After HF21, We Will Need A Reason Other Than Rewards To Stay On STEEM

in #community5 years ago

Actually, We've Always Needed Another Reason...

But this time, it's probably going to be for real.

Quite a few people have been saying HF21 will do more harm than good for STEEM for a while now. With the hard fork imminent, these opinions continue to show up, which includes this post from paulag, who, among other things, is known for number crunching. In her estimation, it doesn't look good.

Take away ten percent of the reward pool off the top to create a funding source for the SPS (STEEM Proposal System, or worker proposal), then blast it with the EIP, (50/50 creator/curator split, a convergent linear curve, and a handful of free downvotes), and you've got the makings for heretofore unmitigated disaster—unless the proponents do what they need to do to make it work, and a goodly amount of the whole of STEEM follows suit.

Which is why I'm saying if STEEM rewards is your only reason for being on STEEM, or it's the main one, or even in equal portion to some others, it's gut check time. Plenty of good goes on here, but so does a lot of negative. If a rewards cut is in the works, it will be less of a reasons to carry on.

So, since this is probably a rehash of an already well rehashed theme, I'll go ahead and spell out what I think are good reasons to continue on once HF21 hits the blockchain. These aren't necessarily in any ranked order, but more how they come to mind.

life-1426255_1280.jpg

Communities

I'm not talking solely about the front end upgrade Steemit is working on, or necessarily the tribes springing up through STEEM-Engine tokens, but also including the ones that already existed, through tags, through likeminded people finding each other, and the STEEM community as a whole. These types of associations are probably the number one reason anyone goes to social media and I believe that it is as just as true, if not more so, for STEEM.

It's going to take each one of us to get the rest of us through if HF21 goes south. We're not just going to want upvote, resteem or engagement support, but help with morale, too. If we're not just here for the upvote, and that actually moves farther down the list, then those friends or associates we have on STEEM are going to be more important to us then ever.

Our Future

A main idea behind STEEM is as an investment vehicle for those who are willing to put in time and or fiat into it. Those of us who are still around have been slowly but surely building up stake. While it will potentially get even harder to stake, we're still wishing, hoping, praying, whatever, that the STEEM value, maybe in spite of what is done here, will eventually turn around.

For as much nonsense and shooting ourselves in the foot that goes on around here, there is plenty to like about the way STEEM is set up. It is among the best blockchains for utility, and for scalability and speed. While Steemit Inc. was forced to cut costs, that ultimately will serve STEEM, too, leaving many others in catchup mode if they haven't already bared the brunt of excessiveness as STEEM has.

I think those, and other reasons, will ultimately combine to make STEEM an awesome buy for investors, and investment firms, once all the haze from self-inflicted wounds and smoke from outside sources with their own agendas finally clears. It's just going to take time. Probably at least a few years.

Through our communities, we'll see just how resilient STEEM is or isn't. If we can get through the worst of HF21 (whatever that ultimately is), we may find ourselves with a bright future ahead.

We Truly Love Creating/Curating/Engaging

I didn't come here for the social aspect of STEEM. I came here to create. In the meantime, I've picked up on the curating and engaging part, while my love for creating has not diminished. I don't think you need to have a love for all three, but one of them would be good, if the first two reasons mentioned (communities, the future) aren't strong enough. And no, I don't think you have to be a part of any one community to engage (I'm not), but it certainly helps.

According to steemworld.org, this will be post 492 for me. I have always wanted to blog on a regular basis, but was never able over the years to keep it going for any great length of time. It wasn't for lack of having something to say or create. It was because I was screaming to the void. It can feel like that here, but after over 18 months of more and more consistent posting, I'll have a few who will holler back. It's good to know someone is out there.

And of course, the old song of "nowhere else will pay you to post" does come into play, even if it is mainly a pittance. I feel like I have been helped out quite a bit through the two larger curation trails, curie and ocd, so I'm sure my average earnings look better than what I typically see on most posts, which is roughly $0.25 to $0.50. There are the rogue whales and orcas roaming around, too, (theycallmedan is one of them) along with all the dozens of smaller fishes that take the bait and allocate something.

But I don't know that everyone experiences that. My guess is most users don't see at least a monthly curation trail upvote, and feel fortunate if the said whale or orca swims by.

So, enjoying ways to add value to STEEM through creation, curation or engagement is another reason that can keep us on STEEM.

The Myth

I'm putting the idea of decentralization, transparency, accountability, anonymity and so forth as myth, because as a matter of practicality, it hasn't happened yet. Maybe to some degree, maybe better than other places, and maybe more than STEEM gets credit for, but it still has a long way to go.

Some of us here, though, have bought into that dream, of borderless currency, the ability to transact without a third party, the opportunity to tap as an individual into the global market place, to free oneself from the shackles of any single governing body—all of those promises and more are wrapped up in blockchain and cryptocurrency and the underlying technology.

Those of us who want this better world are not just here because of the allure of creating for some amount of audience, or being rewarded for it, or finding people we like to talk with from anywhere in the world. We're here because, one way or another, a global transformation is coming, and it can either continue along the path it's been going, which is more towards a centralized, worldwide governance, or it can be upended completely and fractured into as many pieces as their are humans occupying the Earth.

That won't just happen on its own, and contrary to some beliefs, it's not going to happen just because the technology exists. People have to push it along, interact with it, want it enough to keep using it until the transformation takes hold. That means us, people. We're on the front lines of an age old battle that has just recently seen a pinprick of light at an otherwise ever darkening tunnel. Do we stick with it, despite the gathering gloom, or do we just let it go, and let all the freedoms which have been fought and sacrificed for over the centuries slip through our fingers.

If we're not progressing, we're regressing. There's very little standing still, and even that will feel like a sprint if we don't continue to shove this thing along.

Belief In STEEM

I guess I've been hinting around this with what I've already said, but it's probably time I just say it. A reason for staying here could be a belief in STEEM. Hopefully, it's not a blind faith, though. It will be best if you've looked around at the other possibilities, the wekus and the whaleshares, VOICE and whatever else might be out there, and realized they all have their troubles, too, and they don't have the head start STEEM has, nor the underpinnings already in place.

That's not to say they can't catch up if STEEM doesn't keep pressing, improving, and so forth. A lot of time has been wasted over the last three years just getting bearings, letting alone producing anything. Too many side tracks to wander down rather than full steam ahead on what matters most. And I'm not talking about the cost saving code production. That's actually been quite useful. It was everything leading up to it, which got laid bare by the bear market.

STEEM is better than it has been because of it. STEEM users have been taking on their own initiatives and following through with them. Whether any of them have prolonged success, or bring more users to STEEM is yet to be seen, but regardless of how people might feel about them, the innovation is coming from more than just one source, and ultimately, as long as it continues, this innovating will lay the foundations for more of it in the future, making possible things that aren't possible now.

That's the potential of the technology of STEEM. There's much more beyond just the code that STEEM has going for it, even with all the garbage that blows about. There's a lot to like amid the clutter. It won't be the greed or failings (however naysayers wish to categorize it) of a few dozen whales and top witnesses that will ultimately be the demise of STEEM. It will be the rest of us failing to see the value STEEM really holds, and plodding along as things turn bleaker that will ultimately do her in.

Wrapping It Up

I'm sure there are other reasons to add. Feel free to find and claim your own. Obviously, you will still need to see it as a worthwhile endeavor. If that's not the case now, it's unlikely it will be any better after HF21.

And if by some not so little effort by those who back the EIP, along with a good portion of those of us who don't, we all manage to make it work, well, that might just be reason enough to hang on.

In my case it's hope for the best, steel myself for the worst, and expect that things will fall somewhere in between.

Find your reason if you want to stay on STEEM. I think post HF21, we're all going to need them.

Image source—Pixabay

Sort:  

In my case it's hope for the best, steel myself for the worst, and expect that things will fall somewhere in between.

Okay I'll ditto head that sentiment.

People do have a tendency to want to find some to blame for any failures, whether it is a failure on their part or a failure of the system, or a failure of someone else. Failure is not something that needs blame, it is something that needs to be fixed.

In America we hear every election of how it is a waste of time and that the vote system has failed, has the system failed or the people, when less than 35% of the eligible population votes, (I am not sure of the real amount) then it is the people that failed.

How many people on steem know how many whales are witnesses? How many witnesses do the whales vote for? What percentage of us vote for witnesses? (I don't, I could not really evaluate who would be a good witness and who would not, so I gave my votes to someone I trust to pick the right people).

Any failure of HF21 will not be someones fault, but we the people are the ones that will need to point out the failure, (if any), and provide some sort of idea on how to fix it, or at least clearly state where we see the problem, (I have a hard time doing either of those).

There may be losts of reasons for people to leave, very few reasons for people to stay, one thing that the steem block chain has done is offer a place for Ordinary people to congregate. Facebook for me was not a place, youtube was not a place, google hangouts was not a place, As my time in the steem block chain has increased, facebook was pulled in somehow to where it became okay to share everyday stuff, twitter then came in to where you could share everyday stuff in a short format, google hangouts in both the steem chat/discord connections has been brought in, youtube has been bought in.

Two years ago, steem was going through these changes from a content creations, vote for content place, to a more social place. I do not facebook, twitter, or youtube, but can you do all three of those places in one place? Can you youtube live feed on your facebook page and have peoples twitter tweets on your facebook page? I don't know, They all seem separated.

On steem block chain, you can have your tweets go directly into your post/blog feed. You can Upload your videos and they go into your post/blog feed.

There are a lot of reason's to stay, and only a few reasons to leave, when you think about it. Social wise, I do not think you can find anything out there right now that can offer the variety of steem block chain. The front ends need a little work, but that will come with growth and time, right now most are 'it works and we can move on to improvements now'.

To long, sorry.

Hey, @bashadow.

No need to worry about comment length with me. :) I've been known for one or two long comments myself.

There has been quite a bit of change on STEEM, especially since last November, and I think it's mainly been for the good. I think a lot of people got tired of waiting around for one source to provide all of the goodies, or finally realized that if they could do it, better they than not at all.

Which, I think, is good.

I can't say I know what's going to work and what's not. I also don't know if there's any particular witness better suited for this over someone else. A witness decides to be one, and if they can get enough stake weight behind them, up the ladder they go. I'm not sure what it's based on, other than they somehow prove their worth. And right now, worth seems to be in development over any other thing. I think we need devs, but I think we also need others, some kind of healthy ratio so that not one particular segment is over represented. Hard to find that balance, since every bit of information you could ever want about a witness and how they feel about things doesn't really exist in any one place.

re: blame

Full agreement there. Pointing fingers doesn't bring solutions. Looking for solutions bring about solutions. And maybe not putting the people who broke it in charge would be nice preventive medicine.

For a brief time, I was advocating that the proponents of the EIP just start doing what they say they'll do after the EIP, and see if there were any effective difference for STEEM, its value, the community morale, they're ROI, etc.

My voice wasn't big enough on its own, and really, if you need incentives to do what you really should be doing, and say you want to do, there's not much of a chance it's going to happen, so anyway. We're in "anything is better than what we have, so let's do this" mode because "If it doesn't work, we can always undo it or try something else."

Seems like a lot of playing around with people's stake and future to me based on "just doing something."

So, here we are, with about three weeks to go before the hardfork takes hold, which means we'll be having this conversation all over the place before and after it happens for at least a few weeks more. That's if everything goes well with the hardfork (no bugs), and the EIP works (for all of us, not just the proponents). Otherwise, we'll be railing about this for months to come. :)

I'm really only here for a handful of blogs that haven't given up yet. Many who I enjoyed have moved on, and will be curious to see if the few remaining will find their way out after the fork. I moved my investment out months ago into what I believe is a more solid project, and only have house money here now. I certainly don't log in for the .83 worth of Steem I have earned in the last 30 days, lol.

Hope all has been well with you. How is the wife? I remember some time back she had surgery. Did it help her feel better, or are there lingering issues that will always haunt her? Sorry I forgot the why she needed it, just that she did.

Hey, @practicalthought.

If you had told me within a few months of starting here that I would still be here while others were not, I don't think I would believe it possible. Yet, here I am. Since I'm not the most social guy in the world, it surprises me even more, since I'm not so much in it for the camaraderie. That's not to say I don't enjoy it. It's just not the go to for me.

However, having a creative outlet is, and being able to get my thoughts and so forth out there is something I enjoy. I'd enjoy it more if the system was easier to navigate, and so on, but I at least have an inkling now about how things work, and where I stand in the whole glorious mess. :)

re: my wife

We're actually more or less a year since her surgery, and while she has had some pain from one of the larger repaired hernias, she hasn't said much about it lately. I think that might mean that it's either gone down enough that she doesn't notice it regularly, or she's got other things on her mind. That, she can't seem to stop, even to sleep.

No worries on not remembering what it was. It's amazing you even brought it up. Thanks for that. :)

I'm really only here for a handful of blogs that haven't given up yet.

Since your last excuse has expired I guess any excuse is better than no excuse. lol.

Like we are to believe this was your only account....you are way to smart for that.

This is a well written post, Glen. I’ve seen quite a bit of articles addressing HF21 and I’ll probably be just as pissed at myself when this one goes through as I was last time for not paying much attention.

I, like you, appreciate this platform as an avenue to create. Engaging and curating was learned and I truly appreciate them both. But tribes? I guess I’ve seen them, there’s a ‘tribe’ tab now at steempeak but I don’t know what it is.

I’ll stick around with you, sir, I don’t necessarily see Steem as the only place, it’s just the only place I know.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @dandays.

Cool. That makes at least two of us. I know. There will be more. The witnesses and the proponents of the EIP. :)

I would say it would be tough to keep up with all that has been written about this one. I've swerved into things thanks to having some fairly active people I follow resteeming things. As it is, the main thing to know is what I said in an earlier paragraph here:

  • The 75% of daily STEEM inflation making up the rewards pool will be reduced to 65% so that 10% can now be redirected to the SPS. So, less of the inflation will be available for both authors and curators.

  • The author/curator split is currently 75/25, but that will change with the EIP to 50/50. (If you've been tagging your posts with palnet, you're already experiencing 50/50). So, authors take another hit, while curators will have more to carve up amongst themselves. Probably won't make up for the lost to rewards on posts unless you do a lot more curation and/or manage to time curation well enough to maximize rewards. Then you have a slim chance depending on your SP.

  • The linear curve we've had since most of us have been here will become convergent linear, which as far as I can tell means that won't be linear to start, but will become so at a certain point. Where that point is, I'm not sure, but I believe it's based on the amount the post receives. This is the part of the EIP I know the least about, but it sounds like if rewards don't hit a certain amount, they stand to all be siphoned off, or more so than they are now, to go to other posts. Once they get past that amount, things go linear and level out. Or something.

  • Some free downvotes will be available thanks to a downvote pool being created. I can't remember now the number but it's more than one and less than ten a day. Five or six maybe? Anyway, it's supposed to incentivize big SP with presumably big Reputation Rank, too, to go after the spammers, scammers, phishers and farms because they won't be penalized for doing it. At least they won't lose VP for doing it. Being penalized will probably come in the form or retaliation, which is already happening.

  • These changes are all happening simultaneously as far as just the EIP goes because proponents said it wouldn't work if it was implemented piecemeal. It was either all or nothing.

  • For it to work, those who haven't been curating but leasing, delegating or otherwise farming out their SP for better ROI, will have to start curating, as well as those who are already doing it to continue. It's supposed to be adequate enough incentive for the former to do what the latter has been doing all along without said optimized curation environment.

Unfortunately, I don't think it's going to be enough. If you're making $50 doing nothing, but can potentially make $75 working 10 hours a day every day, will you give up the $50? Nope. Well, I'm not convinced there's more ROI in this deal to be had, so it's more likely to be something like $30 for 10 hours work versus $50 doing nothing.

I totally admit to being biased here, but I'm also claiming not to be stupid enough to have the wool pulled over my eyes. I will be among the very happily surprised and very much appreciative if somehow, someway, the magic math works. Other than that, I feel those who decided this should happen should put their money where their mouth is, walk the walk, and be held accountable.

How that happens, I don't know, since accountability seems to be the one thing people don't want to own up to. It's invisible digital money, after all, coming from the inflationary fairy dust no one has to do much to get. What's the big deal? :)

If things do go pear shaped as everyone suggests surely we still have the option of addressing it with HF22. It is one of the things that I most like about Steem is the fact it is always changing and these tweeks are necessary to find new better ways of doing things.Some may fail but others may not.
Of course I am anxious about HF21 but with the community behind Steem I'm sure things will continue to evolve.
In a personal perspective I am using Steem to document my work as an ephemeral artist, giving it new life on the chain. I am not saying it is the most ground breaking idea in the world but ii believe we can all find our own personal uses for Steem and try to evolve it in our own way,

Hey, @ammonite.

I agree that STEEM is there for all who would like to use it for some purpose. It's quite flexible and adaptable that way.

The issue I have with a try anything because what we have isn't working mentality is while the damage that may be caused can eventually be undone, it doesn't have to happen in the first place. And where do we go from here? I haven't seen any other proposals to make things better if this one fails, and why would we want to go back to the current "failing" system?

The main issue with all of this, as far as I see it, is how it affects the exchanges. Each HF requires an update from the exchanges to match, and they don't seem to like them coming frequently. How long is it going to take before the fix comes, whatever that is, how much damage will it do in the meantime, and how will the exchanges react if we go from HF21 to HF22 to undo it in less than a month, if that's even possible?

Based on what I've experienced so far, it will be at least six months before another HF would even occur, and that one is supposed to be slated for SMTs. Do we push back that just to undo something that shouldn't have been done in the first place because some people don't feel they have enough incentive to do what they should be doing already?

There's some people who think SMTs would mitigate a lot of the issues that we have. We'd be closer to having them if the EIP and the SPS hadn't been pushed first. So, I don't know. There's a lot out there to sift through and try to decipher what is and what isn't truth. You can add my reply to that mix. :)

Thanks for the well worded reply and I am sorry I am only getting back to you now. we are for sure in for some interesting times ahead and it is hard to get a true picture of how this will all work out until humans are put into the mix. I have always looked on it as an experiment and try not to get bogged down in the way things are.
I am maybe naive in thinking that there will be a code that can create a fairer more sustainable blockchain but I am willing to give up on what I have if it gets us there.

Hey, @ammonite.

No worries on the response time. I'm finding myself taking longer to get back to folks, too.

I agree. We won't know what it's going to do until humans are involved. If there is someone out there with blockchain coding knowledge who is taking notes of what's going on here and elsewhere, I hope they can see through all the distractions and come up with the right algorithm and combination of things.

Because of that human element, constantly defying the odds and resisting conformity, I don't know if I'm as willing to believe there's code for any of this, but one can always hope. We need something, and just getting people to behave within a respectable range seems to be asking a bit much at this point. :)

There must be some sort of code to keep humans protected for themselves. Unfortunately greed seems to be nurtured in many cultures as a way to succeed and now in blockchain Beta times it is an approach many are bringing to the table. I'm pretty sure that if we can find a balance and try help everyone grow that things will be much for sustainable.

And I agree. That's a human element, though, and so a majority of us, or a very active and vocal minority is going to need to lead the way out if we need to do it ourselves. If the EIP can provide balance all by itself through code, great. I've yet to see it happen, but there's always a first time for me. :)

I'm a little late to this post, but its very good Glen. I was going through Cicisaja's comments to find someone I was looking for and saw your reply to her... I'm glad I did.

I haven't been following the nuances of the upcoming HF, but have heard the grumblings... I like how you frame the thought process on it and believe its always best to have a conservative outlook going into anything unknown. Good job and great to see you getting the recognition on your thoughts that you deserve too! :)

ps... I assume you are still liking the new job!!! (and of course I hope so!)

Hey, @davemccoy.

Well, look who it is. :) And you found something of mine to comment on, too. Will wonders never cease.

I'm glad you found me, even if it was in a round about way. I read your recent post where you outline all the things that you hope (in my case, against hope) that the powers that be have learned or figured out or come to realize. I'd say that your topic and mine are pretty much in the same vein.

I don't know how much recognition it got. Not a whole lot of engagement on it, and the upvote amount is largely thanks to one whale, but it did get a few resteems.

Regardless, it's kind of retread of a post I wrote months ago, only with the added immediacy of the hardfork.

What's funny is, I'm concerned now about just how long they're taking on this. Without Steemit putting a hard deadline, we could go on indefinitely. This can't be the way production and product testing happens in the real world, can it? I get that this is a private company collaborating with paid volunteers (witnesses), with some others jumping in... I don't know. I just want to get it over with now.

I guess that's where proponents of the EIP have been for a couple of years, and while I don't follow any of them, they seem to be awfully mute lately, or surely someone I follow would have resteemed them in the last few weeks. Guess when you get what you want, you don't need to justify, reassure, or even begin to do now what you need to do after in order for it to mean anything.

re: the new job

Overall, yes, I still like it. It has some more stress than I like, but for the most part, I'm starting to get the hang of the things I do most often, and so now it's figuring out the stuff I don't do often and trying to be somewhat prepared for the unknown. Not easy, but I'm not yet two months in, so I think I'm at a decent spot right now and hopefully can keep moving forward.

First and most important, great on the job! I'm happy to hear its going well and I'm positive you will figure out anything that you feel is important to figure out.

And it was a good post for me in that your thoughts are more informed than mine and its great to know what you are thinking of how these changes are going to affect us. I happily retweeted for sure.

And btw, I rarely even go to steemit to read anything unprompted, but if I did you would be one of the authors I would read on a regular basis. ;)

Well, that's very nice of you to say. :) My stuff tends to be all over the place—can't focus in on any one particular topic—but I have been putting out a STEEM related post at least once a week or so. I just kind of like variety, and I think STEEM needs to be more topically diverse and less self-referential. :)

I actually agree with that. While I like to get my updates from listening to someone like you (so don't stop thinking about it anyways) ;) , I also tend to tire of seeing the same issues rehashed over time. I am definitely guilty of that and my post were way too focused on the health (or sickness) of Steemit.

I guess the next big thing will be what happens with the HF, lets hope it turns out to be a pleasant surprise!

a global transformation is coming, and it can either continue along the path it's been going, which is more towards a centralized, worldwide governance, or it can be upended completely and fractured into as many pieces as their are humans occupying the Earth.

My guess would be the latter as we have seen the events unfolding in France and the election of Trump here in the US. People are jumping off the globalization bandwagon and for good reason...they aren't into being treated like occupants of third world countries.

Some of us here, though, have bought into that dream, of borderless currency, the ability to transact without a third party, the opportunity to tap as an individual into the global market place, to free oneself from the shackles of any single governing body—

Looking to the future of public and private digital currency, in his book "The Curse of Cash" Kenneth Rogoff, economist, cites the lesson of history: when it comes to currency the private sector may innovate but eventually the government regulates and appropriates.

....those same sentiments have been ushered by SEC chairman Jay Clayton in his testimony before the Senate Banking committee, crypto currencies, having value fall under the same regulations of other Fiat.

Through the years, technological innovations have improved our markets, including through increased competition, lower barriers to entry and decreased costs for market participants. Distributed ledger and other emerging technologies have the potential to further influence and improve the capital markets and the financial services industry. Businesses, especially smaller businesses without efficient access to traditional capital markets, can be aided by financial technology in raising capital to establish and finance their operations, thereby allowing them to be more competitive both domestically and globally. And these technological innovations can provide investors with new opportunities to offer support and capital to novel concepts and ideas.

History, both in the United States and abroad, has proven time and again that these opportunities flourish best when pursued in harmony with our federal securities laws. These laws reflect our tripartite mission to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly and efficient markets and facilitate capital formation. Being faithful to each part of our mission not in isolation, but collectively, has served us well. Said simply, we should embrace the pursuit of technological advancement, as well as new and innovative techniques for capital raising, but not at the expense of the principles undermining our well-founded and proven approach to protecting investors and markets.

https://www.sec.gov/news/testimony/testimony-virtual-currencies-oversight-role-us-securities-and-exchange-commission

Hey, @sunlit.

This is why I get a little antsy when people start talking about how the technology can't be stopped, that it's basically just going to steemroll the governments and that will be that, or somehow, hit them while they're not looking.

Well, I find either unlikely, and since it appears blockchain and crypto are already on the radar, and have some regulation in place, it might not be much longer before there's much more of it in place.

Which for me will be too bad. It will essentially cease to be the bloodless revolution it's meant to be as it is subsumed by the same powers of which it was created to free us.

I really think that the enthusiasm of that probability causes people to get lost in the hype itself. There was never a bloodless revolution, one just has to look at the whales and the power they hold within the system, no different then the outside establishment, and the witnesses are the middlemen and they are paid quite handsomely for being the middlemen. But hey...it sounded good while it lasted right? lol.

Yeah. Maybe the real thing will come along after these fits and starts. Or maybe everything gets clamped down from here, and we lose our chance.

As far as the middlemen go, last count, it wasn't so handsomely as it would be if STEEM was valued higher, so really, if what they're doing is helping the whales, it's not helping the middlemen much to do it.

Until they get a higher percentage of the inflation. Maybe that's where the bulk of the SPS will end up... :)

I don't know really but I have a feeling that this hard fork might help improve things. It seems to be putting more emphasis on those who hold stake rather than the ones who produce content. Perhaps less rewards being paid out on content producers will push the tide over to the investors/capital holders. The SCOT tribes are made up more of holders and have different reward splits so my guess is that these tokens will generally be held more than dumped on the market. Less steem on the market should help drive up the price.

The only thing I don't care for really is the increase in the ability to use flags. I tend to like to reward good behavior rather than try to make up some creative new punishment to get people to do what you want, lol. (It seems to work better for raising kids anyway.) :D I would probably remove the down vote all together, it does not seem to be very effective imho and tends to aggravate new users who don't know the system well. Certain accounts just love to down vote and are relatively immune to any payback because they never post anything.

The system kind of allows some behaviors that people may not feel is beneficial to everyone such as only voting for yourself. To me there is not much difference in this than a wealthy capitalist going to the mailbox each month and picking up their dividend check and just spending it on themselves. There is really not much you can do about it if they don't want to be philanthropic.

I think that if people wanted to reward others and were happy to vote for them, things would improve without the need for down votes especially if those who receive the benefits are grateful enough to the community that gave them to pay back a bit.

Hey, @litesplasher.

Thanks for the comment. Plenty of good points. I can only hope you are right about the EIP. My feeling is, more will have to go right for it to work than what may even be possible, but we'll see.

I don't know if we're far enough into SCOT tribes yet to judge success. I also know I don't have the means to measure what's happening there like I do with STEEM. I think steemworld will be adding that as a feature in the near future, so maybe that will help.

Also, SCOT tribes have more than just versions of a 50/50 split and payment curve. They also have other prerequisites like a curation trail does, something STEEM as a whole doesn't have. Be it full blown moderators or community policing, that's bound to help, too.

I'm in agreement with you on the downvotes. I know they are representative of what happens on reddit where they push the post up or down based on user sentiment, but when any type of money is attached, or in this case the promise of future rewards after seven days, its prickly even for us oldtimers. :)

I've been trying to figure out how it applies to the real world, especially markets, but in each case, the players own something, and either buy more or sell it based on their sentiments. In the case of downvoting, as with upvotes, we don't own what we're allocating. We own our stake, which determines along with the market value of STEEM and how much other stake votes up or down what we allocate, but all of that is coming off inflation into a reward pool that than gets mixed around over the week.

I guess in the case of the STEEM-Engine tokens, you're actually earning the token, with the chance of staking/powering it up if you choose, as opposed to earning all SP or half SP automatically, in conjunction with SBD. So, too me, doing that is better economically as is, because you're transacting in the actual token.

I still have no idea about what will i do after the HF21 except keep playing splintersland as I used too. Keep trying my best to be a dolphin anyway though i know it must be really hard then.
My question...my confusion is about the free downvote... what's the use of it? Are we fighting each other within communities on steemit?

Hey, @cicisaja.

The free downvotes, as I understand it, are part of a three pronged proposal to increase ROI for higher SP to incentivize them to curate. The downvotes are principally meant to offset self-upvoting, bidbot votes, circle voting, etc., etc. In reality, while there may be some folks who are deemed crossing the line with how much they self-upvote, use bidbots or circle vote, I'm going to guess that there will plenty who will continue to get a pass.

Retaliatory flags, however, ones given to comments or posts simply because someone offended, ticked off, or retaliated will probably increase simply because they can without affecting voting power, or the potential to earn curation rewards.

What that will mean within communities, I don't know. Certainly those who are appointed or will be to police their own tribes, tokens, communities, whatever, will be able to use the free downvotes to do so. How that happens will be for each individual and community to decide. What could go wrong? :)

I wish you the best of luck with becoming a dolphin, though. How much harder it may or may not be after the hardfork is yet to be seen, and there's still nearly three weeks to keep playing splinterlands. As it is, I don't know how much gaming will be affected by any of this, so who knows, that might be the best place to be.

Howdy sir Glen! Are you going to stop posting as often like many have said? I have no idea how you keep posting so much while working a full time job!

Hey, @janton.

The more that people stop posting, the more my posts can be seen, as long as there is still someone around to see it. We're told not everyone is a creator, so hopefully that's true and the curators won't feel like they have to post because they can start making more on curation.

No, I'm not buying a shift in human nature with the EIP, but I do like to post, and so I'm going to keep trying to do it. At the moment, I'm more in it for the SNAX than I am for the STEEM, simply because I can earn more of those with a post than I can otherwise.

So, I don't know. I think it's too early to quit anything without experiencing what the hardfork and its proponents are going to do, and so I'm here into the foreseeable future anyway. I like writing. This is the longest I've stuck with a blog in my life, so I'd hate to just give it up.

re: posting and working

It's been a challenge, definitely. A lot of late night posts. I need to get ahead of it and start writing the night before and getting the posts scheduled to publish during the day. That means using something other than Steemit, and for all the features it lacks, it's still the one I find I like the most. :)

Howdy tonight sir Glen! I agree, since you love posting and writing then this could be good for you and those who continue. I would really welcome not having to post as often at least in the summer months when I'm working outside more. Besides writing feels like work to me. lol.
Work is going well?

Hey, @janton.

I don't know that I ever really know exactly how work is going (not a lot of input from my direct boss), but I think I'm catching on to things, and still needing work on some others.

Posting can seem like work. I've hit that barrier a few times already. When that happens, when there's no enjoyment or fulfillment, then it becomes tiresome. I don't think there's anyone mandating you post during the summer except you, and whatever desire you might have to keep up on earnings, the contacts you've made, the engagement that produces, etc.

Besides, it's got to be hotter than blazes out there by now. Don't you get to quit the yard work yet? :)

Howdy today sir Glen! You haven't heard from anyone above you at your company about how you're doing? Like someone saying you're doing great or something? I'm sure you are, especially compared to the regular guy out there because people miss work all the time and aren't even dependable.

I think they knew you were going to do great so you're a good fit and they aren't surprised because they had confidence going in.

As far as posting, it's the best way to keep earning and growing my account so that keeps me pushing it. I told myself that I'd not post everyday when I hit rep70 and that's still my plan. Not that rep70 means that I can slack off from then on. lol. That's just a goal I have.

I guess I should have said that "for right now" posting is the best way to earn and grow. I have no idea after the hardfork. Maybe I'll slack off after the hardfork. But like you said, if people are planning on doing that, then that makes our posts stand out.

Well, that's the theory, anyway. If the number of eyeballs plummets along with with amount of posts, well, then it's pretty much awash, though it should still make us more visible to the rest remaining. I don't know.

re: how I'm doing

It's been awhile, quite a few weeks, but at the time, both the office manager and the owner said I was doing fine. The owner said he'd heard it from others, so I he could have heard it from the office manager for all I know.

I haven't been told that I've been out a lot of cash so far, so that's good, and to date, I'm only aware of one place where I left a window open (but nothing seemed to come of it, so that's good), and I still have all my keys and the van is in good shape, so I think the critical things are being covered.

Howdy tonight sir Glen! What do you mean, you haven't been told you've been out a lot of cash?

That's a good thing. There are usually some kind of discrepancies between what's reported from the machine's bill and coin counters and what actually ends up in the bag. I don't know exactly how much in any case, but I imagine it's not more than a few dollars. When it gets off by multiples of that, they would probably ask me if I didn't write down a counter wrong, or maybe put money in the wrong bag or something.

So, as I said, so far, I think I'm doing okay there. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95