I Tremble - Poetic Musing on GriefsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #creativebot7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170703_102437260_HDR.jpg

I Tremble

I can’t.

When you left I said

I can’t.

And I still tremble when I hear your name.

The act of living

Is just an act

When a limb has been severed

Or when an eye has been

Made blind.

I can’t.

I said

I can’t.

But I did, for years and years

They cascaded down my invisible face,

Invisible tears.

Tears I hid,

First from me,

And then from every one of

You.

A collective you.

A global you.

A people bled of suffering, too.

This is my cut, my wound, my sorrow

Where I wake up in my own horror

And spill it back to

A reasonable place.

I boxed it.

Yes. I boxed it up and left

And didn’t leave a trace.

I went on living as though

I could.

I did.

I am.

I will.

I can.

But when I hear your name

I tremble.

Janelle Gregory

This poem was penned in response to deep, unexpected, unexplainable loss. Not just one, but a series of losses that threatened my equialibrium and endurance. If possible, I too, as Christ was said to have done, would have shed tears of blood.

Grief takes on many shapes and magnitude. When faced with inexplicable grief, the heart rebels, retreats and denies at different places in this very lonely process.

My response was to withdraw from the world to lick my wounds. I picked up my pen, my typewriter, paper and my love became this act of placing words in order. Poetry often resulted. It was never my intention. It was opening a vein.

Much of which even I struggled to absorb. It was (and still can be) raw emotion. Feelings that I could not, or would not express, for fear of the import.

I have never been one to give way to tears. I was schooled very young to never allow myself to demonstrate vulnerability, because to do so made me a target.

At one point I could not cry, or allow myself to feel the pain. I was unprepared for the maelstrom it would produce if I opened Pandora's box.

I feared the possibility of coming unglued.

Poetry, writing, became my counselor. I wrote what I was afraid to say to any living soul.

I don't pretend to know poetic form, or proper structure. I simply wrote.

Part of my healing I attribute to the written word. Writing is recommended by professionals as a way to work through emotion and to enable a person to make decisions and come to self acceptance.

I can't advise anyone in how to overcome deep sorrows or loss. I can only share the life preserver writing has represented to me.

I hope you, too, stumble upon your own path to healing if, or when, a tragedy strikes in your life.

Let your heart guide you. Is it words, music, art or mountain climbing? Pursue that.

The road to healing is intensely personal. To love is to risk pain, to heal means to gain a heart more empathetic to the suffering of others.

Thank you for reading

Love and peace to all.

This post is an entry in the weekly contest by @sammosk, #creativebot.

Photo taken with my MotoX PureEdition

Sort:  

Oh, this is gorgeous. <3 Soooo wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

I love Grief. I know that probably sounds strange, but as emotions go, it's so powerful. I've been wanting to do a post on it for a while, and will focus one of my shows on it soon... Hmm....may I read your poem on one of my emotion shows?

I would love that, dear friend. I am glad you like it. I don't know where this one came from. I've been working my story which is about finished, but here it is. 💕 Thank you!

Awesome, thank you! Also, have you come to the poetry workshop at discord??

Not yet, but I shall. 💕 Thank you for inviting me.

Your words are as beautiful and raw as you are. I love the part where you say,
I could.

I did.

I am.

I will.

I can.

So powerful. I can almost feel you searching for strength. Thanks for sharing love!

Thank you, dear @kubbyelizabeth. My wonderful supporters, and you are one of my favorites, inspire me to reach inside and pull out the gems of authenticity and light, because in every dark place there is always a light shining for those who are looking. ❤ Thank you from the depts of my heart.

Aww, thank you my beloved friend. I think you are starting a new poem here. You talk about a light in the mist of darkness and I am glad we can does this for each other. Keep writing my dear. Write through all the emotions. It will inspire others, encourage many along the way, and provide a fun read for all!

I will do just as you ask, dear friend. ❤

Will you really, Oh yay!! Very excited!

Hello, MAP16 has started! please go to "Six of the Best" MAP16 Minnow Contest [Vote Now - Win Upvotes]. Please look at the suggestions for all participants, especially creating a comment showcasing your best recent work. Good luck!

And don't forget, you can get further inspiration and assistance at the MAP Members Only Discord chatroom.

very nice post.

Thank you, my friend.

Wonderful!

Thank you, dear.

what a wonderful flower with poem...

I've thought about writing about grief, maybe one day I will. For now, I'm glad I read your piece, I felt your words and poems are better felt than just read. wonderful job!

When you are ready, please make sure to let me know because I would like to read what you have to say. Thank you for such a kind compliment I am honored.

I appreciate your support! ❤

This is truly beautiful, @wandrnrose7 full of love and emotion. This post deserves so much love!

Thank you very much! Following you.

great post, wandrnrose7 as usual!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49