No more Dust Threshold! | Here comes @dustsweeper!

So over in the Newbieresteemday @davemccoy dropped in and talked about a new project that he and
@danielsaori worked and I was simply blown away. The idea they developed a system that would help rid of dust threshold in comments. It will swoop in and spray that comment.

image.png

Source

About almost a month ago @timcliff talked about raising the dust threshold Proposal to make spam less profitable

If we increased this threshold up to 0.10 SBD, or even 0.25 or 1.00 SBD - then posts/comments that did not receive sufficient votes to pass this threshold would receive zero payout. This would likely decrease the incentive for users to create spam.

The idea was to raise it high enough to deter spammers. While the idea was for something good, it was frankly anti-minnow because when we started out most of our post would be less than a dollar. Most of my post at the start got about 0.06 and even lower so by increasing it to 0.10 or even as high as one dollar then you just turned to dust majority of what minnows get in the platform.

Although the proposal has been abandoned there is still the matter of the dust threshold which is any comment or post that is upvoted and is less than 0.02 on payout it becomes dust and is destroyed.

Oh boy, people were absolutely furious and I was one of them and I wrote a piece about it under You are a Zero | The Dust Threshold So I decided to do something to ensure that I was properly rewarding engagement in posts not just in mine but in others as well. You see a problem and you come up with a solution and not just complain about it.

So I am changing the way that I reward people that I engage with. In my posts I will make sure that it reaches 0.03 cents and this would mean I would upvote less in comments outside of my posts. It will lower the number of votes that I will be able to give out as I will maintain my Voting power to the same limit I have.

Now for those Steemians that have their upvote value is 0.01 only instead of upvoting a good comment you can reply to that and I suggest you check the person out and if you find a post still within payout that you life upvote that and comment and maybe that person becomes an engager and a fan. Win-win!

Enter @dustsweeper

Dustsweeper is a community bot run by witness @danielsaori
This is a joint project by @davemccoy and @danielsaori and it's supported and operated by witness @danielsaori. The goal behind this service is to help the newbies and minnows get paid on the votes they already have, not to make a profit. The fees we charge should equal the cost to run the service and lease the SP to make those votes. If the bot makes a profit, then the surplus will be used do other things to help the community.

The premise is if an upvote on a comment that you did does not reach the dust threshold then the @dustsweeper bot will upvote that comment and upvote it by 0.028. Where does it get the power to upvote it you may ask? It comes from a deposit you send to it which is about 1 Steem or 1 SBD. It will track the balance and will send you a memo when you are nearing in using up your deposit.

What would stop someone from upvoting their own comments and using the bot to upvote the rest of comments and make sure it is past dust threshold?

As with anything new, there will be bound to be some people that will look forward to abusing this but I am confident that they will be able to make regular checks and balances and if someone is caught abusing it then they are blacklisted or punished accordingly.

Abuse Precautions Taken
First, we would hope that people wouldn't scheme such a helpful program to help people get paid for upvotes that fall into the category of dust. But since we are aware that there are sometimes people prone to coming up with such schemes, we will be on the lookout for it and use tools we have worked on to minimize abuse of the system. Naturally, this will be a work in process as with every day that goes by we will have more data to sift through and put the proper systems in place to progressively improve the program.

Absolutely brilliant and indeed this would come from a tandem of Dave and Daniel. I have been looking into Daniel and what he has been doing on the platform and he is active in terms of engagement, supporting worthwhile projects and generally just looking out for minnows and redfishes.

This latest project just cemented it and I have sent my 1 SBD to test this out as well as made a change in my witness vote and added @danielsaori. You, Sir, is a class act!

Thank you also @davemccoy for always looking after the community and being a visionary.

If you want to read more on this click on this link [ANN] Introducing Dustsweeper. A new service to turn Dust into Profit.

ono-communityvolunteer.jpg

Footer by @ameliabartlett

MAVERICKINVICTUS.gif

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers
Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income
Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

I read Tim Cliff's article, too ... and it didn't sound like he realized he was giving away the deep, dark secrets of Steemit when he wrote it. But yes, it certainly got a lot of attention. Like thousands of others, I had no idea votes of less than $.02 were essentially flushed away like used toilet paper.

As with you, it changed the way I use my votes to other people. It certainly changed how I see the way people vote me. I have really tried not to see a $.01 (or less) vote from someone who can clearly give more as being something other than a big steaming FU, but a recent incident has made that margin of tolerance lots harder to find. (Not relevant here. Moving on.)

I have three accounts. One has a $.01+ vote. The other is basically brand new. So I go through the posts and comments I upvoted from them and "crop dust" those myself with a vote from my main account which can drop $.02+ and boost theirs into some kind of value.

When I need to "burn votes" from those accounts just before I call it a day, I go to accounts I want to support and put these tiny votes on posts / comments with $$$ already on them.

That's done with the attitude of "maybe it helps, maybe not, but I tried." It has certainly strengthened my resolve to get the value of these two recent accounts into "payout territory" as quickly as possible.

I am glad the truth of this situation came out -- even if it was mostly by accident. Sad though to know back when I got to the point where I could upvote someone and actually see something change ... it meant nothing.

The-STEEM-Engine

Thanks for posting this . I dashed over to @dustsweeper and contributed.

No worries and I am happy to let people know when there are good projects.

Thanks for the heads up, @maverickinvictus! Many good things arising from that dust vote dust up. ;)

So this would be a kind of back-up service to have in place for times when voting power is low and we can't give the $0.02-$0.03 minimum vote we're all trying to do now, right?

Indeed getting that discussion really brought something good for everyone.

Oh no this is in reverse so when you have a comment that other people upVoted you on that is on pay out and will be reduced to zero it will come to upVote that comment so that it gets paid out .

I like what I've read here, I will look into this in more depth for sure, dust is an issue and this just maybe the start of a good solution.

Indeed the dust threshold was a problem especially for redfishes and minnows who often upvotes comments on their posts and of course most of us just have 0.01 so the dustsweeper is an awesome bot that helps find a solution for it.

We feel good upvoting and we have it that it is not wasted.

Just signed up, look forward to seeing this in action. Thanks again.

As soon as i heard about @dustweeper and understood what was it about, i went ahead and sent 1 sbd straight away :-D

Yeah Froggy Bro! It is a great service to us!

A great initiative, I sent over 1SBD 2 days ago and am seeing the results already. Comments now have an additional vote on them, often sending them to $0.05 which means of course we get an author rewards. I will be fully supporting this scheme by Dave and Daniel.

Heres one I got earlier:

Yeah me too! an hour after I sent my 1 SBD I got a vote and then another and then another hahaha. Most of tyhe people I comment on are minnows like me and so I might have to send another SBD soon ahahha that 71 votes is going fast!!

I think it might have some teething problems as some of my $0.00 votes are passing by and not getting the second vote. I have commented in the main post about it. You might want to check yours are working properly. It could be down to VP on the bot.

Oh I'll inform Dave and Daniel about it and I did see that Voting Power was around 60+ so that might be the reason especially if they set for it to stop at a certain level to help recharge the Voting power.

Thats a great idea, I do like the concept of it

Indeed it is a wonderful concept for the community!

I have been reading several posts about this. It is good to have more good bots on the platform!

I agree man! This is one good bot initiative just hope that grumpy cat might think it is abuse since it is a bod that upvotes on the 6th day.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thanks for this! I learned something so I'm grateful :)
This sounds like a great program to start to help out minnows. Big thumbs up!
Ivy

No problem Ivy and this is a wonderful project that Dave and Daniel are involved in and really shows they care for the community.

And I truly love when people care for the community because I try to do the same :)
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95