Make A Difference Contest • Round #7

in #contest6 years ago

C277C013-FDB0-4FCF-8317-7F17C75E55FA.jpeg


Hi guys! I'm not late this time. Haha! Here are the inspiring stories for Make A Difference Round #6:


@zafrin

818A99E0-D4F2-463B-8E1E-DB187B65DB8E.jpeg
6CBFA29C-1577-43C2-AA00-8FF8FF794C17.jpeg


@cherylsonty

22EB05D8-CC55-4332-8EB7-236F7B88025C.jpeg


@unataldani

10EC6B28-CB6B-454F-A8BD-EEDBF0A27E4E.jpeg
6FFD1751-7C05-418B-9768-7DCF778AFEC0.jpeg


@aledania

21668F71-63A1-4998-B89D-D1AC08BFA4AD.jpeg


@olivia08

13E32979-B394-40D5-AF6E-6A77984C14FF.jpeg
DA955722-6C77-4845-9E5A-4B38DEE28B40.jpeg


9E36D781-FE23-481D-9400-E65A28BBE541.jpeg


Yaay! Thanks for sharing guys! 🤗

To @zafrin: You remind me of Amir Khan's movie "Taare Zameen Par". Have you watched it?

I'm sure the kids loved your gifts. They were able to join the contest because of you. It means a lot to them. I can only imagine the joy on their face upon receiving the art materials. Thank you for taking extra effort to find these kids. You are an inspiration to me.

To @cherylsonty: Thank you for joining again, I'm always looking forward to your entry. I miss you too, sorry if it took too long. Haha. Glad to have found people like you here in Steemit. I really like the vibe here, its home for me.

That was some brave act that you did with that guy. If it wasn't because of you the old woman could've lost her money. Its sad that people would choose to scam others than finding decent jobs.

To @unataldani: I have so much respect to people like you. It takes a lot of patience for you to do your job, and not everyone can do it.

I was invited to do some lectures about first aid to nursery pupils. It lasted for an hour, but I feel like I already worked the whole day. Haha. The kids were shouting, singing, running around, doing their thing, or punching each other. Haha.

I wonder how you guys manage these kind of scenarios everyday. You are amazing.

To @aledania: Guess, this is your first time to join my contest. Glad you shared your story here.

Those drawings brings so much joy right? They're taking their time to give you something as their appreciation to you. I know your heart melted when you received those. Hehe. Kids really are very adorable.

To Nanay @olivia08: They're lucky to have you. Even if we haven't met in person yet, I can feel that you're caring and loving and that's why they love you so much.

You remind me of my grandmother. She was the typical Filipina nanay who always attends to my needs and took care of me. Iba talaga magalaga ang pinoy.


MAKE A DIFFERENCE ROUND #7

Here's the contest rules:

1BE8743B-A063-4A79-8B5A-A5953FFBB4A5.jpeg

I'll wait for you stories guys! Keep making a difference. 🤗

Sort:  

Hello @meetmysuperego, first of all, I appreciate what you're doing. This is just awesome.

Make A Difference Contest • Round #7

I was a little girl then. I used to go here and there when I go to my village for holidays to meet my friends. In childhood, there was no condition to make friends. Just talk to them, play with them and they became friends. That's how I made 6-7 friends within 2 days.
In the third day, I went to a friends house named Rakib. I made him my friend just previous day and he invited me to go to his house and he would show me a new game.
I saw some other friends of mine there. Then Rakib came and took us to their backyard. I saw strangely a cat was tied to a tree and a pigeon was fastened also few meters away. The cat was clinging to the ground to catch the bird, and it sounded groaning. And I could not describe the bird's fear. It was steeped in fear. Rakib and some other were laughing to see the animals action. I suddenly shouted out, "Where is the game?". They pointed their finger at that cruel thing happening there and said this was the game.
I felt like something happening to me. I might have become blind in anger. I went inside, took a knife and came out to the backyard. They became astonished at my activities. I just ran toward to the bird and cut the rope tied to its feet. Rakib started screaming and running towards me. I jumped to the cat and untied it also and threw away the knife. By that time Rakib came near to me and asked me why did I do this. I took a rope and started tied his leg. Then I said stay sometimes like that. He said how can I stay like this, I cant move. I said imagine there is a tiger or a lion or anything that you are afraid of is also near to you tied over that tree where you tied the cat. He screamed out, "No!!! How can it be possible? Thats rude. You can't tie me here like this."
Then I untie him and said find out who is truly cruel. I left his house.
In the evening he came to my house with his father and he said sorry for being rude to the animals. He said he would never do this type of work again and then I forgave him and became friends again.

Thank you @meetmysuperego.
Yes, I have watched that movie.
For some reason, I used to be very depressed nowadays. But your contest pushes me out from this mentality. I am always busy finding the things I did in my entire life.
I will write more about my small deeds which I never counted as much precious but lovely.

Make A Difference Contest • Round #7

Today what I am going to share is a common incident happens in our country.

image source
In my country, girls wear dresses like the picture above. The other one like the scarf is called "Urna" or "Orna" here, which is used to cover basically head to chest. Most of them hang the scarf around the neck. So the ending two parts reach the knees as in the picture.
Another thing I want to introduce you is -Rickshaw, a three-wheeled passenger cart, which is generally pulled by one man carrying one or two passengers, sometimes three. (The picture is given below)

image source
You may be wondering why am I introducing these things. So let's start the main story. We often take a rickshaw to go to somewhere within the town. Because it is cheaper and available. Unless rickshaw you have heir cab or CNG vehicle which is expensive. When girls sit in a rickshaw (most of the time two people sits) their scarf hangs around the wheel. In that case, the scarf rolls up with the spinning wheel. After that, many things could happen. the girl may fall down from the moving rickshaw into the road and then another vehicle comes and just crush her like a toy. Or she gets some injury for that. Sometimes the injury is so serious it even hampers the vocal cord. So many things could happen. I can't even describe the worst situation with my writing.
So when I see a girl riding a rickshaw and her scarf is hanging outside of the rickshaw I immediately run after the rickshaw and shout to manage her scarf. I did it 6-7 times almost. Not only me I often heard people scream like me to other girls.
It basically happens with the girls who either first wearing the scarf or first riding rickshaw.
I don't even feel that I am doing a good deed, I shout because I think it is my duty to save people.

That's right, I died of love! They asked me what my favorite animal was, I answered that it was the turtle and this was the result :) Thanks friend, with your contribution I can help others.

MAKE A DIFFERENCE ROUND # 7

In my country there is a serious situation with food, there is a lot of shortages. Most of the products sold in supermarkets are highly expensive because they are imported. This has meant that many children and their families can not feed themselves. Because of this, many groups of people through social networks do good works. They organize days, ask for donations of food and prepare lots of lunches and distribute them to the needy in the streets. Seeing this noble act, I wanted to help one of these foundations, one called "Corazones nobles" and I contributed some foods that were on the list of what was missing for the next event. They have already done 15 events, I hope I can show you the photos of this event that will be held in a few weeks :)

My Entry for Make a Difference Round #7

Back home, I was a teacher who taught at the elementary level. Coming to Japan, I had hoped that I would have been able to teach elementary school children like I did back home. Unfortunately, that turned out to not be the case. Now don’t get me wrong, I love ALL children; big and small but there is this thing in me that tingles for the smaller ones. What makes it even better is that I love teaching too!

Realising that I wasn’t going to get a weekly nor daily dose of children smiles and warmth, I started the hunt for how I could make this possible. The opportunity finally presented itself; persons were needed to volunteer on a monthly basis at a Children’s Home. Not an ounce of hesitation in sight, I signed up the very same day and patiently awaited the first visit.

On the day of the first visit, I was wondering to myself what it would be like. As this was the first time that I had volunteered for a Children’s Home. Should I expect the children to be different from how I know children to be? Will they speak with me? Will they play with me? Will they be afraid of how different I look to them? All these questions plagued my mind.

We arrived and without a shadow of a doubt, the children were already outside awaiting our arrival. As the bus pulled onto the campus, their faces lit-up as though they saw a bus full of candy. My heart smiled and my time here in Japan became greater with those sparkling eyes.

By the end of the day, we were all friends and my body ached from being ridden, tugged at and just having fun with the kids. It is a great feeling knowing that we can have a positive impact on the lives of these children who are so lovable. I have looked forward to the visits with them ever since and still send my love whenever I am unable to make it.

From this continuous experience, I have come to realise that children are children wherever we may go. No matter where they are in life or where situations may take them, they are all deserving of love, hugs and kisses. They are all so very special.

@meetmysuperego, thank you for this opportunity to share our stories about how we go about making a difference. I love the initiative and will continue to make a difference in ways that I can. Keep it up and keep it going, please.

P.S. I am inspired to make this an offical post on my blog. I want to share this very special part of my Japanese journey with my followers. Thank you again for this great initiative. Make a Difference

With Love,
Honeysim

My entry for Make A Difference Round #7.
First my love for humanity and disposition to help those in need was cultured by @adedoyinwealth and @surpassinggoogle. They made me see reasons and motivated me to do so.

It a pleasure and thing of joy to tell you how I helped a little girl living a stone throw from my house, with the little way I can.

Her name is blessing, a five years old girl and the first child of her parents. She's a brilliant girl right from the very day she started schooling. She has been the best in her class right from kindergarten. She was doing well and her parents helped her and provided for her by making sure she lacks things. Then the worse happened. Her father lost his job, and the mum was in debt to the bank of the sum of five hundred thousand. She borrowed the money from the bank to help her husband who was striving to move out of the country. But it turns out that the people trying to help her husband were frauds and they made away with the money. So ever since then she has been paying little by little to the bank to cover up the debt she was owing. The girl's family lived on her father's income untill he lost his job things became hard for them. Blessing couldn't get all the necessities she needed as a student. She wasn't given her last term result because her parents were unable to pay her school fees complete.
This term I get to know about her and I was touched. After getting my first pay from steemit, I used some part of the money to buy her the literatures there were reading in school for this term (she loves literatures), and also bought her a better food flask because the one she was using before was a rubber plate. It doesn't persevere food for her and always made her to eat food that is soured due to her former one doesn't retain food till the time she was to eat it.

Here's a picture of her and me below👇.

IMG_20180505_160311.jpg
The picture was taken by me with my phone. From left is the new food flask I bought for her, followed by the old one she was using before. Then on my hand is two literature I bought for her..

I was happy and felt an unadulterated joy that I was able to help out in my own little way.

Here is a picture of her and her junior brother below.
IMG_20180505_160517.jpg
Although his not in school yet, because if financial resources. But I would try to see that am able to contribute in the way I can, to see the child begins schooling.

A little could go a long way.
Thanks 😊.

Loading...


Hahaha, thank you very much @meetmysuperego. It's true, you must have a lot of patience. We always try to find the best way :)

Today I want to show how I made the difference through a very special donation, for children again :)

It consisted of a collection of plastic caps that I made to donate to an association called "Tapas por Vidas", which was responsible for collecting the caps to help children with cancer. This material was sold to companies that bought the plastic and the money raised was donated directly to the foundations. This association did not receive any type of donations in the form of money to avoid misunderstandings. It was a good way to help because, at the same time, you recycled and helped children with cancer.

Thank you dear for your kindness,

Thanks for the opportunity again,my entry.

For over 3weeks now the government schools in my town has been on strike, reason being that the government have refused to keep up with their promises to pay up salaries.

My state government school teachers haven't still been paid their salaries of October(2017-May 2018), the teachers couldn't hold unto their words anymore as they had given the government enough time to pay up.

You can imagine when you have been working for months without any payment but mere assurance that never come to pass.

Though the strike is in a bid to force the government to pay up their debts when they start seeing children at home every day but it has great impact on the children as it makes them not to meet up with other of their mates in Private schools.

So the principal pleaded with some of us to volunteer to be coming to teach the students whom we are preparing for their Certificate examinations.

I decided to help just to see they don't miss out too much.

Hello, what's up @meetmysuperego?

Well, this time I do not have photos that show my action. But if the satisfaction that remains of having fulfilled such action.

I have an aunt, who is currently a principal at a school. Due to the situation in the country we are going through, in the family we decided to make certain donations to the school; In general, clothing and toys were thrown away. She in her role as director, and knowing her students, she gave them to each one, I did it several times; and in several of them I was involved, seeing the emotion of a child is great.

In one such opportunity, my aunt told me that one of her students found a ticket in one of the pantalos, she was very excited!

I hope you can be part of this, in your locality :)

You got a 2.50% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @meetmysuperego!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71