I'd stay home and spend the weekend drawing something.

That is my exact problem with the WW shows. We exhibit at the shows as well and did Philly for like 7 straight years. Booth prices raised and crowds got smaller. Nice guests but that does not help the exhibitors when people are standing in line for 6 hours and paying insane prices for VIP Packages. Ya know? Ill be at Megacon next week and then Heroes Con...Heroes is a nice Comic show...a rare thing nowadays.

Never been to Heroes, but I've always heard good things about it. Hope you have a fun time and great sales at both!

Thanks man. I'm sure ill be posting from there. Lol.

I haven't been to Heroes in years, It was good the last time I went. I just always forget about it until it's too late.

are you local to the area?

I'm based in Milwaukee

ah ok. I thought you might be near the shows I am exhibiting at. Was gonna say stop by the booth and say hi!!!

I may be at one in your area, maybe in the fall.

Which one are ya thinking of?

Drawing is sound advice as well! I just have tomorrow off, then I'm working all weekend, but I will get some (art)work time in. I was actually working on some page layouts and took a break to post. Yay productivity! (Loved your Cthulu strips by the way, keep that great stuff coming!)

It is up to you and what I call your attention, I think if you go to the Convention and take pictures you will have to talk and something new to show us, but if you go to the movie will not have photos or much to talk

I agree with you @gvand ... would be interesting to see what kind of trouble he could get into while there :)

Nice thought, but I’m rather boring! @blewitt is your guy if you’re looking for con hijinks!

HA! I somehow doubt that! I bet it's more like neck and neck between you and @blewitt -- you're being modest.

Oh no, I am strictly keyboard gregarious & in person wallflower!

Uh huh ... sure ya are :) I wouldn't bet the farm on that! LOL!

That is true! The convention would certainly be more “post worthy”... it is something to consider!

@gvand has a point! Id go with WW even though I am not particularly a fan of the show runners. Id opt for that....or you can do that during the day and then go see Deadpool at night!

I have the body of an 87 year old man! If I walk that con floor first it'll be time for an Ensure and a nap!

Oh dude....I can't hang the way I used to. 15 straight sdcc's. I used to be a stud. Carrying shit all day long, on your feet for 18 hours a day, getting no sleep. Now I have to eat bananas for potassium so I don't get leg cramps. Getting massages on the regular. I am 38 and feel like I'm almost dead.

LOL! If you feel that way now... God help you when you hit 50! Speaking from experience here. In fact, 50 wasn't when my body started "feeling" old, it was 51. :D

So much to look forward to!!! Lol.

Lol! Same age. I recall in some middle school health class being taught we all have more than one “age.” There’s chronological, mental, and physical ages.
So I always tell people I’m chronologically 38, mentally 12, and physically 87. 👱‍♂️👦👴

It's like we are twins....

LOL! I knew it!!!

Deadpool could you wait maybe? The Convention is not every day XD

Definitely go see DeadPool 2 :D

It is amazing and the post-credits scene is one of the best, ever :D

Ah man, you already checked it out today?!? You are on top of it! I was thinking about heading out to a later show tonight, but remembered I'm broke and tomorrow is payday... so if I want to gorge on popcorn and goodies as well, gotta wait for that check to clear!

Saw it like two days ago ! Was really fun !

They nailed his humour, and it never let up :D

Hope you will enjoy it when your pay clears :D

@vermillionfox and I are going to a noon showing of DP2. I can’t wait!

I say... Go to the comic shop.

That was great! Love Simon Pegg.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75