Healthy Eating | Surprises and Persimmon Bread Pudding

in #cooking5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0086 (2).jpg

Every year fall brings new colors and surprises.


New colors in new surroundings. Living in Southwest Florida, we don’t experience fall with huge color changes. The weather does cool and you do “feel” fall in the air but I miss the apples, pumpkins and beautiful leaves on the trees.


As some of you may know, @mountainjewel has been visiting! When they arrived they brought a wonderful surprise from their homestead! They knew I love persimmons and brought them from their homestead!


DSC_0022 (2).jpg

Yes, Persimmons!


DSC_0030 (2).jpg


Persimmons are near and dear to my heart. As a young girl, my grandmother used to make an amazing Persimmon pudding which was so tasty. When I married, she gifted a recipe box full of her favorite recipes. One special recipe she included was for her Persimmon Pudding! Since then, I have massaged the recipe a bit to make it Gluten and dairy and refined sugar free.


Needless to say, Persimmon Pudding was on the menu while family was here!

todaysjourney.jpg

Nanny’s Persimmon Bread Pudding


Persimmon Trees have been around for thousands of years, originating in China. They’re full of Vitamins and Minerals. An excellent source of antioxidants called carotenoids which help prevent both heart disease and diabetes! Persimmons contain high levels of anti-inflammatory compounds such as vitamin C. Inflammation can be the basis for many illnesses!

Persimmons have a very astringent taste if eaten too early. In fact the ripe fruits are typically the ones you find on the ground!

You’ll need!


  • Oats (1 ¼ cup)
  • Baking Powder (1 ½ tsp)
  • Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)
  • Banana (1 ripe- mashed)
  • Persimmon Pulp (1/2 cup)
  • Squash butter or Applesauce (1/2 cup)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 tsp)
  • Nutmeg (1/2 tsp)
  • Ground Cloves (1 tsp)
  • Chia Seeds (1 tbsp.)
  • Almond Milk (1/2 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/2 cup)
  • Raisins (1/2 cup)

Remove the seeds and skin from your persimmons. Warning…this is messy, but totally worth it I promise! Set this aside. Pour your oats in your blender and blend until light and floury. Add all of the batter ingredients except the walnuts and raisins and blend until smooth. What a beautiful sight!


DSC_0066 (1) (2).jpg

Now stir in the raisins and chopped walnuts! Yes, it is tempting…go ahead taste it, you’ll like it!


DSC_0072 (1) (2).jpg


Grab your favorite bread pan and add the following:

  • Maple Syrup (3/4 cup)
  • Coconut Oil (4 tbsp.)
  • Squash butter (1 tbsp.)
  • Boiling water (1/2 cup)

Mix all and place this in a 325 degree oven until the coconut oil is melted. A maple-y smell…mmmmm!


DSC_0063 (2).jpg


Carefully remove the bread pan from the oven and gently place the persimmon batter on top of the liquid. Don’t squish it down, you don’t want it submerged, spread to the corners…gently.


DSC_0080 (1) (2).jpg


Back into the oven and bake for an hour. Your family will be climbing the walls by the time the hour is up! The smell is truly amazing!


But wait! You have to let it rest for another hour or two…don’t eat it yet! (You may need to hide it at this point.)


DSC_0083 (1) (2).jpg


Meanwhile…we make a wonderful creamy whipped topping…yep it is good for you!


Blend in your favorite blender:

  • Raw Cashews (soaked overnight, rinsed and drained) (3/4 cup)
  • Filtered Water (1/4 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tablespoons)

Blend well; add additional water as needed, creamy is the consistency you want!


Okay, times up! Slice that pudding, drizzle with the creamy cashew whip, top with a few chopped Walnuts and Enjoy!


DSC_0106 (1) (2).jpg


Oh by the way, you may need a nice glass of Almond Milk or cup of tea with this! It is RICH!


All I heard around the Bird household was MMM...oh my goodness mom! lol Needless to say, it didn’t last long. It reminds me of fall and of course my grandmother! I think she would be pleased. I hope you are as well.


If you get a chance to try this, let me know what you think. If you have a favorite persimmon recipe I would love to hear all about it. I didn’t use all of the persimmons @mountainjewel brought…so stay tuned for another fall Persimmon recipe!


Thanks for stopping in!
And as always, blessings to you all!!

loveyourself.jpg


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 299 (11/01/18)

Thanks so much @thesteemengine! Appreciate the uplift! :) So thankful for this community!

Beyond mmmms I remember having a pure spiritual moment with this Persimmon loaf. Sis and I basking in the glow in silence, taste buds alert and singing praise songs... sure needed that black tea to cut the sweetness and bring me back to my senses... was WAY good and I love how it’s adapted from Nanny’s recipe!!!

You are amazing, thank you :) Wouldn't have had the opportunity to share this with you if you hadn't surprised me with persimmons! xoxox love you!

Looks so good I am not sure I have ever tried Persimmons, I must try them sometime

Oh, if you get a chance you should try it some time @tatoodjay. It is so rich and really encompasses the fall season. Just make certain they are ripe, otherwise they're really horrible lol Thanks @tatoodjay :)

I will look for them this weekend :)

Your recipes just get better and better, if that’s even possible. This looks so flipped good! I bet it was hard letting that baby cool for an hour. @dandays and I just starting enjoying persimmons and yet we have never found one that color. The ones we get are always orange. I wonder if they taste the same…

Great recipe @birdsinparadise. There’s truly nothing like a family recipe to bring warmth, joy and love into your house. 😋

Yes, they are dark orange and verrrrrry mushy! Otherwise they taste really bad. I have purchased from the market before but they never ripened, just hard as a rock. I was so happy they brought them to me, a real treat, you know how great those family recipes are ;) The girls especially loved it, a family moment. Thank you my sweet friend!

Oh I bet the girls love everything you make. :)

Mmmmm, I believe this is just incredible to eat and it goes so nice with the season 💚

I know @zen-art, the girls were so happy to share this together. They stood in the kitchen and shared a plate, lol A perfect fall comfort dish. Thank you for your sweet words :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I would never though there was such a thing as a persimmon pudding, but now I see that such a delicious treat exist and I am speechless. Your grandmother must of been very special lady my Dear 🌸💖🌸

persimmons does look like a mangosteen at one glance with a different colour; but I am pretty sure it is very different but I have not googled about it yet.

Your meal looks really healthy, not to mention about the bread pudding! And if I look at the recipe, this looks gluten free?

upvoted

(@littlenewthings)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93