You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook With Us #33: Homemade Take-Out {Vegan Breakfast Burritos}

in #cookwithus5 years ago

I've never understood how people eat burritos for breakfast, but perhaps it's just me who is a bit weird, haha. Anyhow, your tofu scramble with all the extras look really delicious, I'd love these burritos as a lunch (since warm oats are my everyday breakfast that I'm unwilling to change)! I think I'll have to try to make some tofu scramble soon! 😋

Sort:  

To be honest, I don't often eat a burrito for breakfast, but it is a common take-out item so I was trying to fit the them, haha! I do love tofu scramble for breakfast, but I'm usually too lazy to actually wrap it up. My boyfriend loves burritos, though, so he makes wraps all the time out of leftovers and whatever else we may have on hand.

Stereotype or not, take-out breakfast sounds so American to me, haha. I know that there are some breakfast options at least in Subway and McDonalds here in Finland as well, but I've never heard of anyone trying them. It's just fun to see the differences between countries. :)

I don't know exactly how are the breakfast take-out items there, but probably not really healthy? You surely did a great job making a healthier version of burrito, and probably tastier too!

You are totally right in your assumptions-- I actually think breakfast food out tends to be the most unhealthy out of all the meals! It is sad that our culture here has become so fast-paced that so many people won't take the time to make a simple breakfast at home. Many also just skip the meal all together and instead guzzle coffee all morning. Many of the options generally get loaded up with bacon, sausage, cheese and something passing for eggs. You can find oatmeal some places, but of course they'll give you plenty of sugar to add in. 🤷

I will go a few times of year for brunch at a favorite vegan restaurant, but even that is generally not as healthy as what I can make at home!

Could it that this is about lack of knowledge? People think that it takes hours to make anything, and that it's super difficult. But really it isn't, preparing breakfast takes me approx. 5 minutes, and it's far from difficult! I'm not saying it's wrong to eat out every now and then, but homemade food can be even more delicious, in my opinion! 😉

That's definitely some of it. I know a lot of people who grew up in households where their parents didn't cook, so they never learned how to even boil water. I dated a guy like that who had never washed a dish until his mid-20's!! 😳 I've worked with personal training clients who would rather get an extra 5 minutes of sleep than make breakfast, too, so some of it is just skewed priorities or habits. Especially since it literally is so easy to grab something on the go anymore.

At least we are doing our best to combat that perception!

Those things are so heartbreaking to hear, all of us should prioritize our health! But exactly as you said, at least we're doing our best to combat that perception! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69437.40
ETH 3765.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83