Selling a knife for Steem!

in #craft6 years ago

There is a first for everything. This was two firsts in one, for me. I sold my first hand-made knife that I could not hand over personally, and I sold it for Steem!

Both of these are a pretty big deal for me, but the biggest thing is getting to experience, using steem as a real currency (especially in these times of rapid growth, and potential loss).
But lets start with the first thing. I have made quite a few knifes at this point , and I have sold a few too.
Everytime it has been to someone I knew and had talked to in person and someone, to whom I could hand over the knife in person.
That means I have not had to worry about postage and the risks involved with that. Today however I was at the postoffice to ship a Madstedkniv to @shortcut.
I shouldnt be worried. Although expensive, the danish post is actually quite secure, but I still worry.
I packaged the knife as best I could, in multiple layers of paper and corrugated cardboard to protect it (by the way the axe-like thing lying next to the package in the image, is not the knife, it is one of my other projects and will get its own post at some point)

The second thing that was a first for me was selling a real physical thing and receiving Steem as payment. That part was surprisingly easy.
The hardest part was setting a reasonable price while the Steem value soared.
I decided to just set it and stick with it, after all it could just as easily have plummetted right after. It didnt and contrary to my first thought I ended up cutting the prize app. 11 %.
I think in the future, what I should do is just agree with the buyer to fix the price and ignore any development from that point.
Anyway it turned out fine, and now the knife is on its way to its new home. I hope @shortcut will be happy with his new knife.
I think both @katharsisdrill, who designed the knife and I are excited about this.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

Madstedkniv
Champagne sabre
A Netsuke

Sort:  

Thanks for the update! The package looks fabulous (I just love the logo) and I'm really excited about being your first customer, you did not meet in person and you sold a knife to using Steem.

I also found it hard to fix the price in this volatile market. Hopefully you're still ok with the price-cut, otherwise I'm willing to remargin a few Steem. In recent times SBD was a bit more stable than Steem, but those days are over... which I don't want to complain about.

However, I'm really looking forward to making my first @shortcut with the Madsted knife ;-)

:-) good one! No need to change prize.

Cool! I just wanted to make sure, that you get payed, what you deserve. Please take my vote as a small compensation ;-)

Awesome! And I totally get it, sending out your fist knife is nerve-racking. I think my first package weight was 2:1 for protecting material ;) I am sure everything will be fine.

Indeed you are a true business person and industrious! It is so cool! You might say it is cutting edge! Thanks for neat blog.

badam tsch :-D

Just wanted to let you know, that the knife safely arrived at my home. It really looks and feels amazing and I will certainly make a post about it, as soon as I find some time ;-) Thanks again for making it possible to buy such an unique thing using Steem.

thats great news, I hope you will find it useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66