Cook With Us – March, Week 1 – Lee's Turkey Mince

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

What's The Dish?
Lee's Turkey Mince is really just regular ol' english chilli with turkey mince instead of beef.
It was first introduced to me by a friend of mine, Lee. We were in studio on one of the coldest winter days I'd ever experienced in the UK and Lee had brought his famous Turkey Mince with rice for lunch!
I was hesitant at first because I'd never tried turkey mince before but after the first bite I was hooked and I've been making it ever since.
Funnily enough, it's one of the only dishes I can remember off by heart...

Why It Works?
The dish works because it is a hearty meal that can either warm you up in the winter time or satisfy your hunger after a long day of work. My favourite thing to do is make enough to freeze for at least another 6 or 7 meals after.
The ingredients are simple, affordable and easy to find anywhere.

Ingredients:
Garlic
Onion x1
Turkey Mince
Tomato purée
Worschester Sauce
Tinned tomato x2
Baked beans x2
Kidney beans x2
Butter beans x1
Red Wine (Splash)
Brown Sugar (Teaspoon)
Basmati Rice

IMG_3313.jpeg

Usually I use fresh ingredients and basmati rice but I didn't have much of a choice this evening :)

IMG_5515.JPG

An important part of this dish is the balance between all the flavours. It's important to let this dish cook for at least 40 - 50 minutes and to continue to taste during the process to make sure it's not too sweet/bitter.

IMG_1148.JPG

Thanks @pandamama, @offoodandart and @chefsteve :)

Sort:  

Your dish looks delicious and flavorful. I agree, this is a great one to freeze and have handy for a future meal. It would be a welcome treat after a busy day.

I love that you shared why the dish works. Thanks so much for your entry @danshawmusic!

This was so yummy! Thank you for cooking it. :) @danshawmusic

You're most welcome @edenmichelle :)

Love this. Funny thing is I arrived back to the States late last night from a couple weeks in Thailand. When I woke this morning we had a huge snow storm and I can't leave the house. The only thing I have to eat while reviewing the CwU entries in some turkey chili from my freezer! I agree with your "why it works" comment about chili warming you up on a cold winter day. Thanks for sharing your story about how this dish became a favorite.

That is quite coincidental but I'm glad you can relate as this is not always the most aesthetically pleasing dish but it sure does the job when you need it to :)

I love the look and sound of that !

It's great @globaldoodlegems :) You should try it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62900.77
ETH 2949.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59