You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 42 - Share your most undervalued work ($15 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago

Last week seemed to disappear in a Hard Fog....

Here’s my entry for this week. It’s a piece I wrote after exploring the etymology of the word ‘doctor’ in Chinese.

At some point in ancient times, they changed the character, and I think it shows the changes in how healers operated.

Have a read and let me know what you think. 😊🙏🏽☯️

https://steemit.com/steempress/@metametheus/shamanicoriginsofmedicineinancientchina-v412ews3fv

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Indeed last week did seem to disappear in a Hard Fog.
Another in-depth and great piece, the Development of the character wu over time was very interesting, is it just me but early on the character seem to be hands trying to grasp something above.

And the double body is pretty universal in all of shamanism, Toltec speaks of the dream body, but there is something into traveling into the invisible landscape, learning the forgotten language of dreams, that brings back eternal, deep nature truths.

Yeah I noticed that about the hands too. I wondered about that, and am planning to look further into it. The explanation of it as two people dancing is plausible, however I wonder if an earlier form wasn’t showing people with hands up as part of their dance, especially if they’re reaching out to Heaven.

Etymology can teach us so much. I always thought a shaman and doctor surely meant different things. It is amazing what we can find after research. I learnt a little more of the chinese culture from your post. It seems you have a deep understanding of the chinese characters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84