You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Brain Games 59 - how witty are you?

in #contest6 years ago

Thanks for that :D

It just reminds me of DBG #35, where @doughtaker "invented" another possible solution. In that one, the rules were not quite clear, yet @doughtaker 's solution was accepted...

https://steemit.com/contest/@ksolymosi/daily-brain-games-weekly-leaderboard-and-winners-1st-week-of-may

Sort:  

Yeah, I agree. Why was that one ok and not this one? Right? Especially since the rules were followed in this case.

I see 36 regions in ur solutions instead of 4...so I am not sure if it can be considered a correct answer. But @doughtaker's solution was a valid one confirming the rules of that puzzle

Just my opinion, @ksolymosi is the one to decide :-)

In my head, because the corners touch, it’s together, hense 4 regions. But I guess if other people don’t see it that way than it would be 36 regions and not right. So good point.

@mchandra If we start to dissect the rules, then I refer you to DBG #46 where @ksolymosi says to start in a corner. Unfortunately for me, our definitions of a corner varied, so I did not have a successful answer for that one, even though I thought I really did.

https://steemit.com/contest/@ksolymosi/daily-brain-games-46-how-witty-are-you

This comes down to definition... but the grid has been divided into four regions of exactly the same size and shape.

I do agree some questions are not straight forward and it comes to how we understand the question. I had the same doubt but whichever i choose as the corner, the answer to the puzzle was still 15...you either start at 2 or at 3 based on what you consider as the corner.

I understood the running race puzzle in a different way and assumed that my solution was correct. But @ksolymosi said that the clues were to be understood differently.

End of the day, these daily brain games give a good workout to my brain and any rewards I get along is an added bonus. So, lets enjoy and solve more puzzles. :-)

Actually, for the 'corner' puzzle, you can obtain an answer of 14, if you start at the corner 2 (see image below).

Ultimately, @ksolymosi said to me regarding her wording for that DBG: "probably it was misleading".

Which is fine. Like you said, this is fun, still :)

Wow, nice! I like your answer better than mine. I assumed no repeat junctions, so hadn't thought about this solution. My answer was actually: "15. "Corner" is a bit confusing, but here it doesn't matter. Either go from the top right 3 (edge of diagram) to 5, 2, 4, 1 or 5, 1, 4, 2. Or go from top left 2 (place at which two converging lines or surfaces meet) to 5, 1, 4, 3." This was because I too was unsure about what ksolymosi meant with "corner". Luckily, it was accepted.

Thanks for the kudos :D
At least you got your answer accepted - that seems to be the hardest part of the DBG series lol

the regions in your solution are not well defined...those small squares touch each other at a point...if you consider them still part of same region...the cells B and D also touch each other the same way...just that u have coloured them differently.

I personally don't agree that your solution has 4 regions...I consider them as 36 regions...eventually its not my decision that matters :-)

Yeah, true. I am starting to see it that way too now.

I totally agree with you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67576.09
ETH 3762.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72