Evergreen December Challenge

in #contest5 years ago (edited)

What, another contest? Two in the same week? Yep, I'm a wild man! LOL

I call this one the Evergreen December Challenge. Below I have listed 31 eco-friendly ideas (for 31 days in December). Pick one (I don't expect anyone to do all of them) and make a post about your experience doing it/what you learned. Each post doing a different activity counts as an entry. So, if you do three activities and make three posts, you get three entries.

This contest lasts throughout the month of December, so you can do as many activities as you like, all month long.

previously, I had said: I'm impoverished, so I don't have money to make big prizes (I'm still scraping together rent due for December... ), but right now I am offering two shares of @steembasicincome for two winners/entries (it's possible someone with two entries could win both); I will totally accept and be grateful if anyone wants to sponsor bigger/more prizes!

Update!

@ecoinstant has generously sponsored 20 SBI shares! So here is the new winning schedule:

Round One -

through 23:59 PM MST on 8 December. 4 shares up for grabs! How they are divvied up depends on how many people enter.

Round Two -

through 23:59 PM MST on 16 December. 4 more shares up for grabs!

Round Three -

through 23:59 MST on 24 December. 4 more shares!

Round Four -

through 23:59 MST on 31 December. 4 shares again!

Bonus Round! 6 shares will go to one grand prize winner from all the entries received throughout the month!


image from thetreecenter dot com

Here are the options to choose from. Please include pictures, and put a link to your post(s) in the comments! The winners will be chosen by my cats, as always! :)

  1. Do a #cleanplanet #litterwalk (check @cleanplanet for rules)
  2. google your local recycling facility’s rules about what items they accept, if they need to be separated, etc. This is because so many people engage in what they call "aspirational recycling" and put in items that can't be recycled, which borks the whole batch and everything ends up getting tossed.
  3. buy something from the grocery using your own containers instead of disposable packaging, whether that’s a bulk section, the deli, the salad bar, etc.
  4. Walk or bike somewhere you would normally drive. Use @actifit app and get tokens for those steps while you’re at it (not mandatory to count for this contest)!
  5. upcycle something!
  6. Call or write a snail mail letter to your local representative(s) about a green issue
  7. Contact a company about their packaging and how it could be better
  8. Contact a bank or university about divesting from fossil fuels
  9. Have a #meatlessmonday
  10. Bring your lunch in reusable containers if you normally get takeout, or bring your containers to the restaurant to replace disposables (like, a mug for coffee or your own utensils instead of using plastic or a Tupperware instead of asking for a doggie bag)
  11. Acquire or make something to be a reusable replacement for something you normally would use a disposable of, like cloth napkins, handkerchiefs, sanitary pads, cloth shopping bags, or glass or stainless steel straws
  12. Do a trash audit; figure out what area you should focus on reducing your waste
  13. Plant a tree (or a tree seed!)
  14. Find a replacement for some product you regularly use that has palm oil in it, without palm oil
  15. Find a replacement for some product you regularly use made with virgin fiber or plastic, made out of recycled fibers or plastic
  16. Find a replacement for some product you regularly use made of plastic, made of a greener material (bonus points if you replace a #3 vinyl plastic item!)
  17. Learn how to make something from scratch with greener materials or without a lot of packaging that you would normally buy heavily processed and packaged, for example food or body care items
  18. Plant wildflowers for the bees, if it’s the right time of year for you (make sure they are pesticide-free!)
  19. Set up a composting system for your home!
  20. Buy or make a greener xmas present for someone on your list!
  21. Wrap presents in reusable or recyclable material (most wrapping paper isn’t recyclable)
  22. Upvote someone using @treeplanter
  23. Buy something #fairtrade and/or #organic that you would normally buy conventional (food, clothes, anything!)
  24. Research #permaculture and share with us some ideas you plan to implement in your garden
  25. Buy something that was locally produced that you normally buy sourced from far away
  26. Have an #earthhour and write about your experience
  27. Make a bee/insect motel for local pollinators
  28. Make a bat house
  29. Donate to an environmental charity
  30. Replace your bottled water habit with a filter of some kind and a reusable water bottle
  31. Recycle your e-waste

Thanks for playing, and let me know if you have any questions. Be good, Steemit! <3

Update for clarification:

You can only do an activity and have it count for an entry once. Feel free to do the same thing as many times as you like, but it will only count as an entry for the contest one time, even if you break it up into a different post for each one. Thanks and sorry for any confusion! :)

That minnow your mama always warned you about

Referral links:

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

Earn more rebates from grocery shopping with Checkout 51! https://checkout51.app.link/JCLdEdrj3Q

Earn points toward gift cards with your shopping or just scanning items in the store – no purchase necessary – with Shopkick. Use code DEAL295384 or download https://getsk.co/deal295384

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Sort:  

I would like to sponsor 20 shares of SBI for this whole month contest! We should talk on discord about how to divide that up - maybe there could be at least 2 shares given out each week (so there is participation all though the month) and then BIG prizes at the end! Also - let's get you whitelisted by @contestkings!

WOW, so awesome, thank you! I will get with you on Discord tomorrow. I didn't know about Contest Kings either, so I will check out their Discord, too! Thanks so much!! :D

Like

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope you make an entry!

Some great food for thought here and a fantastic, huge list of ideas! I've already made a few of these changes, so I'm thinking I might do a bit of an assessment on how I'm going on this front.

That's awesome! Self assessment is what got me to switch to handkerchiefs instead of so many disposable tissues. I still keep a box of tissues on had - like, when I'm washing the handkerchiefs, for guests, etc. - but the trash assessment was what showed me that one of the big fixable parts of my trash was tissues, lol (woo, allergies!).

Interestingly my family has always used handkerchiefs, so I guess I grew up assuming that it was normal for everyone to use them. One day I overheard a conversation on how people thought it disgusting and un-hygienic. Measures to disinfect them by boiling were also seen as gross. When you get that attitude it can start to make others feel embarrassed to have a reusing lifestyle. I'm glad that is slowly changing and there is almost a trend movement towards reusables.

I still use handkerchiefs, but I do get in soft tissues for colds as it helps sore noses. Colds mostly come in winter, so the tissues go in the woodburner mostly or in the compost if it's too warm for heating. I need to use a handkerchief year round due to sinus problems.

I need to use one year round too because allergies, lol. I actually like them on my nose better! But I do still use some tissues, like when I'm washing the handkerchiefs, or I haven't grabbed a new one after putting one in the hamper, or as your thought demonstrates - when I'm out. I put recycled paper tissues in my pocket before I head out the door. It's less embarassment though (though I have seen those "gross" comments too), and more like, I have a lot of snot and putting a wet handkerchief back in my pocket would mean that it wouldn't dry, lol. I suppose if I was wearing a jacket and put it in the jacket pocket it might dry if it was alone and loose in that big pocket, but in a pair of jeans it wouldn't! LOL

Not sure how I missed this, such a good idea!

Thanks! I hope you are able to do an entry or two! <3

I was thinking when I saw it this morning that you have just given me a month's easy posting, I just go down the list each day and see what is the next thing I have to do :) some of them might get done more than once, like the @treeplanter votes, on days when I'm busy.

Oh, perhaps I should clarify that you can only do one of them for an entry once? I mean, please @treeplanter the world, but it will only count for the contest once. ;) But I'm glad you like the ideas!

Okay ... multiple entries are acceptable but they must all be for different things ... over the whole month .... or over each round? (i don't mind, just checking, although I was thinking about a weekly litterwalk). Anyway, I'm deep in researching recycling and street cleaning now, which I have been meaning to do for ages ... your contest has prompted me :)

My intention was over the month, mostly because some are easier than others, and some are weather dependent - like we in the northern hemisphere can't plant wildflowers right now, and might get snowed on preventing a litter walk - so I wanted to be as fair as possible.
Though I adore a weekly #litterwalk!
You do know @cleanplanet, right? They award upvotes and tokens (which will be SMTs when SMTs are a thing) for doing a #cleanplanet #litterwalk every time. And @steemitboard has developed a #cleanplanet badge, too! So a weekly #litterwalk still gets rewards. I would also suggest tagging it #ophumanangels, since we do them there (which is where the #litterwalk tag came to be thanks to @hickorymack) too, and will get the attention of people who upvote ops (I have Ginabot programmed to tell me whenever #ophumanangels is used, for example, so I always look for those).
For @cleanplanet to UV and give you tokens, you need to show the date of the walk in your photos or video (and you get more tokens for video over photos), and besides showing yourself picking up the trash, show yourself putting the trash you collected in a trash bin.

I saw @cleanplanet at steemfest and also got a vote last week for a little #litterwalk. I've just been reading council reports about street cleaning and I noticed at the local ward meeting (like a town hall meeting), there was a suggestion about groups going out litter picking (perhaps I should talk to them about steem)? Okay, I'll just do one entry of any task for the contest 😊
#ophumanangels - is there a definition for this tag?
Thanks for all the tips!

#ophumanangels is any random act of kindness! :)
27654715_1872963226066907_5320780357019380781_n_1872963226066907.jpg
Litter walks, chalking positive messages, helping homeless people, giving someone a ride, helping a neighbor - these are all things we've posted about at the tag.

Also, that would be cool if you onboarded your council group! :D

Love it! Definitely going to take part, good one Phe!

Right on, I'm excited to see your entry! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah this is awesome @phoenixwren, great way to encourage people to be more earth conscious, I already do a few and have done a post already would that still qualify, if not no worries will do more xxx

As long as the post is from December and is one of the 31 ideas, yeah, please do enter it! :)


You just planted 0.08 tree(s)!


Thanks to @canna-curate

We have planted already
6118.04 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 28843.28
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I love that you are planting a food forest! Thank you for sharing it with us! :D

Welcome..hopefully they will all thrive to maturity. I can see fruits for everyone who passes by the house😍😍

This is fab. I have 2 posts this December that could qualify already. Can i contribute, however, 10 SBI shares towards the pool? I will promote this contest in the next eco post I do. It's a great idea. Love the list of options. Will also post link in the @naturalmedicine Discord server and resteem..

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, yes, that would be awesome, thank you! I always forget my Discord number after my handle, so let me get on the laptop where I have Discord so we can get in touch. 🌳🌲😃

Hehe. I did #22 already, that reminds me, I need to go check if treeplanter has given the vote yet...😉😍

I'm gonna be doing a bunch of these phe!! This is great! 💜💜💜

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay, please do! @ecoinstant has sponsored more prizes so once we work out how he'd like to distribute them, I'll post an update to this as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00