LESSON LEARNED - PRACTICING WHAT I PREACH!

in #creative6 years ago

Part of why I share my experiences and adventures is to inspire, educate, and encourage others.


A natural byproduct of this is that I get to process and evaluate these experiences and adventures more thoroughly, which allows me a lot of reflection and insight. Earlier, I got an opportunity to apply some of what I've shared.

DON'T COME HOME EMPTY!

In the video above, I shared three weeks ago about the importance of never taking an empty load. Basically, to save time, money, and effort, I've got to get the most out of everything that I do, which is why I try to utilize everything I can too.

Earlier today I took a ride to town and brought my trailer with me. I had to pick up some various things to hook up our water lines, and I wasn't sure how much room I would need. In the end, it looked like bringing the trailer wasn't really necessary at all.

Sure enough, even the 300 foot roll of "tuff tube" fit in the back of the suburban, so I basically had an empty with me in town for no previously specified reason. Now came the time to think and apply. Immediately I thought of the free mulch that is available in town, but as is, my trailer really couldn't carry much. If only I had some sides for my trailer...

After more thinking, I ran over to Home Depot to grab some OSB. I needed some for my mobile home anyway, and two sheets of it could easily be used to help carry some mulch. A few of the @little-peppers were there to help!

Soon I was at the mulch site with a trailer ready to go. Although the dump trailer that I periodically borrow from @bluerthangreen can hold a lot more mulch, there was no way I wanted to just drag an empty trailer around for no reason. Now, I could receive the blessing of a free load of mulch, even if it was smaller.

After getting loaded, I was now ready to go! While it meant hanging out in town a little longer than I would have liked, it did save me an hour worth of driving over coming to town again. I plan on getting lots more mulch anyway, so every bit helps! Plus, the free price tag is a blessing, although I do like to tip the loaders.

As an added bonus, I grabbed a few rocks from one of the places that I pick them too on the way home. Interestingly enough, people actually pay for these from landscaping stores, so free rocks along with free mulch is a huge bonus! Remember people, apply what you learn and practice what you preach!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-not-wasting-a-trailer-trip

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

YES! We are 32-miles round trip from any kind of businesses and services, so I know exactly what you mean about always maximizing your trips and economizing any way you can. Very clever double-purposing the plywood!

Might as well use it while I'm waiting to use it! LOL - I hear you on those trips. I like it, but it can be a pain to forget something in town....

Yeah...we've gotten used to living by lists, checking them twice, and then checking things off when completed/purchased/erranded...whatever......

Good thinking with the OSB!

One of our neighbors recently got the free county mulch delivered to their driveway, but since the county just dumps whatever they have sometimes you can end up with 10 yards of mulch for a 2 yard job. The neighbor took what he needed and put a "free" sign on top of it. It took us quite a few trips back and forth with our little Highlander to get enough mulch for our backyard, but it was a big blessing to us too!

And as a bonus, it was heavily laced with pine needles: much appreciated by our overly-alkaline soil.

Nice! Free mulch is a blessing, and those county guys seem to dump on any sucker they can find!

Cracking advise utilise everything ! 💯🐒

Creative one indeed @papa-pepper. Thanks for the great lesson shared.

you will not lose if you want be contineu to share the experience and inspiration for others even you give a lot of knowledge and things that are beneficial to many people.

Good job mister..

I used to also spend a lot of mental energy trying to never take empty loads. It makes sense when it's a truck hauling mulch. It makes less sense when it's bookbags hauling books. I mean, I still do it, but I never worry about it. Sometimes you just have to return books to the library, and you just don't need to pick up any more!

It's my one year anniversary doing Punday (and, essentially my one year anniversary on Steemit) so I'm doing a bigger prize pools than usual. I'd love to have not only new punsters join, but also lovers of puns who will nominate their favorite puns from the whole year of Pundays for a special annual prize! Take a look? Choose your favorite pun?
https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/punday-51-huge-prize-announcement-all-former-entrants-should-pay-attention-last-chance-to-jump-in-for-this-big-prize-pool

Your opinion on cheaper vehicles is one I share, though for me it's my bicycle. I had my first bike stolen in L.A. so I bought a $30 bike to replace it. No one ever stole it. I was exhausted after a long day and too-short night, and forgot it on the train. Inconvenient and sad, but not nearly as huge a loss as if it had been an expensive bike!

Looks like you've got lots of sources for healthy dirt!. Bunny manure, free mulch, just the native soil doesn't look terrible! You're in Arkansas, right? It's not so close, I know, but do you ever visit New Orleans? We'll be meeting my folks there for a family vacation next year. If you and all the little peppers met us there, that'd be awesome!

I assume mama pepper doesn't watch your videos? lol.

Interesting... I used to live in New Orleans, and I'm about due for a return....

I had my first bike stolen in L.A. so I bought a $30 bike to replace it. No one ever stole it.

LOL - I love it! I never had to worry about people messing with my old truck in the city either, no one wanted to go near it! I hear you. I need to check out your pun contest anyway! Thanks for the encouragement!

@papa-pepper Yes! We're going to be there February 21st-28th 2019! One of our friends there is the granddaughter of the founder of Popeye's. Dunno if you like lots of fried chicken, but she will be providing lots of fried chicken! :P @stinawog is a vegetarian, so you'll have to help us eat her portion.

That was just some good common-sense thinking all around. I think we just get better at this sort of thing when we live far from the nearest stores and "civilization."

I think we just get better at this sort of thing when we live far from the nearest stores and "civilization."

Yeah, it makes you appreciate it more and consider what you're actually up to! Thanks man!

You are very clever ... When buying, it is good to keep these good tips in mind.
The stones were good luck, that's great!
Thank you for sharing this valuable information.
Regards 🙋🙋

Thanks for the compliment!

Right on! That's the way to get things done. Might not have been as big of a load as you would have liked, but it's not nothing and now you know you can do it on your own if need be. Yes, some people pay an arm and a leg to get rocks from a landscaping place. Seems like you've got the hookup if you can get them for free. :)

I've gotten thousands of them for free so far.... more to come!

From your experience when one practice what he preach you definitely get costly gem for free. lesson learnt sir

Thanks for checking it out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98