Making pastirma part 1 of 3, post008

in #cooking6 years ago (edited)


This is the first video of three showing the production of pastirma, a salted spiced meat from the middle east, originating from Turkey. I made up this recipe as a composite of multiple recipes found online. Although this is a traditional dish, this particular recipe variation is mine.

In the video here I demonstrate how to prepare the meat for salting. I began with an eye of round roast that was 6.2 pounds. After trimming, it was 4.7 pounds. I demonstrate salting the meat and pressing it between two pans, using 16 pounds of bricks as weights.

In the subsequent videos I will demonstrate the remainder of the preparation and the final product.

You can find part 2 of this video series here: https://steemit.com/cooking/@spbeckman/33ukae24
You can find part 3 of this video series here: https://steemit.com/cooking/@spbeckman/vwx6ua2j

In case DTube isn’t playing nicely with my video, I am posting a link to the YouTube version here.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great quality video, Cant wait to see the final product. Then I will have a challenge for your next project. Very similar product, just a different taste. Then you can compare and tell me which one is better, lol.

Thanks! I'm up for a challenge as long as it doesn't require extensive technology since my kitchen is pretty limited.

Waaaoooooo
@spbeckman
The Pastirma is too good. Well slice with a good bread shell and accompanying a good red wine is the best.
I loved the video and when can do it... I will not buy it. jijijiji
Thanks for the recipe.

La Pastirma es demasiado buena. Bien rebanada con un buen pan de concha y acompañando un buen vino tinto es lo máximo.
Me encanto el vídeo y cuando pueda la haré... No la compraré. jijijiji

In the US it sells for upwards of $50 per pound. I found my costs were less than $15 per pound. The recipe still needs tweaking, but I'm planning to make the next batch in the fall.

That joke. In Venezuela that the prices are crazy not reaching 7 dollars per Kg.

$7/kg is about $3/lb. Is that right? Maybe, it you're thinking "Pastrami" not "Pastirma"

We can get top of the line "Pastrami" for about $10 per pound, but "Pastirma" isn't made in the US so we have to import it from Turkey, which is why it costs $50 per pound.

No amigo. Pastirma o Basterma hecho por árabes y comprado en sus tiendas. Es real. La carne que se utiliza es un corte de lomito. Es muy bueno.

That could be part of my problem. I'm living in a small town in a very rural location. There is one Middle Eastern store, but it is very limited and they don't have pastirma. Perhaps in a larger city I could find it. Ordering it online is expensive.

Your Recipe has been featured in the Steemkitchen Picks Of the week Article. Thank you for your continued Support. May the Hunger Stay with You.

Thank you. It is an honor to be recognized for this work. I hope to continue to contribute to the development of the @steemkitchen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97