You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25 sbi prizes for no self voters!

in #competition5 years ago (edited)

How about you start with not buying votes. Then you can move on to not self voting once that is accomplished. That would be a lot more honest way to go about things, since you're tag is "Let's be honest time". Because doing it the other way is backwards and a false virtue signalling as far as I'm concerned.

Sort:  

You are entitled to your opinion and I am entitled to give away what I want in anyway I want to, just because you do not use bidbots does not mean everyone else should not, just saying, sort out the owners not the users Mr witness.

I will never understand why people think buying votes is bad. People earn SBD and Steem for their posts. Or at least they used to earn SBD. I think at least spending that on, say, buying votes is perfectly reasonable and it's what I might expect someone to want to spend it on.

To me, the problem isn't buying votes. It's buying votes for shitty posts. If you post something pretty good and you want more than 1 person to see it, buying votes is an excellent idea.

Not everyone has the luxury of being able to sit atop the mountain and curse the people at the bottom for trying to climb up however they can.

Not everyone has the luxury of being able to sit atop the mountain and curse the people at the bottom for trying to climb up however they can.

Bang on point, "some people" Can make a post about fruit or herbs and be guaranteed $'s some of us can not!.

Hi @krnel, @shepz1, @oh-high-mark

will never understand why people think buying votes is bad

We're on the same page here.

Upvoting bots are one of very few promotion tools people have on this platform. And it really bothers me that big whales and those who follow their mindset are so heavily against them. Obviously without bots entire trending page would be dominated by them so presence of upvoting bots is like a needle in their eye. Only this way common users can be "seen" and many of those power users do not like it.

It may be really hard to find anyone who doesn't self vote himself or never use voting bots. Without them traffic on Steemit would drop to all time low levels. Is that really what we want? To follow our "principles" at all cost? Even if it would means that most people would abandon Steemit?

ps.
I use bots and I self-vote myself always around 24-48h since I publish anything. I give all curators plenty of time to upvote first and then Im boosting payout knowing that I may hardly make any penny, but all curators will get some extra reward.

Cheers
Piotr

You think I would be on trending if there were no bidbots? No. The top whales are selling their votes, not voting for content. If you remove bidbots, those who sell their votes by delegating to bidbots would be forced to go upvote other people's posts, and those posts would get more rewards without having to buy them. More diversity would be on trending, as opposed to just the people who buy votes. That's the reality.

Since when does buying $10 of votes that many people do, get them on trending? It doesn't. It only gives them more rewards. Unless you spend a lot, then you won't get more visibility to end up on the top of trending page.

Earning your way is dead when all you need to do is buy your way. Don't you think people should merit their attention and rewards because they merit it from others giving it to them (from the community), not because they buy it?

There are what amount of whales on here? 27 is it? Even if they pulled their votes/delegations from bots, 27 trying to manually curate 100's of thousands of people is never going to work.

You are fortunate in the fact you were here early, you are probably supported by orcas and the like with auto votes, like meesterboom is, you can both write about a fish and be guaranteed $'s the rest of us can not.

I only have 1 orca support in v4vapid, and I am thankful for that.
The network mindset on here is a failure when it comes to newer and newer people as there is only 10 votes per day per person at 100% and the more people that join, the less likely they are to get votes from "the tag a friend and network brigade"...

Whilst bidbots are here people are going to use them, especially when it comes to them paying a profit at times.

If the witnesses want them gone, surely it is up to you guys to talk to each other and work a way to rewrite this code and get them gone, that is not something any of us none witnesses can do.

How this turned into a bot debate in the first place is beyond me!

How you dragged me in to your debate about people who can write shite about anything, a fish was it? And get auto votes.

What are you saying then? That I shit post?

No, I think your posts are excellent, just using old members of steemit like yourself as a basis for my theory, that the longer you have been here, the more chance you have with regards to being on "the old boys" network of autovotes, and also how newer people do not have said luxury.

If you are so fickle as to be "offended" like oh so many people are nowadays I will gladly edit your name out., No biggie.

I am not 'offended' I was asking a question. When someone mentions me in relation to writing shite, I usually do so.

I hope your not upset that I responded? :0)

Great comment @krnel, @shepz1

We're both definetly on the same page here.

If you remove bidbots, those who sell their votes by delegating to bidbots would be forced to go upvote other people's posts, and those posts would get more rewards without having to buy them.

I also am seriously worried , that it would mean that some of those whales would decide to leave Steemit and dump their STEEM bringing price to all time low.

Yours
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91