@Gandhibaba FLASH FICTION CONTEST Week #1

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

unnamed (10).gif

Hello everyone, welcome to the first edition of the @Gandhibaba Flash Fiction Contest. I am organizing this contest because of the growing need to promote short fiction on the Steem blockchain.


What is a Flash Fiction?

Flash fiction is an extremely short fictional work. An average flash fiction can be read in three minutes.


This Week's Contest:

In not more than 100 words, write a flash fiction on the topic, "We Escaped".


Contest Rules and Submission Guidelines

  • All entries MUST be posted as a comment to this post. However, participants may share their work elsewhere.
  • Upvote and Resteems are not compulsory but may be used to decide a deadlock.
  • Only ONE entry per user is allowed.
  • Only original works will be considered. No plagiarism.
  • Only Contestants who follow these rules will considered.
  • Entries will close by 24 hours to the payout of this post.

Rewards

  • The top two entries will get 1STEEM each and an upvote from @Steemitcentral worth $0.4.

  • Entries will be selected based on the following key criteria:

  • Rereadability

  • Creativity

  • Grammar

  • Clarity


SUPPORT CORNER

Kindly follow the peerless vocabulary lessons delivered by @majes.tytyty and get rewarded with some upvotes for your participation.


Are you a minnow and you're already thinking of giving up on Steemit? Please don't quit. Kindly follow @Steemitcentral and use the steemitcentral tag in your posts to get some upvotes. Join @Steemitcentral on Discord

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg


I am @gandhibaba, the young man who goes about carrying his magical pen, not his gun, in his pockets.

Gandhi banner (925px, 25fps).gif

Gif courtesy of @artzanolino


Thanks for visiting my blog. I appreciate your precious time.

Sort:  

We stumbled, skin battered and bruised from the branches as we ran, heedless of the pain. This was our escape, having been locked in the dark cabin for months. Tortured daily, wondering if we would see daylight again.

I burst through the trees first, the sunlight nearly blinding me. I stepped onto the small town street. The lights of a cafe across the road giving me hope. Freedom was but a few steps away. I turned back for my sister, seeing the dirty hand of our captor pressed against her mouth, a knife against her throat.

We were doomed.

Also posted to my blog: https://steemit.com/flashfiction/@byn/the-escape-flash-fiction-contest

Entry confirmed.

My Entry :

Those three weeks were a haze. A nightmare, only that it was real. The strange devices that drew out your soul into a medium sized glass jar were delightfully painful. While the process took three weeks, the constant shap pain kept us awake.
Today we roam the streets as the homeless. We escaped from the house but we were never us again.

Entry confirmed

I would definitely participate.

You got a 64.29% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @gandhibaba!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Goodnight. Interesting contest. Can we write the flash fiction in Spanish?

Yes. But you may have to also post the English version. Sorry, I don't understand Spanish.

Hello! My entry:

That strange sensation of feeling the skin tremble, the heart accelerated, the rhythm of the breath so fast that it drowns you, the sweat is cold and the legs tremble, your mouth can not pronounce a word because your jaw trembles. Do not you know how to escape from this? easy, TRUST IN GOD, he can do it all.

Entry confirmed

This is a very nice contest. Here is my entry on "we escaped"

Riiiii!!! resounded repeatedly, first like the thin sound of a whistle, then louder until it sounded just like an alarm clock placed over my ear. Slowly, my eyes opened and with more confusion than surprise, I speculated the bloody environment in which I lay. Suddenly, a word struck me and at the same time flew from my mouth. "Janeth!!"

Longingly, my eyes averted to the left side of the road, there sat my dear wife, Janeth, with bruises all over her hands. Then the whole event dawned on me. It was an accident and we just escaped death.

Thanks for all the wonderful entries. The contest is now closed.

My head ached, my eyes were swollen and red from persistent crying. Our vacation cum second honeymoon was fast becoming a nightmare. My husband lay by my side, bloody and weak as was I. We had been captured by strange men, accused of being spies and tortured without mercy. Days passed in a haze as I wished for deliverance from hell.

Soon, our chance came.

We ran, led by our saviour, our captors chasing us with dogs. Just as they caught up with us, we reached the safety of the road and saw the police.
We had escaped hell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57