You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Needle work Monday. Still stitching! 😎

in #creativity6 years ago

I want modeling photos ... pleaaaassssse <3
It is such a good idea to simply rename the - ahem - thing and with a bit of creativity make a perfect mini skirt.

I very often thought about knitting a (half circle) skirt, but I am not sure this will look so nice...(and I am lazy, half circle is too much work :-D)

Sort:  

I made a poncho pretty much by making a granny square, but at the centre I started with a chain loop long enough to fit over the head, and then crocheted into it with a triple stitch as you would a regular square. Shockingly and completely with dumb luck I even got the 4 sides with an even stitch count. I used a beautiful merino wool, I made it for my daughter.
Is the skirt a similar approach?
...oh you said knitting. Noooo. I am a hopeless knitter, crocheting is so much more forgiving, adaptable and, just easier, you can grow it in different directions and add or change yarn without that mysterious casting on and off business. Crochet relaxing, knitting is stressful!

I say yes to all of your pro crochet arguments ( I love crochet) but for a half year now my fingers hurt from crochet (siiighhhh) Knitting feels better. I hope this will change someday.
For the half circle skirt in crochet I think I would make it like a sewn skirt out of panels or I would crochet a top-down yoke (I think you did the latter).
The knitted skirt I fantasise about is this one:
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/between-the-clouds

Thank you for sharing your ideas and also your personal experience.
I don't crochet very much, and everything is hard earned.
I have pain and problems functioning that require a conscious decision and factoring in consequence, for what used to be the simplest of activities.
I started the poncho I spoke of in 2014. My hands had started to bother me, I couldn't finish it. I put it aside half done and picked it up again a year or 2 later. I do a bit of crafting or Steeming or writing every other day, because if I didn't, my pain and a feeling of having nothing, and therefore being nothing, is an unbearable way to feel. I don't mean to whinge, but rather validate how you feel.

I either invest in my little projects or risk indulging myself in a pity party. I like to write and draw too, but my head can't always wrap around those things.

Thanks again, I'm following for more of your fabulous work.

I am sorry to hear that you have pain issues - and it is totally ok to whine (I admit I am a master whiner :-D)
I can so feel you. I have also pain issues (migraines and after working as a dancer for years, also arthrosis) and the feeling of loneliness and being useless while having pain is horrible. So, your whining and being open about your health is more than welcomed - it takes away a bit of the loneliness <3
You are such an enrichment with your posts.
Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84