You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekly Update For 100 Days of Poetry Challenge (Week 10 Begins)

in #contest6 years ago

@d-pend, I covered my weekly obligations per the new rules (comments that were/are more substancial on my poets of the week and a weekly highlight). I apologize that this is so late (as is my daily poem also but I am just now home and have the internet to post -- this is how weekends go from here on out for me). I amdead-tired and am getting up in a few hours to start all over again, so please pardon any typos. :) :P

My highlighted poem of the week is from Stephen Martin : https://steemit.com/steemschool/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-54-now-that-i-know

‘Now That I Know’ is a gem of repetition that rhythmically pulls the reader through a series of one sentence stanza groupings. There is a quality of transcendence from the experiential first stanza to the judgments of the second into that which is revealed through the process that leads to the last two lines. The ending thought is where the form is broken into a two line thesis with a line-break of declaration — that which is revealed through the revelation of the piece.

“Now that I know
That I know.”

I very much admire the flow of this piece and the meaning in which I derived from it. Now, I prefer not to deconstruct this into what I’ve extrapolated from this piece, my personal relationship with the poem is my own and I revel in the power of fine art to accomplish this. However, As with most art I find fascinating, there are many ways to read this piece. I can certainly see one finding a religious tone here, or a romantic overture also would not be hard to squeeze from the line stack — for me there is always certain prudence in bringing all things inward, as if this were a letter to one’s soul (free of religion though, or at least separate of doctrine).

Whatever story you find in this poem, I highly recommend reading it out loud so that you may feel the words, find the rhythm, your rhythm for them and relish in the beauty of this wonderful work.

Here are the links to the pieces from Tyger and Steve:

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@acousticsteveo/100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming#@mamadini/re-acousticsteveo-100-days-of-poetry-day-55-deprogramming-20180501t225210659z

https://steemit.com/steemitschoolpoetry/@tygertyger/totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend#@mamadini/re-tygertyger-totem-day-56-of-the-steemitschool-100-day-writing-challenge-by-d-pend-20180501t223725657z

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62845.90
ETH 3173.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82