Red Fish, the 1% or Middle Class

in #community6 years ago

Steemit is full of talkers and people who always run with someone else's good idea when it is of benefit to them. That could be pretty awesome if those same people were doers and made things happen in place of just making posts about ideas and collecting votes on them.

Fishing-Teamwork-Children-Together-Young-Boys-1807511.jpg

All those people are on the blockchain talking about what we should do and many of them have the power to make that happen but they just keep collecting rewards while just talking about ideas while never doing anything to make the change. Most of them are also the pushers of self-voting and not using bots even though many of them got to where they are by using bots themselves.

Your self-vote does nothing but remove rewards from your voters, it doesn't matter when you place the self-vote time-wise, it takes away rewards from one side or the other with each self-vote. The larger your self-vote is the more you remove from the curation pool of your voters. That's fine if you don't care about the growth of anyone except yourself and your friends you trade votes with.

It's all math and algorithms. It doesn't matter what your feelings are about it, you can't change the math of what the blockchain records and pays out. It the same groups claiming they want to make changes and doing everything to ensure they grow with very little real concern about the true growth of anyone outside their tiny circles. Those tiny circles which ensure they grow each day without concern for the rest of you who are throwing them votes believing all of the bullshit they post about communities.

Fuck it, if people are too stupid to see through absolute bullshit, shame on you. These types of things happen every day and is a part of life and those who know how to get over on others will always prey on those who are too dumb to see facts past what they are being sold.

That being said @hitmeasap, @simplymike and I have pledged 9 of our own Steem to help another user above 450 SP reach the magical 500 SP mark. We were quick to get help from a few members and we quickly turned three more users into full-time Minnows. We are not looking for anything in return with this project except making more Minnows for the health of the platform.

Not everyone can afford to give up 3 Steem per week to the project and that is 100% fine. You can do something just as valuable to help. You can help spread the idea, resteem the post and submit more users to us who are close but struggling to break 500 SP based on the low prices of Steem. You can drop the links to our post into the comments sections of those who are always talking about making a middle class but doing nothing but collecting rewards on the idea and not giving back.

This whole concept is about growing the community and weeding out those who talk but don't take action. I am coming up on my 1 year anniversary and would like a few more users made into minnows if possible before that time comes in 6 days. I had a witness pull my transfers since I started, I have transferred over 2,000 Steem or SBD to other accounts as prizes or gifts since I started. I am not sure how many of those users are still around. I am starting to see that amount of money could have been put to a much greater cause like making minnows out of accounts which are almost there but not quite to the finish line. I delegate out over 1/2 my remaining power as well, it's not about the money.

Do you know someone who is at or above 450 SP who is an active user? Are you above 450 SP and an active user? Drop some names, thoughts and idea's below. We need the community to help make this a success, are you a community member or are you just here for the rewards?

Sort:  

I started, I have transferred over 2,000 Steem or SBD to other accounts as prizes or gifts since I started.

My God. I have nothing to say but thank you for who you are and all that you do

Am getting to 450SP soon. I may not need the push but I certainly would not have come this far without you...thank you

I would be more than happy to get you the final push once you get there. There are many people it would be a no-brainer to push forward but we had to make a starting point and it ended on 450. Still trying to figure out a handful of things to look for but it will all work out with the help of the community.

Sadly, it seems that those of use who want change will have to make change. I applaud what you're doing to help people become minnows; @simplymike was one of those who helped me on my way when I was brand new here.

I'm blessed to be the beneficiary of a delegation from one of Steemit's early adopters (who's NOT a big player), which "effectively" makes me a minnow, and it does make a difference — I know this from firsthand experience. Still have a ways to go to "true" minnowhood.

Those of us who care about building community (rather than just "taking profit") have to just "keep on keepin' on." The way I see it, every 5SP I power up is 5SP NOT in the hands of some bidbot...

=^..^=

This project is my 1st interaction with @simplymike and @hitmeasap.

I have been in close interaction with a lot of the talkers since I joined. That is my fault for having my head in the sand so to speak. I have been aware that many say one thing and do another and I watch a few do it daily. Now is the time to expand my network to those who see the real value in building the next set of minnows and not just talking about doing it.

Bid-bots are a whole nother discussion but they are not all bad nor are they hurting Steemit, there are enough accounts to zero out every bid-bot buy if they cared to do so. It is easy to blame them but they are not the honest problem if people cared to address them and make them obsolete.

Sad but true. I was going to vote on a post tonight when I saw the author plonked his/her vote down immediately. I didn't comment or vote so it was their loss.

It takes a while for people to catch on to everything that goes on around here. It is just a matter of taking off the blinders and really looking at the facts and not just their words.

Yeah upvoting yourself would make me feel all dirty . It’s like giving yourself an medal. Give me a couple of weeks and il throw you a few steem for your project . Seems like a great idea.

I am trying to come up with the best way to say this... For I am among those who have benefited from the 2000 gifts and many more... Thank you old friend!

I am also currently 'soaring' here with your +200 delegation and recently got @eye4art from you (which you still support as you still support this account).

Having all this in mind then seeing more projects like this one is what makes me think you are too real for a platform too robotic. I am here to thank you on behalf of any life you've ever changed one way or the other on this platform. Trust me when I say, 'we' all APPRECIATE you so much :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @erodedthoughts!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation! Your UA account score is currently 4.918 which ranks you at #1098 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (Your UA has decreased by 0.000).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 161 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 40.94% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erodedthoughts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85