You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After HF21, We Will Need A Reason Other Than Rewards To Stay On STEEM

in #community5 years ago

I still have no idea about what will i do after the HF21 except keep playing splintersland as I used too. Keep trying my best to be a dolphin anyway though i know it must be really hard then.
My question...my confusion is about the free downvote... what's the use of it? Are we fighting each other within communities on steemit?

Sort:  

Hey, @cicisaja.

The free downvotes, as I understand it, are part of a three pronged proposal to increase ROI for higher SP to incentivize them to curate. The downvotes are principally meant to offset self-upvoting, bidbot votes, circle voting, etc., etc. In reality, while there may be some folks who are deemed crossing the line with how much they self-upvote, use bidbots or circle vote, I'm going to guess that there will plenty who will continue to get a pass.

Retaliatory flags, however, ones given to comments or posts simply because someone offended, ticked off, or retaliated will probably increase simply because they can without affecting voting power, or the potential to earn curation rewards.

What that will mean within communities, I don't know. Certainly those who are appointed or will be to police their own tribes, tokens, communities, whatever, will be able to use the free downvotes to do so. How that happens will be for each individual and community to decide. What could go wrong? :)

I wish you the best of luck with becoming a dolphin, though. How much harder it may or may not be after the hardfork is yet to be seen, and there's still nearly three weeks to keep playing splinterlands. As it is, I don't know how much gaming will be affected by any of this, so who knows, that might be the best place to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87