You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: GUESS WHAT WE ATE TODAY... AND GUESS WHAT IT TASTED LIKE!

in #contest5 years ago

Winged bean!!!

You're literally the first person aside from myself that I've seen growing it.

Aka asparagus bean, though I never thought they tasted a thing like asparagus.

I grew them in Florida a couple of times, mostly because pretty much the whole plant is edible, and the beans themselves are useful in several different ways.

They can be eaten green as pod beans, shelled green, shelled mature and brown (dried or not), and the mature beans can even be dried and ground to use as flour.

The leaves can be cooked like spinach, and the roots can be used similarly to potatoes, both of which are tasty.

Most of the people I know who eat the beans in the pod pick them younger, at two or three inches long, but they are reportedly high in nutrients, and when I've had them they were quite good.

I must confess that I mostly ate them at the home of a friend, who was Cuban, so lots of garlic was involved, but I used them in stir fries a few times, and they lent a fresh non-beany taste to the mix.

I didn't cook the leaves much, because I also grew chaya, which was far more prolific, but I'm planning to put some in next year, and I'll feed some of the leaves to my rabbits and chickens.

I did use them in vegetable soup, along with the beans and roots, and I'm still here, so it worked out well. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65