Healthy Eating | Zucchini Dilemma? It’s a Blueberry Morning!

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0086 (2).jpg

Hope your Thursday is going well my Steemian friends! For those of you affected by the latest Hurricane, you are in my thoughts and prayers. 2018 has definitely been yet another rough Hurricane season! I hope you are all safe!


I have to tell you I am so excited! Both of my daughters and their families are coming to visit soon! Yes, that includes the bouncing baby boy! Looking forward to fun family time!


Needless to say, I’m preparing for their arrival in a big way. That means more cooking! Morning muffins are always a hit. When I lived in the Midwest we gardened. Over the years the garden got smaller and smaller as the girls left for college.


We grew the usual items, cucumbers for pickling, of course tons of tomatoes, peppers, garlic, onions and often zucchini. Those of you who grow zucchini know how zucchini quickly gets out of hand and you find yourself “sharing” your zucchini to every person you know….even the unsuspecting guy on the street could end up with a “gift bag” of zucchini…just kidding!


Having a lot of zucchini means you have to get creative!


After the usual zucchini dishes, pulp would be frozen and breads were made. Luckily the family loved the morning breads! My youngest daughter always had quite a sweet tooth, never a big veggie fan so being able to add a vegetable to her morning muffins and breads was a total win!


Well, in light of the upcoming visitors (with healthy appetites I must admit) I plan to make breads and muffins! Zucchini will be the first! I have found Zucchini has such a mild flavor and it makes the bread so nice and moist.


So my friends, if your fridge is full of zucchini, I have a solution for you!!


todaysjourney.jpg

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins


I’m such a blueberry fan! They’re so healthy, full of antioxidants and vitamins! Plus like most berries, they have pretty low sugar content so cooking with them allows me to minimize the sugar levels. We have gluten, sugar and dairy issues in the family so I try to be very sensitive to this when I cook. These muffins should pass the test!


DSC_0052 (2).jpg

You’ll need!


  • 1/2 cup shredded Zucchini
  • 1 Chia egg
  • 1 ½ tablespoon Fresh Lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Zest
  • 1/2 cup fresh Blueberries
  • 2 tablespoons Coconut Oil
  • 3 tablespoons Maple Syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 cup Almond Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • Dash of Sea Salt

Cooking alert...don't get over zealous with the zuchinni...your muffins will be a wet mess! Believe me I know from personal experience! lol

Wash, peel and shred that zucchini! I use my handy dandy food processor named Walter, for this step. Juice and zest your lemon. You’ll love this fresh background flavor, it’s awesome with blueberries.


DSC_0043 (2).jpg


Add all ingredients except the blueberries into a bowl and mix until well blended. Fold in the blueberries!


DSC_0054 (2).jpg


Spoon the mixture into your muffin tins or I used silicone muffin cups, both work well. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean. After they are cooled you can freeze them or not! I’ll be freezing them…Mr. Bird has no self-control in this area, or so he tells me.

DSC_0058 (2).jpg


Butter them up and grab a cup of tea or your favorite Milk!


DSC_0081 (2).jpg

Don’t worry @mountainjewel, I’ll save some for you!


DSC_0112 (2).jpg

I would love to hear your zucchini recipes! Please share!
And as always, blessings to you all

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

Sort:  

I LOVE zucchini bread! However I'm not much of a baker - and we don't really have a lot of useful tools to aid in making exciting food (yet). But these look delicious and I will definitely try making this once I can get my hands on a food processor.

PS. I love that yours has a name :D

These would be so easy for you to make. Even a cheese shredded would work to shred the zucchini! I hope you get a chance to make them sometime! Thanks my friend!

omg I didn't even consider a cheese shredder!! Brilliant!!

These look so delicious but you always ensure your bakes are healthy my friend, lucky grand kids to have a granny Bird, enjoy!

Thank you @lizelle, you always have such kind words. I am pretty excited about this visit. Its the first time we will all be together in this home...should be fun! And well of course the baby bird...:)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 279 (10/12/18)

Thank you @thesteemengine! So appreciate the feature!

I had to look up what a chia egg was - very neat! I'll be trying that.

You know...I always feel like I am over informing...I'm sorry I didn't include that bit. Yes. these are a lifesaver...especially when you don't want to use any eggs or don't have any! They really are a great sub! Thanks for stopping in @walkerland! :)

Uhhhhh I’ll take a batch over here please. My gosh @birdsinparadise you are a dynamo in the kitchen. I love this blueberry zucchini muffin you have going on here. One of these days when I get a muffin tray (because there’s no hack for that) i, too, will make some muffins… maybe these will be the first on the list. Thank you for always contributing to my “todo” list. You are amazing!

You just wait, when you get your kitchen set up....watch out world! You'll really be even more amazing than you are now! I love your kitchen magic! Muffin trays....bah you could make bread instead! :) Thanks my sweet friend!

Haha… “muffin trays blah…” that’s been my motto this entire year. Haha… thanks for the morning laugh :)

I just love the idea of adding zucchini to my favourite muffins! They certainly look delicious!

I know....whats better than adding veggies with your breakfast, right? The kids will never know! lol Thank you @lymepoet! I hope you'll try them :)

Such very interesting ideas and a great way to make use of the extra Zucchini

Have fun when your family visit ;)

aw, thank you @tatoodjay. Needless to say I am really looking forward to this family time. Babies are my weakness! :)

Mmmm! My mom always makes really good zucchini bread. I love it. I bet blueberries would really make it delicious! I'm gonna have to get her to try it. ...dang, I'm hungry now... lol!!

Oh, yes tell her! The blueberries are so amazing..and if she makes a wonderful bread she will love the diversity with lemon and blueberries. You'll have to let me know if she does! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11