You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: After HF21, We Will Need A Reason Other Than Rewards To Stay On STEEM

in #community5 years ago (edited)

I'm a little late to this post, but its very good Glen. I was going through Cicisaja's comments to find someone I was looking for and saw your reply to her... I'm glad I did.

I haven't been following the nuances of the upcoming HF, but have heard the grumblings... I like how you frame the thought process on it and believe its always best to have a conservative outlook going into anything unknown. Good job and great to see you getting the recognition on your thoughts that you deserve too! :)

ps... I assume you are still liking the new job!!! (and of course I hope so!)

Sort:  

Hey, @davemccoy.

Well, look who it is. :) And you found something of mine to comment on, too. Will wonders never cease.

I'm glad you found me, even if it was in a round about way. I read your recent post where you outline all the things that you hope (in my case, against hope) that the powers that be have learned or figured out or come to realize. I'd say that your topic and mine are pretty much in the same vein.

I don't know how much recognition it got. Not a whole lot of engagement on it, and the upvote amount is largely thanks to one whale, but it did get a few resteems.

Regardless, it's kind of retread of a post I wrote months ago, only with the added immediacy of the hardfork.

What's funny is, I'm concerned now about just how long they're taking on this. Without Steemit putting a hard deadline, we could go on indefinitely. This can't be the way production and product testing happens in the real world, can it? I get that this is a private company collaborating with paid volunteers (witnesses), with some others jumping in... I don't know. I just want to get it over with now.

I guess that's where proponents of the EIP have been for a couple of years, and while I don't follow any of them, they seem to be awfully mute lately, or surely someone I follow would have resteemed them in the last few weeks. Guess when you get what you want, you don't need to justify, reassure, or even begin to do now what you need to do after in order for it to mean anything.

re: the new job

Overall, yes, I still like it. It has some more stress than I like, but for the most part, I'm starting to get the hang of the things I do most often, and so now it's figuring out the stuff I don't do often and trying to be somewhat prepared for the unknown. Not easy, but I'm not yet two months in, so I think I'm at a decent spot right now and hopefully can keep moving forward.

First and most important, great on the job! I'm happy to hear its going well and I'm positive you will figure out anything that you feel is important to figure out.

And it was a good post for me in that your thoughts are more informed than mine and its great to know what you are thinking of how these changes are going to affect us. I happily retweeted for sure.

And btw, I rarely even go to steemit to read anything unprompted, but if I did you would be one of the authors I would read on a regular basis. ;)

Well, that's very nice of you to say. :) My stuff tends to be all over the place—can't focus in on any one particular topic—but I have been putting out a STEEM related post at least once a week or so. I just kind of like variety, and I think STEEM needs to be more topically diverse and less self-referential. :)

I actually agree with that. While I like to get my updates from listening to someone like you (so don't stop thinking about it anyways) ;) , I also tend to tire of seeing the same issues rehashed over time. I am definitely guilty of that and my post were way too focused on the health (or sickness) of Steemit.

I guess the next big thing will be what happens with the HF, lets hope it turns out to be a pleasant surprise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87