Be Yourself When Blogging: Why it Matters and How To Do It Well!

in #content6 years ago

Be yourself. When you're writing content, you're writing to other people, and people connect with other people. The more you can be yourself while blogging, the better the chances that you will connect with the people reading what you’re writing. And developing a connection with someone can turn them from a stranger into a fan. And fans will be more than happy to buy whatever it is you’re selling, upvote your posts, and comment back and forth with you. But you have to sell them on you first.

Blogging Post.png

Regardless of what you’re writing a blog post about, you need to insert little bits of yourself throughout the post. This is easier said than done, but with a little practice, you’ll be sprinkling bits of yourself in everything you write, and what you write will be more powerful because of it. Here are a few tips for being yourself while writing blog posts:

Share a Personal Story

We learn through stories. Sharing a story in a blog post engages your audience and creates an instant connection. Just think of the way you feel about your favorite directors and authors—you love them because they’ve found a way to entertain and engage you, and bring you into their story.

If you don’t have a personal story or personal experience with the topic you’re writing about, you either need to be really good at research and find other ways to connect with your audience, or you should pick a different topic to write about. The easiest way to insert yourself in a blog post is by sharing a real-life example or telling a story connecting you with that topic. Not only will the reader learn something about you, they will also gain trust in your knowledge of the subject.

Admit Something

The act of writing for other people to read is empowering, and it can cause writers to talk down to their readers. Don’t get so focused on being an expert that you forget to be a human. I like to admit things in my writing to show the reader that I’m just like they are (because I am) and I make mistakes and suck at things too (probably even more than my reader).

As long as what you’re admitting to doesn’t strip away the interest or dissolve the trust of the reader, like a paramedic admitting they cheated on their exam and have no clue how to give you CPR, feel free to admit something. The more personal, the better.

Insert a Footer

A footer or bio inserted in your blog posts can give your audience a snapshot of who you are and why they should care. The above footer is from a LinkedIn post from Steven Rosen. It promotes his personal brand, expertise on management, and promotes his success guide. This is something I've failed at here on Steemit, but I plan on fixing that with a permanent footer.

Your blog posts need to be about your reader, but that doesn’t mean you can’t add information about yourself. Add a footer to your posts (or a bio line at the beginning) that give a few sentences of background and a link or two for people to learn more about you.

Add a Picture or Video

Another way to give a reader piece of yourself is by visualizing something for them. Add a picture to your bio or footer or add a quick video to your blog post. This may be the last thing you want to do (show pictures of yourself), but as a reader, we appreciate being able to see the author.

Offer them Something Personal

If someone gives you something, you remember them. If you can give your audience something of value and of a somewhat personal manner, you instantly create a stronger bond with that person. Giving something personal away in a blog post sounds odd, I know, but this can be as simple as an offer to email you directly, schedule a free 15-minute phone call, or invite them to a live webinar you’re hosting like Vikki Thomas does in the image above. Give them opportunities to get to know you better while gaining value from that exchange—you’ll both be better off for it.

This post is based on an article I published on LinkedIn several years ago. Read the original here.

Steemit Image.jpg

Opportunities to Earn Cryptocurrency

  • Bethereum: Social betting platform Bethereum (which has a unique coin and working beta), recently reopened their fun bounty program (you can even bet your bounty points on sporting events. Over 20,000,000 coins are up for grabs. Join the bounty program here.



  • Presearch: Earn PRE tokens for searching, and you can start with 25 free PRE. Presearch is building a full decentralized search engine and they already have a very useful search tool that you can use today and earn coins for using. Click on the banner to get started and click here.

  • Earn.com: Earn $1 in Bitcoin each time you complete a small task. Join here.

Sort:  

@michaelluchies
Being genuine is according to me the best thing to do here on the Steem blockchain! It will make it easier to connect to others!
As you can see, my nick here is very sports related, but in the first three months I didn't post anything sports (betting) related. I was only writing about crypto and steem and was afraid that I would loose some followers by start writing about one of my other passions!
So it was great to actually start doing it! I did loose some followers but got some great ones in return!

Cheers,
Peter

Great comment. I've gone back and forth on topics as well just based on my followers instead of really letting my passion lead the way, which is what I'm trying to do more of now.

It is understandable but we have to remember that is our blog and it is just so much more fun to write about passions. The writing itself also becomes a lot easier because the words just pop up 😁
On the other side we all have to run our blogs like small businesses, and the followers are to be treated like customers. But if we would only follow that line we would offer a product with lower quality!
Cheers,
Peter

upvote

Thank you my friend

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Well thank you.

I quote everything. I'ts just what I'm talking about in my posts! It's not about content, but about style, emotions ed experiences. It's this what people want to read about! Thank u for your post!

I don't actually have idea what to write about. I don't know much about cryptocurrencies. So, at the moment, I am still writing about place that I have been or things that I took photo. Okay, probably it falls down to photography, but I am an amateur photographer.

Write about whatever you're interested in or what you think others would benefit from (as long as that still interests you).

If you had to give a 30 minute speech about any topic in the world, what would you talk about and why? Try starting by writing about that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97