You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After HF21, We Will Need A Reason Other Than Rewards To Stay On STEEM

in #community5 years ago

In my case it's hope for the best, steel myself for the worst, and expect that things will fall somewhere in between.

Okay I'll ditto head that sentiment.

People do have a tendency to want to find some to blame for any failures, whether it is a failure on their part or a failure of the system, or a failure of someone else. Failure is not something that needs blame, it is something that needs to be fixed.

In America we hear every election of how it is a waste of time and that the vote system has failed, has the system failed or the people, when less than 35% of the eligible population votes, (I am not sure of the real amount) then it is the people that failed.

How many people on steem know how many whales are witnesses? How many witnesses do the whales vote for? What percentage of us vote for witnesses? (I don't, I could not really evaluate who would be a good witness and who would not, so I gave my votes to someone I trust to pick the right people).

Any failure of HF21 will not be someones fault, but we the people are the ones that will need to point out the failure, (if any), and provide some sort of idea on how to fix it, or at least clearly state where we see the problem, (I have a hard time doing either of those).

There may be losts of reasons for people to leave, very few reasons for people to stay, one thing that the steem block chain has done is offer a place for Ordinary people to congregate. Facebook for me was not a place, youtube was not a place, google hangouts was not a place, As my time in the steem block chain has increased, facebook was pulled in somehow to where it became okay to share everyday stuff, twitter then came in to where you could share everyday stuff in a short format, google hangouts in both the steem chat/discord connections has been brought in, youtube has been bought in.

Two years ago, steem was going through these changes from a content creations, vote for content place, to a more social place. I do not facebook, twitter, or youtube, but can you do all three of those places in one place? Can you youtube live feed on your facebook page and have peoples twitter tweets on your facebook page? I don't know, They all seem separated.

On steem block chain, you can have your tweets go directly into your post/blog feed. You can Upload your videos and they go into your post/blog feed.

There are a lot of reason's to stay, and only a few reasons to leave, when you think about it. Social wise, I do not think you can find anything out there right now that can offer the variety of steem block chain. The front ends need a little work, but that will come with growth and time, right now most are 'it works and we can move on to improvements now'.

To long, sorry.

Sort:  

Hey, @bashadow.

No need to worry about comment length with me. :) I've been known for one or two long comments myself.

There has been quite a bit of change on STEEM, especially since last November, and I think it's mainly been for the good. I think a lot of people got tired of waiting around for one source to provide all of the goodies, or finally realized that if they could do it, better they than not at all.

Which, I think, is good.

I can't say I know what's going to work and what's not. I also don't know if there's any particular witness better suited for this over someone else. A witness decides to be one, and if they can get enough stake weight behind them, up the ladder they go. I'm not sure what it's based on, other than they somehow prove their worth. And right now, worth seems to be in development over any other thing. I think we need devs, but I think we also need others, some kind of healthy ratio so that not one particular segment is over represented. Hard to find that balance, since every bit of information you could ever want about a witness and how they feel about things doesn't really exist in any one place.

re: blame

Full agreement there. Pointing fingers doesn't bring solutions. Looking for solutions bring about solutions. And maybe not putting the people who broke it in charge would be nice preventive medicine.

For a brief time, I was advocating that the proponents of the EIP just start doing what they say they'll do after the EIP, and see if there were any effective difference for STEEM, its value, the community morale, they're ROI, etc.

My voice wasn't big enough on its own, and really, if you need incentives to do what you really should be doing, and say you want to do, there's not much of a chance it's going to happen, so anyway. We're in "anything is better than what we have, so let's do this" mode because "If it doesn't work, we can always undo it or try something else."

Seems like a lot of playing around with people's stake and future to me based on "just doing something."

So, here we are, with about three weeks to go before the hardfork takes hold, which means we'll be having this conversation all over the place before and after it happens for at least a few weeks more. That's if everything goes well with the hardfork (no bugs), and the EIP works (for all of us, not just the proponents). Otherwise, we'll be railing about this for months to come. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87