Micro Fiction Prompt “Beacon” 250 words or less

in #contest5 years ago

Image Source

Crash….

I jump up from my bed. I don’t really have to think about what that was. I know what I have to do. Boots first can’t step on glass. Raincoat and the tools. Okay, I am ready to go. I start to run up the stairs to see how bad it is. The cold air hits me and I can feel water on my face. It is a bad one tonight I shouldn’t have dozed off. As I reach the top I hear something.

“Mayday, we can’t see the light. Please respond”

No time first to see how bad it is. As I feared the win had lifted some driftwood. The cold air and rain poured in but first came the light. I hurry to shut down the power. I hurry to find the spare bulbs. Hot, Hot, damn it. Okay got it. New ones are in I think I am ready to try the power.

“Thank you we can see it now”

I look at the window. Hmm, time to find a board.

“This is lighthouse twelve sorry about that guys stay safe”

“Roger”

Tonight things worked out. But this rain needs to stop. This place can’t take much more. But I know it isn’t stopping soon. So I board up the hole and go back to waiting. Alone, someone had to run the lighthouses. Without them, the ships would be lost. So I wait for my turn. I do my part.

Sort:  

That was a great little story!

Thanks

Posted using Partiko iOS

awesome little story, nice work

I love it. Very intense story, @stever82. Crisis averted! That must be a very lonely job. And if you "fall asleep on the job" it could have dire consequences!

p.s. I would love to give you a few small editing suggestions, if you're open to them.

Sure I wrote this pretty late last night so my guess is I might have made a few mistakes.

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.098 which ranks you at #9730 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #85.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95