You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Week 6/4/2019 - Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

in #contest5 years ago

My pick is https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/mom-s-cousin-lenna-the-tart-part-3-or-4-day-591-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-rule.
@carolkean made a 3 part story out of the prompt words and the last was was on the prompt rule. Throughout the three parts she threads it all together with the mention of Mom’s cousin, Lenna. Lenna is different and suffered a breakdown after finding the Skelton of her beloved cat.
Lenna is without email, credit card and pretty well untraceable. It’s a perfect place to go to escape a SOB of a husband.

Sort:  

Aww, thank you so much, @redheadpei!!!
I'm thinking about treating these freewrites as backstory and working it into a novella or novel. Not quite a Thelma and Louise thing, but a woman on the roam. It occurs to me that Thelma and Louise had killed a man and were on the run from the law. I never raise the stakes high enough in my stories. I don't write thrillers. Hence, my frequent plea for a co-author, my prayer for a Muse to come to my rescue. I've bought and read enough How to Write books - I know the formulas, the "How to Put Fire in Your Fiction" tricks (Donald Maas), but it always feels contrived to me. So I'm reading some Dave Berry (yes, the retired humor columnist from the Miami Herald) thinking this is the kind of voice I want to channel. I just need to get Dave to co-author my books!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91