Vulnerability: The Vehicle that Moves Us Between Shame and Empathy

in #connection6 years ago (edited)

I know we're all up to our ears in Brene Brown, but if you haven't seen this video clip, in which Brown differentiates guilt from shame and speaks to shame's role in destructive behavior, here's your chance to rectify that ASAP:

"Shame is far more likely to cause destructive behaviors than to cure it. ... Shame is highly correlated with addiction, violence, aggression, bullying. It's not helpful to be ashamed ... shame corrodes the part of us that believes we can change."

Shame is not an effective motivation for change: that's some vital insight right there. But the most powerful takeaway from this clip for me are the insights on connection and the relationship between shame (a form of disconnection) and empathy (a form of connection):

"If you think of connection as the thing that gives purpose and meaning to life, on one end you have shame and on the other end you have empathy. I think what moves us between these is vulnerability. Vulnerability is about "how do we sit with uncertainty? How do we sit with fear?" ... If you can figure out who are when you're backed into vulnerability, it's one of the greatest gifts you can give to yourself and the people who love you."

For me, the image of vulnerability as a vehicle that facilitates my movement away from shame and disconnection toward compassion and empathy (for myself, for others) and greater connection (to myself, to Source, to others) gives clarity to an emotional mechanism that I know to be true for myself from past experience. When I find myself shutting down or withdrawing (my favorite go-to methods of self protection when I am feeling hurt, fearful, or vulnerable), it might be helpful to pause to acknowledge that I am feeling unsafe. I might then consider what sort of safety might give me the courage to to move in the direction of reconnection. Can that sense of safety can come from within myself, or can I ask for reassurance and support, or both? This act of self compassion could transform the way I relate in difficult moments, giving me choice where reactivity has reigned in the past.

Similarly, when others are lashing out, withdrawing, blaming themselves or others, avoiding an issue, or otherwise being difficult, what if I had the presence of mind to pause and reflect on (and maybe even check in with them about) whether they might be feeling unsafe? And if this is the case, what might it look like to hold the strength of a safe(r) container before continuing with whatever difficult conversation inspired the constriction in the first place?

That sounds like some deep compassion and wisdom to me.

I'm curious to hear what insights you gleaned from this clip, or about any experiences you may have had in moving toward connection or empathy via vulnerability.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thelynx! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Valuable piece of information. It all starts with being aware and recognize the shame, fear, disconnection and vulnerability.

For a long time I was ashamed of my fear. Even to myself I couldn't admit that I was scared, because it was combined with shame. Shame is a horrible prison. Shame wants to be kept inside a person, not coming out, staying there and eat from the inside, making you do sneaky things while hating yourself. All unaware.

Since a while I'm able to admit that I'm scared sometimes, I'm able to recognize it instead of putting it away. I'm even capable of talking to others' about my fear now.

Interesting idea, to use vulnerability: Hide it inside yourself or use it to find more connection and meaning.

I appreciate your openness and vulnerability here. Reading what you shared about how you notice yourself acting/reacting in situations where you may feel unsafe, sends my own mind into thinking about the ways I observe myself when I’m not feeling safe (often because my inner child/teenager is afraid of something). Empathy for myself and others feels like deep wisdom to me too. And offering empathy to someone who is feeling vulnerable is also vulnerable. I love Brene Brown’s work and how you emphasized pieces here. Thank you for posting this Lindsay!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68