It's 2:00 am - Do You Know Where Your Future Is?

in #community6 years ago (edited)

Living in a rural agricultural town in Eastern Colorado, and being awake at 2:00 am, really pushes the 'excitement' envelope let me tell ya! They roll up the sidewalks at 5:00 pm around here and the only thing open this late is the 7-11 which, for some unknown reason, has the WORST coffee East of Denver!

So why am I here? I ask myself that question often!

Over the past 40+ years, I lived in many places. Lousiana, Florida, California, Minnesota, and traveled to 42 of the Lower 48 States with a few excursions outside the U.S. along the way. Living in, or around, larger cities much of the time, and quite enjoying the amenities they have to offer, I find myself returning to a town where the nearest Wal-Mart is 60 miles away!

There are 'logical' reasons why I base myself here. I met my wife here almost 35 years ago. Her parents, and most of my family, still live here. While these aspects are important to me, they are not what has prevented me from packing up the wife and moving someplace with an "open late" Taco Bell!

So, what is it then, that keeps me returning?

It's fairly simple . . . community!

I can walk into almost any store and be greeted by name. People smile and say hello when you walk by or wave as you pass on the street.

But it is not just people knowing your name or being friendly. From L.A. to Tallahassee, Minneapolis to New Orleans, I have found that is possible in almost any situation - providing you seek it out.

No, there is 'more' that keeps me coming back.

It is here that I can find the support needed to reach beyond where I am today and seek new opportunities to grow and expand. People may think I am "that crazy old hippie", but take the time to actually 'listen' to what I have to say. Not only do they listen, but also add their input to help me make the most from some of the hair-brained ideas I have had. And, at times, make me realize that not EVERYTHING that I think of will work!

Community. People working together to find common ground and expand everyone's horizons is more than a 'location' somewhere. It can be a physical place, such as where I live, or virtual. Becoming part of a community can be had in many places, in numerous ways.

It's not easy, though, being a part of a community. It takes effort. You have to reach out to others. Become active within the community itself, and offer what you can along the way. Sitting on the sidelines, looking in but taking no action, only limits the true value that can be had.

Everyone talks about opportunities. How difficult it can be to find, build, and profit from them both economically and as a person. And yet, each and every day, we are given the opportunity to become 'part of' a community and, many times, we close the door and walk away.

From building multiple businesses to learning how to make a 'killer stuffed brat" for the open barbeques we hold, would never have been possible without first having become part of the community, and opening myself up to the possibilities that present themselves.

Yes, I have found my place from which I can continue to grow and explore other, new, communities as well. Ones such as can be found right here in Steemit, waiting for me to 'take action' and become involved in. Building the relationships that allow me to not only learn from what they offer but, when possible, add to it so that others may as well.

I will walk the eight blocks to 7-11 in a few minutes, down the empty streets of a town long since asleep. But it's not the crappy coffee that takes me out tonight. It is knowing that my future continues right here, and to see what Alice (the night clerk) thinks of my latest idea!

Sort:  

wonder if we could use that same ‘feel’ of community here on steem?

crazy thoughts ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nah man, it's what makes it work!

Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Being from a small town, this post hits me right in the heart. Community, a place to feel at home and safe to be yourself not many things can beat that. I moved to a place that is "not home" and there are times when I long for that feeling of community I had so long ago there, but as you said there are many other places to not only join but become a part of the community. Thanks for the reminder, and now I must reach out to others more..

Reaching out is the hardest part! We have to realize that we need what that can offer and take action.

You are on the right path. There journey only gets better as you go!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Richard Sounds like it is a great community that you are living in. I know the neighbors around me to say hello to and to help out with little favors. They in turn help us with favors as well. That is just in our little section of our city. We just keep growing our little community.

Posted using Partiko Android

The community aspect can be found everywhere. It is up to us to to help it grow, often though the small things that we do.

Helping others has it's own rewards. Glad you are able to be part of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Smaller communities are great if you find the right one. Having lived in very large cities to small hamlets most of the time I would take the hamlet. I agree that steem can be that hamlet if you work at it.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Indeed it can @ericburgoyne!

Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Community is such a valuable aspect of life... one of the things that Gloria & I do when we seek a church to attend is volunteer immediately. If we enjoy the "community" we continue... if we don't we seek the community we do enjoy. But, one of the things Gloria learned at one church we attended was what her gift is... I knew what it was... but, she needed to learn for herself! We attended a class to learn what your gifts are... she discovered her gift was hospitality. The interesting part is that church never used her gift even though she signed up to volunteer... but, she learned a valuable lesson! She discovered her gift... that has since changed her life and perspective. So even a bad experience in a community can lead to great growth! Bing in a community that you are appreciated... well is it really a special situation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55