Torn between…. (PowerHouseCreatives Contest)

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

I am privileged to be part of a number of communities on Steemit. Before I get going, I must say that I am not nearly as active on the platform as I’d like to be. I could quite happily spend all my waking, ahem, working day on the platform, trawling for interesting posts, engaging with their authors and writing my own. Alas, I can’t do that because I have a relatively demanding offline life and, as many of you know, writing long posts and meaningful comments on thought-provoking posts takes time. So for me, it’s a bit of an all or not enough situation.

This brings me to what is that I am torn between…and unlike Mary Macgregor, I’m not feeling like a fool

That Poll

In the last six or so weeks, @theycallmedan has run two polls in which members of Steemit could vote for the community they felt could best benefit from delegations of substantial amounts of Steem. In both instances, and like with political campaigns, there were two stages to the vote: a nomination phase followed by a vote. Continuing with the political campaign analogy, one could have only one vote.

Call me old fashioned, but my choices are often based on ethics and loyalty. In this case a third factor came into play: a longstanding (pre-Steemit) friendship. I did, however, feel conflicted as there are two other communities in which I participate from time to time and which could also have benefited significantly from either of those delegations. Both were nominated for the second poll. This was the source of my conflict and the rationale behind my participating in this contest.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Two things important to me are: the extent to which the underdog is undervalued (ha! I hear you say - that’s why s/he’s the underdog….) and the other is our planet. I was fortunate to have a Geography teacher who, more than 40 years ago, was warning of the dangers of global warming (then known more commonly as the greenhouse effect) and extolling the virtues of recycling. I also grew up in a household where kitchen vegetable waste was was always composted. When I left home, it did not feel right hurling vegetable peelings into the refuse. It still doesn't. We compost. Whether it’s my salmon nature or my Scottishness, I’m not sure, but if I could live comfortably (and without the huge capital outlay) off the grid, I would.

So other than the Power House Creatives, the two communities that are close to my heart, are the Global Homesteaders Collective (@ghsc) and Pay It Forward Curation (@pifc). What connects all three is their ethics and commitment to helping and supporting others. In other ways they could not be more different.

Global Homesteaders Collective

The Global Homesteaders Collective's mission is global and they operate both on the blockchain and off, and have plans for elsewhere on the interweb; that said most members have their feet firmly on the ground on their homesteads or gardens and kitchens in the case of us wannabes. The discussion in their Discord is about real life issues confronting members on a mission to lead a self-reliant life. I have happened in when there have been long and detailed discussions about how to deal with anything from an errant bovine (really!) or a poorly duck, to projects that will use discarded pallets. Not because it’s fashionable (as it is in South Africa) but because it’s inexpensive and practical.

They look out for their members by finding support and raising funds for folk who fall on hard times. When it’s busy in a homesteader’s lifecycle, like spring or harvest, it’s quiet in the Discord channel.

Where did it begin?

I gather that unlike some Steem communities, GHSC began over a real life coffee conversation between husband and wife team, @freedompoint and @freedomtowrite and @steemcafe; this post sets out their vision. I do know that there is discussion about both a website and a token, but things haven’t reached a point where things are available for “public consumption”.

Among their work on Steemit, is a series about featured members. Where possible, this is a weekly event and the selected member is also rewarded with

a 75% payout, along with upvoting their posts 100% for that week

Imagine my surprise when Stacie (@freedomtowrite) nominated me? I cannot claim, by a long shot, to be a homesteader. You can read the interview here. It was fun and made me think about a few things.

I so enjoy my occasional visits there and always come away with a feeling of genuine care and that folk were happy that I popped in. Oh, and @nateonsteemit, I hope that piggy toe is feeling better?

Finally, a mention of Power House Creatives who are also members of GHSC include @simplymike, @goldendawne, @thekittygirl, @bluemist and others I’ve probably missed because our timezones don’t jive.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Zord said we could have one entry and that we should share the love. He didn’t restrict us to one community, so in that spirit, the second community in which I really would like to be much more active:

Pay It Forward

Most of us in PHC remember our early days on Steemit and how we struggled to get going. Many of us were knocked hard by both the crypto crash and then Hardfork20, but we have hung around because of the engagement and the people. While there are curation initiatives that focus on quality, what @pifc does, is in some ways very similar to PHC: it is concerned with quality and it focuses on plankton, redfish and minnows, helping them to swim in the sometimes very murky, rough Steemit currents.

I am privileged to have been twice nominated by members of PIFC. First by @reonlouw. At the time I was so new to the blockchain and how it worked, that the implications and the profundity of the selection were lost on me. Belatedly, @reonlouw, thank you for that. The second time I was selected was by @viking-ventures who also happens to be a member of @ghscollective and was, for a time, member of PHC, but withdrew because of other commitments. I have spent a little time in their discord. Their work and their mission really resonate for me.

What or who is behind PIFC?

Aptly, the person behind @pifc is @thedarkhorse who came Steemit as an investor curious

to see whether STEEM was a coin to invest in.

After lurking for a while I started making some posts and building a few relationships. As a few people started coming to my posts and some relationships were built I was hooked. It was the engagement from others that hooked me.

That sounds so familiar, doesn’t it?

He took it a step further because he wanted to give back, so The Dark Horse ran what he believed would be a short-lived contest; it snowballed.

Serendipitously, he has recently penned a post about how this initiative evolved here and how it has grown and here.

PHC members will not be surprised to see that our own @lynncoyle1 was also one of the brains behind that beginning; another PHC who contributes significantly to this initiative is @bengy, as does @viking-ventures (no wonder she finds PHC’s rules onerous...she’s working hard elsewhere andon the blockchain!).

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Thanks to @thedarkhorse and @freedompoint who answered my questions and provided the links that have been invaluable to my cobbling together these brief introductions. I hope they provide some insights into two communities that work hard to enrich the lives of Steemians - and beyond.

text16.png

Should this entry win, or receive an honourable mention, that income will be shared equally between these two communities.

text16.png

There it is - until next time Fiona The Sandbag House McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma

If you're a compulsive Instagrammer like me, Share2Steem and earn

Let me help you for blog posts any writing in English Rates depend on the depth of edit required

DM me on Discord

More about why I am offering this service here

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Thank you for featuring @pifc. Always nice to get a little publicity...hopefully a few people come over and enter the Curation Contest.

It really was my privilege and I do hope so.

Hi @fionasfavourites, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @ghsc, @pfic and @lynnecoyle1 don't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @ghs, @pifc and @lynncoyle1 ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

It's amazing how we are all connected here on steemit within certain communities. We all strive to be the best, work together and share common interests and goals!

It occurred to me, @goldendawne as I was developing this post that there are folk on the platform who do good, are good and have a common set of values. That is good. The question is: how do we harness that and retain its integrity?

AMEN ! I am Working on mine and Thanks for highlighting the nicest communities I love @pifc

Oh yes, I knew there was at least another PHC - sorry I missed you out, @brittandjosie.

Thank you for stopping by!

No I am blogging I just haveto little time 😬😬

Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 500
You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Great post about 2 communities that I too admire.
I have recently moved to a town that is just outside of Sydney. I fancy myself as a potential homesteader (I even used the tag once when we planted our lemon tree which was a house warming gift from my aunt ). It is great to be somewhere with a sense of community.
I'm in Australia and have never been to south Africa, but my mother is originally from south Africa. She doesn't speak of sa much, so I enjoy learning about it from steemers.
I arrived at PHC right in the thick of that campaign, it was definitely an experience, a powerhouse for sure. Having lurked around steemit for almost 3 years I too saw the worth of many groups, all groups really, it is the rich diversity and the fluid interaction between them that is great.

@girlbeforemirror

Hello, Marge

Do you by any chance blog on Wordpress? I ask because I seem to remember someone in Aus beginning to blog about their move from the city. That must have been 3 or so years ago when Inwas still active on that platform.

On another note: there are lots of Saffas in your part of the world. At one stage I was working with the uni in Newcastle and was supposed to do a Ph D through them. Anyhow, it didn't happen. A school friend of mine lives there, too. I have friends from school and uni who live in Melbourne, Brisbane and Canberra as well as one who married a farmer from Mypolonga - met when they were both traveling after school. She's been there since.

Oh dear, I am warbling on! I am glad to meet you. Am not as active in these communities as I would like to be as I have a bit much on my plate.

Thanks for stopping by and look forward to read more of your work.

Posted using Partiko Android

@girlbeforemirror

Hello, Marge

Do you by any chance blog on Wordpress? I ask because I seem to remember someone in Aus beginning to blog about their move from the city. That must have been 3 or so years ago when Inwas still active on that platform.

On another note: there are lots of Saffas in your part of the world. At one stage I was working with the uni in Newcastle and was supposed to do a Ph D through them. Anyhow, it didn't happen. A school friend of mine lives there, too. I have friends from school and uni who live in Melbourne, Brisbane and Canberra as well as one who married a farmer from Mypolonga

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!
No I haven't used wordpress. I have never blogged before steemit, I was even late to the facebook party, only got an account a few years ago.
We moved from the city 3 months ago, we are still adjusting. We are only just outside of Sydney. A lot of people have moved to the fringes, such as Newcastle actually. It has become very desirable, as it is close to Sydney but not the crazy prices. Our real-estate market just keeps ballooning, when everyone else toppled with the GFC we kept climbing. It is leveling off, but has by no means reset.

I'm surprised you didn't mention Perth when you speak of expats. I lived there for a few years. Big community of Saffas. I like that term Saffas 😊.

Am in the throes of a trade show. Will reply properly in a day or so :)

Posted using Partiko Android

There are so many good communities in this platform, I am blessed to know them as well, even though I am not active in discord, but they do lend a hand whenever you needed. Thank you for sharing this wonderful post @fionasfavourites!!

Beautiful post. I hope you do well in the contest.
It's so hard sometimes because there are so many great communities on Steem. So many great causes.

It means that choices must be made, so I choose ones where I can contribute in a significant manner to help others - and maybe also so that I can get some extra support too, as I still struggle to get much between curies. Still, I always wish I could do more!

Thank you for mentioning two groups I dearly love - @pifc, of course, and @ghs.

My pleasure, Lori. I hope that it makes a little difference. Thank you for your kind words - as you see, I was quite torn. I hope that as things settle to make a more meaningful contribution on the platform.

So sorry I didn't see your article sooner Fiona. I understand the situation you were faced with only too well as it was similar to the one I faced too. I'm not able to spend a lot of time in the Discord channels as my artwork takes time, but I love dropping in on the GHSC and the HSCO as often as I can. This planet is crying out for people to take care of her and people living in accord with nature is a wonderful way to do this. Like you, I'd love to be living off the grid, and maybe one day this 'dream' will come true. Till then we do what we can on a rented property in the suburbs ~ Which can be quite a bit actually. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

No worries @allyinspirit. Thanks for stopping by. Of you feel so inclined, check out one of my more recent posts including the last two which feature talented artisans from my village. Including one who makes decor from jacaranda tree pods

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87