You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make A Difference Contest • Round #7

in #contest6 years ago

My Entry for Make a Difference Round #7

Back home, I was a teacher who taught at the elementary level. Coming to Japan, I had hoped that I would have been able to teach elementary school children like I did back home. Unfortunately, that turned out to not be the case. Now don’t get me wrong, I love ALL children; big and small but there is this thing in me that tingles for the smaller ones. What makes it even better is that I love teaching too!

Realising that I wasn’t going to get a weekly nor daily dose of children smiles and warmth, I started the hunt for how I could make this possible. The opportunity finally presented itself; persons were needed to volunteer on a monthly basis at a Children’s Home. Not an ounce of hesitation in sight, I signed up the very same day and patiently awaited the first visit.

On the day of the first visit, I was wondering to myself what it would be like. As this was the first time that I had volunteered for a Children’s Home. Should I expect the children to be different from how I know children to be? Will they speak with me? Will they play with me? Will they be afraid of how different I look to them? All these questions plagued my mind.

We arrived and without a shadow of a doubt, the children were already outside awaiting our arrival. As the bus pulled onto the campus, their faces lit-up as though they saw a bus full of candy. My heart smiled and my time here in Japan became greater with those sparkling eyes.

By the end of the day, we were all friends and my body ached from being ridden, tugged at and just having fun with the kids. It is a great feeling knowing that we can have a positive impact on the lives of these children who are so lovable. I have looked forward to the visits with them ever since and still send my love whenever I am unable to make it.

From this continuous experience, I have come to realise that children are children wherever we may go. No matter where they are in life or where situations may take them, they are all deserving of love, hugs and kisses. They are all so very special.

@meetmysuperego, thank you for this opportunity to share our stories about how we go about making a difference. I love the initiative and will continue to make a difference in ways that I can. Keep it up and keep it going, please.

P.S. I am inspired to make this an offical post on my blog. I want to share this very special part of my Japanese journey with my followers. Thank you again for this great initiative. Make a Difference

With Love,
Honeysim

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68897.34
ETH 3759.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44