Cook With Us #33: Homemade Take-Out {Vegan Breakfast Burritos}

in #cookwithus5 years ago

Hey everyone! I'm down to the wire getting this in, but couldn't miss out on another fun week of the @cookwithus contest. This week was all about making a common take-out dish at home. There really are so many options for this one since you can get just about any type of food to go these days. I opted to switch things up just a bit and go for a breakfast burrito since I tend to usually go in the lunch or dinner spectrum.

IMG_20181202_160030072.jpg

Many restaurants and fast food chains these days offer a quick breakfast to grab on your way in to work or school. I am a huge fan of breakfast since I tend to be most active early in the day, so I feel best when I get a good meal in my belly within a few hours of getting out of bed. Though I tend to eat my first meal at home most mornings, I can definitely understand the need to have a good option to bring with you if you are not an early bird like me. 😉

My burritos tend to turn out a bit messy, but when made well they can actually be a really good on the run option to pack with you for breakfast. In the past I know my little sister has made a big batch to freeze for herself and her husband for a healthier homemade option than stopping by the drive-thru window. So much cheaper, too!! The other great thing about them is you can add just about anything you like to come up with your favorite flavor profile.

I do really enjoy a Tex-Mex style tofu scramble, so I decided to pack my burritos with lots of plant-based protein to start out the day. The tofu takes on a very similar texture to scrambled eggs, which can be a great gateway for people who are a little hesitant to try a vegan meal. I love the texture that black beans add to a burrito, too, so I made sure to have some that I cooked up before hand.

IMG_20181202_153643795.jpg

The farmers market I go to has a few vendors that bring in some items up from Florida, so I also grabbed a few fresh and delicious ears of corn that are no longer in season here in Georgia. I try to stick as close to home as possible, but feel better about splurging on an out of state item when it is brought in by a small re-seller versus a big chain grocery store. The sweet corn was a great way to tone down some of the heat from the Aji Limo peppers that I added to the scramble. I still had a few of the hot peppers left from a previous market trip, and I rounded out the veggies with some fresh onions, bell peppers, and a few leaves from this beautiful head of bib lettuce.

IMG_20181202_110852997.jpg

Most of the time I will just eat my tofu scramble from a bowl, but it is fun to stuff it in a wrap and chow down on occasion. There are so many different options for tortillas these days so you can satisfy any need as far as gluten-free, low-carb, or just traditional corn or flour varieties. I am still on the hunt for the perfect wrap that actually holds together well while providing a good nutritional balance. I tried two different ones this time around--a rice-based gluten-free one for me to try and an organic whole wheat one for the boyfriend. The whole wheat definitely has the better texture, as I ended up just having to cut mine up and eat it with a fork. Haha, well it still counts for the theme, right? Either way it was a delicious way to start out the day!

Vegan Breakfast Burritos

Makes enough stuffing for at least 8 large burritos

  • 1/2 large red onion, peeled & chopped
  • 2 small bell peppers, cored & chopped
  • 1 Aji Limo or jalapeno pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 (15-ounce) package firm organic tofu, drained & mashed with a fork
  • 2 tablespoons nutritional yeast
  • 1 teaspoon taco or fajita seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • pinch of cayenne (optional)
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked black beans
  • 1 1/2 cups cooked sweet corn (can use frozen if needed)
  • To serve: tortillas of choice, leafy greens, salsa & sliced avocado

IMG_20181202_154559516.jpg

Heat a large skillet over medium and add in your onion and peppers. Cook for 8-10 minutes, stirring occasionally and adding a little bit of water if needed to prevent sticking.

IMG_20181202_155106386.jpg

Once the onions are soft, add in the tofu and seasonings. Continue to cook for an additional 5 minutes, stirring a few times. Finally add in the black beans and corn. Bring the heat down to low and cook just long enough to warm everything through. Taste and adjust the spices to your liking.

IMG_20181202_155615312.jpg

Warm up your tortillas then layer with some greens, the tofu scramble, sliced avocado and a spoonful of salsa. Wrap and enjoy!

IMG_20181202_155952615.jpg

Thanks to @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for continuing to host such a fun challenge! I've got plenty more to come, so I'll be back soon for #fruitsandveggiesmonday...

SB_new.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

It look so delicious @plantstoplanks. Avocado and Sweet Corn were my favourite. I could have this as my lunch and dinner as well. It simple to prepare and healthy too. But I not a black bean fan, maybe I should replace it with almond slice :p but didn't know whether it as tasty as yours or not. hehehe..Now close to my lunch time and your wrap made my mouth watery and hungry. Need to grab some food after this. Thank you for the recipe and how to prepare, it look simple and easy. It should be fast in prepare this meal.

I have definitely eaten this at all times of the day! The avocado just adds that perfect creamy texture to put it over the top. You could easily omit the black beans. I bet some almonds would add a nice crunch! I hope you got something to eat! 😊

yay!!.. i can replace the black bean.. I love avocado. I won't mind eat it everyday if it has avocado :P.. Now i have another recipe for my lunch and dinner. I always scratching my head don't know what to cook for lunch and dinner. And I the type of person do not like to cook complicated food (lazy to clean up after cook). Your recipe simple, easy and healthy, 30 mins should be enough to prepare right?

Definitely a quick meal! If you have all the ingredients it should come together in less than 30 minutes!

I don’t know how I missed a burrito post… these look fantastic @plantstoplanks. When we first started eating this way we had burritos 4 nights a week I swear. Haha! Great entry!

I was wondering where you were so far this week! Missed you on Monday. 😊 Obviously the hunt for the perfect wrap continues, but at least we'll be waiting with some killer stuffing combinations, right??

I know, I hate to miss Mondays. Things will settle after the holiday :). I just found these coconut wraps at my local health food grocery store. They are made from coconut meat, coconut oil, water and coconut flour. I’ll let you know how it goes 🤷🏼‍♀️

This looks so good, thanks for the recipe! Will try it ;-)

Thanks @roadtrips! It's pretty simple to put together, but mighty tasty and satisfying!

This looks so yum Katie! I love tofu scramble :) I see that you get it really look like eggs. I haven't found a good tofu yet for this. It's always a bit too dry here.. Last week in Prague I had the best tofu scramble ever and my goal is to find tofu that will feel like that one. Unfortunately I didn't ask about the brand...

Thanks Martina! That's a bummer that you haven't found good tofu yet. There are a few brands that I really like for this, so I guess I should consider myself lucky on that count! I hope you come across some good stuff so you can recreate that yummy meal! I'm about to have some leftovers this morning for breakfast... :)

Lucky you! I'm sure that you enjoyed them! The problem in Switzerland is that you can't really find good vegan food or eateries. It is slowly changing but the progress is just too slow for me :)

Well you've got mountains and castles, so you can't have it all! 🤣 Haha, just kidding. I'm sure it has to be frustrating to not have a lot of options. Especially when you pop on here and see everyone sharing all kinds of good stuff! I don't think I realized how lucky I really am with all of the options I have available. There are still not a ton of restaurants by me, but I can get just about any ingredient to make things at home so I really can't complain.

Hahaha, if I look at it from your perspective, then I agree.. but honestly I would give up castles for some good food :D

You should definitely feel lucky. I'm trying to get konjac for a few weeks already with no success. I might have to go to Germany and try there.. having such things available here would make it so much easier :)

I love a burrito and yours looks packed full of flavour and nutrients! You started the day right with that, for sure! I'm hungry now ;)

A little bit of everything in one bite! If only I can get better at my wrapping skills. Apparently that means I just need to make more burritos. ;)

Wrapping burritos is an art form I have yet to master but I sure am working hard at it ;) we will get there one burrito at a time!

I've never understood how people eat burritos for breakfast, but perhaps it's just me who is a bit weird, haha. Anyhow, your tofu scramble with all the extras look really delicious, I'd love these burritos as a lunch (since warm oats are my everyday breakfast that I'm unwilling to change)! I think I'll have to try to make some tofu scramble soon! 😋

To be honest, I don't often eat a burrito for breakfast, but it is a common take-out item so I was trying to fit the them, haha! I do love tofu scramble for breakfast, but I'm usually too lazy to actually wrap it up. My boyfriend loves burritos, though, so he makes wraps all the time out of leftovers and whatever else we may have on hand.

Stereotype or not, take-out breakfast sounds so American to me, haha. I know that there are some breakfast options at least in Subway and McDonalds here in Finland as well, but I've never heard of anyone trying them. It's just fun to see the differences between countries. :)

I don't know exactly how are the breakfast take-out items there, but probably not really healthy? You surely did a great job making a healthier version of burrito, and probably tastier too!

You are totally right in your assumptions-- I actually think breakfast food out tends to be the most unhealthy out of all the meals! It is sad that our culture here has become so fast-paced that so many people won't take the time to make a simple breakfast at home. Many also just skip the meal all together and instead guzzle coffee all morning. Many of the options generally get loaded up with bacon, sausage, cheese and something passing for eggs. You can find oatmeal some places, but of course they'll give you plenty of sugar to add in. 🤷

I will go a few times of year for brunch at a favorite vegan restaurant, but even that is generally not as healthy as what I can make at home!

Could it that this is about lack of knowledge? People think that it takes hours to make anything, and that it's super difficult. But really it isn't, preparing breakfast takes me approx. 5 minutes, and it's far from difficult! I'm not saying it's wrong to eat out every now and then, but homemade food can be even more delicious, in my opinion! 😉

That's definitely some of it. I know a lot of people who grew up in households where their parents didn't cook, so they never learned how to even boil water. I dated a guy like that who had never washed a dish until his mid-20's!! 😳 I've worked with personal training clients who would rather get an extra 5 minutes of sleep than make breakfast, too, so some of it is just skewed priorities or habits. Especially since it literally is so easy to grab something on the go anymore.

At least we are doing our best to combat that perception!

Those things are so heartbreaking to hear, all of us should prioritize our health! But exactly as you said, at least we're doing our best to combat that perception! :)

Hi plantstoplanks,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Always a pleasure! 🙏

Thanks babe. You can make yourself another one for lunch with the leftovers in the larger container in the refrigerator. ;)

It's time to have dinner in my country and this recipe made me want some burritos like the ones you prepared. I am not vegan but I like to read and see recipes of that type because they do not use eggs in the preparations (I do not eat eggs because they produce migraines). Returning to the topic of praising your recipe, I loved that you used black beans and the touch of the flavor of the avocado must have complemented the whole burrito to make it a delight. Were they very spicy or was the pepper bearable?

Ooh, both my sisters both get migraines, so I can definitely understand wanting to avoid anything that triggers them! So glad I could give you another egg-free option to add to your list. The spice was just right for me in this one. I used a few peppers in another recipe and realized it was just a little too much heat for me. One small one with the seeds removed was just right. Especially with the corn and avocado to tone down the heat. You could always omit it and just use a little hot sauce at the end if you want to better control how much heat is in it. :)

I'll be attentive to your publications, maybe get more recipes without eggs. Happy day

Vegan food will dominate the world sooner or later. although I think it is too expensive to have a vegan diet ... I can not stop being surprised by the amount of things that can be done without consuming anything animal.

I can even imagine the taste that it has ...I already want to try them.

a simple recipe, different and healthy. I would do it among friends just to see their reactions when they taste it

There has definitely been a huge rise in the demand for vegan food in the last few years! It's great to see people paying more attention to sourcing their food in a more sustainable and healthy way. There really isn't anything you can't make out of plants. ;)

Can I let you in on a secret? If you keep it really simple vegan food is actually much less expensive than meat and dairy. At least in my part of the world. I know certain places it can be tougher to have access to fresh fruit and vegetables, but beans and legumes are generally much cheaper than meat. I tend to spend a little more on food because I enjoy creating different things and joining in on the food contests on here, but if I stick to the basics and don't buy anything processed my budget is actually pretty good for groceries. You just have to get creative sometimes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59