Tin Angels.......

in #community5 years ago (edited)

By random chance during this past Christmas season, I came across an angel tree topper on ebay that I liked and decided she should be mine. I was fascinated with her wings and 3 tiered skirt that are made of pressed tin, reminiscent of the old tin ceiling tiles. The ribbon that runs across her arms is also made of tin, but her torso and head are some sort of ceramic. I don't know if it is porcelain or not.

There are no marks or company names on her anywhere that I can find, but as in lots of things I buy second hand, for the fun of it I surfed the net, trying to find her maker or more like her ..... something..... anything. I never was successful at finding anything, even though I am usually pretty darn good at that sort of thing.

Angel 1.jpg

In using "tin angel" as part of one of my search criteria, I did eventually come across this big girl. Although the previous angel was listed as "vintage style" ...... I'm not sure she is actually vintage, but this one, I believe is. She is ALL tin, including her head. You can't tell from this single photo, but she is quite a good size piece. If she was made to be a tree topper, she would have needed one hefty tree to have been a good proportioned topper. I believe in the end she is my favorite. Although it was not my intent to start collecting them, I decided I had to have her too. :)

big tin angel.jpg

After that, I searched every few days for more, just for the fun of it. Being all or partly made from the pressed tin that looked like vintage ceiling tiles was the main requirement, but also not just being flat. Although I didn't intend to acquire any that were small, ornament size, I also bought the pair below. They were just too sweet to pass up.

tin angel ornament pair.jpg

After Christmas I also bought the pair below. I wasn't really sure I wanted any with cutout words and I wasn't sure why someone would make some with words and then have the angels arms partially cover up those words, but alas..... I got them too. Their heads are wooden though and need a little touch up.

tin angels with words.jpg

Although besides the ornaments, the rest of the angels are not small, you can see the different in the size for the all tin one in the center. Pardon the bad color of my photo, she is really not that dark, but you can see how she compares. In the end, the first one I bought is the least like all of the others, with her ceramic torso.

tin angel group.jpg

With the words I used to search, there really didn't seem to be that many ceiling tile/pressed tin angels out there. (That weren't the newer rusty or galvanized ones) That is what kind of made the hunt fun though. Although I have not been that big into collecting specifics of any kind of thing as you then have to have somewhere to display whatever you choose to collect, it looks like this may be the beginning of just that !

I don't guess it hurts to have a few angels hanging around...... right ?

Funny how you can never give a second thought to a specific thing and then something draws your attention...... and POOF..... you think you have to have more.

Hope you all had enjoyable holidays, however that you celebrate.

Love ya !

Jacey

do something fun today

Sort:  

Wonderful.)
for some reason I like these figures most of all.) But the rest are also good.)
And all together they make up a good composition.))

Oh! These are amazingly beautiful! I would definitely scoured the internet if I had even thought about it. My angel that was given to me on my first Christmas away from home (from my now deceased great aunt who I was close to) Anyway... she stopped working this year. I was so heartbroken, I put her up anyway, but, know that I will have to do the inevitable and look for another this year.

I may do exactly that. Just check out the internet and see what I can see. You scored, big time. I'm in love with them!

!tip

🎁 Hi @jacey.boldart! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: The Sea Is Calling And Sailing On Tall Ships Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91