GUESS WHAT WE ATE TODAY... AND GUESS WHAT IT TASTED LIKE!

in #contest5 years ago

I'll give you a clue.... we grew them!!!


This was a completely brand new experience for all of us, and we were very surprised by the results. I dedicated some precious time, effort, and garden space to a brand new plant that we had never tried before, without even knowing if we'd like it. Then, today, finally, we harvested a couple to do a taste test on, and sure enough, it's a winner.

Now, do you know what kind of food this is? Can you guess what it tasted like? Try taking a stab at it. Correct comments will be upvoted.

NEW, INTERESTING GARDEN FOOD PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

Winged bean!!!

You're literally the first person aside from myself that I've seen growing it.

Aka asparagus bean, though I never thought they tasted a thing like asparagus.

I grew them in Florida a couple of times, mostly because pretty much the whole plant is edible, and the beans themselves are useful in several different ways.

They can be eaten green as pod beans, shelled green, shelled mature and brown (dried or not), and the mature beans can even be dried and ground to use as flour.

The leaves can be cooked like spinach, and the roots can be used similarly to potatoes, both of which are tasty.

Most of the people I know who eat the beans in the pod pick them younger, at two or three inches long, but they are reportedly high in nutrients, and when I've had them they were quite good.

I must confess that I mostly ate them at the home of a friend, who was Cuban, so lots of garlic was involved, but I used them in stir fries a few times, and they lent a fresh non-beany taste to the mix.

I didn't cook the leaves much, because I also grew chaya, which was far more prolific, but I'm planning to put some in next year, and I'll feed some of the leaves to my rabbits and chickens.

I did use them in vegetable soup, along with the beans and roots, and I'm still here, so it worked out well. ;-)

Posted using Partiko Android

My first guess would be a cousin of okra...but then we don't get okra here so I'm probably way off! You grow some really interesting veggies @papa-pepper and if it tastes good then I'm really intrigued to know what it is. AND if we can get it in SA

Just put one up about what it is.

Those are dandelions and they taste like tiger.

I'm so terrible at these games.

I'm not really sure what that is this time. Looks like some kind of a cactus species? Maybe tastes like a cucumber.

Are you sure you live in the USA? Most of the stuff you grow I have never seen or heard of before. :)

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yow! That was my favorite vegetable! We call that in my country "SIGARILYAS" in English "WINGED BEAN"... We do steam or included in other vegetable ingredients. (^_^) Harvest when it color light green because when it color dark green, it tastes bitter and it is hard to bite unlike the light green is soft and tasty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87