Strangers Have the Best Candy

in #community6 years ago

Attic-Roof-Windows-Stare-Out-The-Window-Boy-2777582.jpg

I write this with the best intentions. I grew up poor but I never did without the basics of life. I learned early how to get by with what I had and never really wanted more. After decades of working, I have not really changed. I've never bought myself a new car, never owned a new computer, never paid for a cell phone or really anything personal over a few hundred dollars in my entire life. For others yes, but not for myself.


Blood-Bullet-Hole-Crime-Injury-Bullet-Glass-Shot-262105.jpg

I've always worked hard and played even harder. We suffered a personal loss in 2015 and my mind hasn't been right since then. Around mid 2016 my body said enough and has been in a slow decline since. I go to the doctors a few times a week to try and get better, little by little, one thing gets fixed and another breaks. This is why I have been so grateful we found steemit. It is something we can both do and make a little money while meeting new people and building friendships. There is no physical strain to earn here. Mentally and emotionally, I often think it's worse than FaceBook with all the drama. That all gets wiped away when I lose myself in chat or over some video games with other steemians. I remember what is awesome about the place. I don't really have a reason for coming to steemit other than someone telling me about it. I know why I stay, I wish more people had my experience here. We don't have much but I try my hardest to touch as many accounts as possible

Homeless-Book-Cover-Loneliness-Digiart-Composing-1979293.jpg

I've always been a giver, even when it means putting myself out. I never worry too much about money. They are always making more, what is the big deal? I would probably be homeless if I didn't have my wife to reel me in now and again. She is just like me when we know the person. It is a blessing she is less social than I am or we would be homeless.

Steemit is opening doors for us that I thought were going to be closing on me as I am probably going to end up being labeled fully disabled this year. I already qualify but I am fighting it as much as possible. I don't like to give up, I am not a quitter. So with a little luck Steemit can provide our basics in life and let me keep my pride as a working man. I need to be that example for the little guys in the house, the older ones have watched my decline.

Sepia-Laugh-Woman-Composing-Old-Photo-Monkey-2925179.jpg

I am sorry for rambling to you guys, I had to do our first offical crypto withdraw today to cover some bills. It is sad to sell in place of powering up but life has it's own path and all we can do is follow it. We also got some random help from another steemit user that we don't even really know other than a chat here or there on the talk channels. It shocked me and than I remembered where I was, steemit is amazing and steemians are a whole other level of awesome.

Many believe, as we evolve, we will transcend into oneness with the universe. I have a strange belief that we are all one fractured soul, continuously being further separated by bad choices of self. That oneness is lost, and maybe we are working our way back to that hive-mind consciousness in the future but that time is not now. There is still a separation between the have's and have-nots. Values placed on things that have no value.

Today, I got a huge return dose of karma and I am very thankful that I live as I do and others walk the same path.

Sort:  

I don't know your details, but I can tell you that my husband @briancourteau and I have walked a similar path. We have always been givers and worked hard to take care of ourselves and many others along the way. He was diagnosed with cancer and a few other things that landed him on the full disabled list too, and it's been a constant struggle since. We packed up and moved from Canada to Mexico about a year ago because the writing was on the wall for him, and in the process found steemit and began to share our story...something not easy for either of us. We have been overwhelmed by the love, support and concern from people here; in fact, there was a fundraiser of sorts held for us by a friend here (we had no idea and at first were somewhat embarrassed by it all), but soon discovered that we alone carried the shame, because no one here did at all. It's been an eye opener on so many levels, and it's all something I will never forget.

We really are all one in this world, on steemit and off, and I'd venture a guess that our paths crossed for more reasons than to judge a contest together, although that is a pretty awesome reason in and of itself :)

I just starting following your story in depth after reading the post by @davemccoy. I found it late but I felt the passion in his words and felt great to be part of the community that reached out so well. You like me would never ask, pride is one of the 7 deadly sins. I always figure if people are paying attention and want to help they will do so.
Yes, there is a lot of love here, the system makes it easy for those who want to share to be able to do so with the click of a button. The money isn't the important thing for many of us. It does help tremendously but it is only money, so much of us walk away with so much more than money.
We will end up in more activities as we progress here on the platform, we all need people. It's easy to weed out the good from the bad if you pay attention to details.

pride is one of the 7 deadly sins.

That's a good perspective; it helps me to accept people's help. "Never ask for help, especially money" was drilled into me growing up, so it's a tough thing to do now, but thinking of it in terms of being a 'deadly sin' makes it much easier for me now. Thank you for that.

I've watched Brian fight to not go on disability, and I've watched how that combined with his illness has become a constant struggle for him in terms of 'feeling like a man'. I have a feeling you and him are very similar in some regards...he too has worked hard and played just as hard or harder his whole life, and has a lot of self-placed expectations that are getting more and more difficult to achieve.

I'm thankful to be working with someone like you on this contest, and yes, I believe our paths will be intertwined from here on out. With a little sifting, it's easy to find the good ones :)

My belief that we are one fractured soul means we have mirrored parts all over the planet. Slowly the pieces will be drawn to each other. There should be no need for shame for people who need help. There is only so much people can do if they are not aware of other peoples needs.

My personal reason for not asking for help is not an issue of pride, it is compassion. I know and see people way worse off than I am and would feel like I am slighting them by taking what could do more good else where. That is also why I have spread my SP around to others and won't self-vote. What is a gallon of milk in a self-vote is a day's meals for a family elsewhere.

People always say Karma is a bitch but as you've seen first hand by the communities support karma always comes back around when we really need it. You guys have always lent the helping hand when you could and when you needed it, the law of three provided what you needed.

I can sympathize with your situation, I have seen it up and close first hand. Every family member I have lost since birth has been to cancer except one. The one who lived the longest was the one who didn't take treatments for it. I am so proud of Brian for choosing to fight the cancer and not poison himself into a shorter life. That has always been what I have told my wife I would do in that situation myself.

I know many of us feel blessed to have gotten to know you guys and be compassionate support in your time of need. Providing extra support is what friends do. Steemit is not a business for everyone on the platform and that is the only reason it has survived. We take pride in protecting our own around here. Never feel ashamed for being loved by your friends.

Where have you been all my steemit life? :)

I love your idea of being

one fractured soul means we have mirrored parts all over the planet.

Such a beautiful image and it's one that I too believe in.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Brian tried chemo once and it was a year I do not wish on my worst enemies (I have none actually, but you get what I mean;). The doctors wanted to continue but we said no, never again. His quality of life has been so much better without that poison coursing through his veins.

We take pride in protecting our own around here.

I feel the same and continue to do that where ever and whenever I can.

Never feel ashamed for being loved by your friends

Those are words I will never forget. Thank you!

Edit: I meant to ask, who is your wife? She's on steemit?

I've been bouncing around all over steemit, lol. I try to cast the net super wide as there are so many awesome people here.

I am glad you guys only went through a little of the Chemo, that is a shitty concept to heal people.

My wife is @imaginedragon

That's your wife!! I love connecting the dots here :)

haha I get the super-wide net too!

Yes, it makes no sense whatsoever, poisoning someone to heal them. It's akin to "I hit you because I love you"...very messed up.

Love and light :)

I am in tears because I so relate to a lot here. The irrational giving, finding Steemit at the right time plus how it has brought me back my pride. I don't withdraw much from my acc but it's way better and it helps a lot. Thank you for sharing old friend. I wish you health and endless joy :)

Ps. Your wife is an amazing woman. I may not anything about her personally but from your reads I have gathered enough to know that to be true.

irrational giving

That is a way I never looked at it before. I am always glad when you chime in as I get a different perspective of thought. This is one of the many reasons we get along so well. I don't mind people who withdraw, the system is designed to give you spending money (SBD) and investment power (SP) It will be nice to get to the point where we only have to withdraw a little to live a normal quality life while powering up the rest.

Ps. Your wife is an amazing woman

Indeed she is, I am glad she hasn't killed me ;)

Castrating you was more than enough : O

A patient woman she is :D

I am really glad that you found steemit and have been able to use it to help supplement your income a little. Maybe more important I'm glad you have been able to build your little community of people who you enjoy spending time with and helping each other. This really is the hidden benefit of steemit IMO. Where else do you go and find complete strangers who become friends from all over the world?

I am glad I found it too. I couldn't agree more, the money is the low-value item of the platform. Votes are awesome but votes or just good interaction is much more rewarding on the social aspect of the platform.

Sorry to hear of your troubles. I grew up dirt floor poor and my dad was disabled then went to prison during my highschool years. I work my ass off just like you describe and give with everything I have. If there is anything I can do to help let me know. My only fear in life is to be disabled. It would kill me. I have no fear of death but to feel I had no worth to any one would destroy me.

Becoming disabled doesn’t take away one’s worth to others @doomsdaychassis.

No it does not. I did not mean it like that. I meant it would take away my own self worth. I personally would feel worthless. Hell I am able bodied and feel worthless a lot of the time already.

I have come across a handful of people who thought like that prior to becoming disabled. But then, the opposit happened. They embarked on a never ending journey of self-discovery where they acctually realized and learnt about self-worth.

As for you, well, just through this small interaction I am having with you ... I dare to say you are wrong in finding yourself worthless a lot of the time. A hard working person who has gone through the experiences you described here during childhood and high-school years, and still has enough kindness to offer help to others indeed is worth a lot!

Please allow me to suggest something: direct a little bit of that kindness towards yourself :)

I've still got enough juice in the tank to keep pushing forward at this time. The world is full of givers and takers. Finding like minds is step number one. It's steemit as long as we keep interacting and reading the things will work themselves out. We just can't get lost in all the opinions from outside the regular circle influencing us.

I fear becoming deaf, more than anything, music is a large chunk of my heads storage of memories.

:)

I wish you all good, brother!

Followed and resteemed.

A touching story, dear my friend @erodedthoughts...
Indeed we should not have to worry too much about money ... because the more we give, it is often the more we get....
Yes, togetherness can often overcome various obstacles ...

Hope your time is great in the future...☕🤗❤

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Can you remove me from your "curation list" This is really starting to feel spammy and scammy.

I asked them the same. There is now an option to reply back to their comment with “STOP” to stop receiving their spam comment.

Perfect, Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00